Match Thread Saints v Lions Round 24 2023

Re: Match Thread Saints v Lions Round 24 2023

Devilhead wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 8:08pm Both holding each others jumpers but Charlie gets the free kick ..... Butler doesn't get the jumper holding a minute earlier
AFL joke
Can’t criticise umpires yet everyone knows they seriously favour home team
Stats price it over a long period
No matter not the difference abd the boys played well
No injuries ✅

meher baba wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 8:14pm In the end, 21-13 frees to Brisbane made the difference. A really good effort by us in the second half. Grounds for optiimism when we meet the Swans or GWS wherever we meet them.
Get your hands on the ball first, and you’ll get the free kicks

The Fireman wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 8:14pm Good effort

Well done saints . Looking forward to the finals now

We have a good coach
We really do
Compare the fall away last year under Brett
There is NO comparison
Give him a midfield…,lookout

Teflon wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 8:16pm
The Fireman wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 8:14pm Good effort

Well done saints . Looking forward to the finals now

We have a good coach
We really do
Compare the fall away last year under Brett
There is NO comparison
Give him a midfield…,lookout
On the money secretary

SAINT-LEE

Thanks for a helluva ride in 2023 St Kilda!!

Due to injuries & new coaches I pegged us at 9-12th this year.

ALL YEAR IN THE 8!!

Sure other teams were piss poor and we benefitted...but we stayed there!

Pretty damn proud!!!

Lyon starting to instil “anywhere anytime” with this team
09 was same mantra
We are hard to play against

Once Owens can kick he will be a monster.

f****** umpiring favoured Bris bane. Terribly one sided.

A two goal loss against the current top team in the comp is not a bad effort , yes we were very lucky not to lose by alot more but we had a go , so overall not to bad.

No injuries no suspensions. Structured up well but lacked numbers

Brisbane deserved the win, but I felt we were decent at what is the hardest ask in footy this year

Can’t wait for a fortnight’s time

Funny that when Charlie gets out the back it's brilliant play but when Butler or Higgins get out the back ..... its cheating

SAINT-LEE wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 8:17pm Thanks for a helluva ride in 2023 St Kilda!!

Due to injuries & new coaches I pegged us at 9-12th this year.

ALL YEAR IN THE 8!!

Sure other teams were piss poor and we benefitted...but we stayed there!

Pretty damn proud!!!
I love the passion but let's be honest, if there are teams below you on the ladder, they are always the "piss poor". We are about right, looking forward to the next decade if we can add to Max, Owens, Phillipou, NWM, Windy & company. Keeping our coaching structure, administration & recruiting.

Brunswicksainter

meher baba wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 7:42pm
Teflon wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 7:41pm
meher baba wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 7:37pm
Mr Magic wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 7:16pm
meher baba wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 7:00pm We're dreadful. Lyon is actually being outcoached at his own game by Fagan: they have been fantastic at strangling the life out of us when we have the ball.

Only poor decision making and execution by the Lions when in attack has prevented us from being 50 points behind.

And the only shock trooper we have to shake things up in the second half is...Ryan Byrnes.

Oh and I suppose Jack Hayes: he's been almost invisible so far, so perhaps he can deliver a little bit in the second half.
So is Lyon now outcoaching Fagan?
Yep. Third quarter tactics much better.
You just swing with the breeze mate
We execute ….Lyon doing great
We lose…Lyon outcoached
No idea
We were appalling in the first half: by rights we should have been about 6-8 goals behind. Do you deny that?
This is bulls***. Of all the behinds Brisbane kicked in the second half only two were realistic chances at goal. Champion data had their expected score at half time as 6.9. Our defence was dominant in the first half and pretty much completely negated the Brisbane forward line which was particularly poor today.

The Fireman wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 8:20pm Once Owens can kick he will be a monster.
Harsh. One last quarter clanger. I reckon he would be well iced up tonight, looked a bit slow and proppy in the third quarter.

I think we severely dented BNE's confidence. We are improving. Lions are not.

mr six o'clock wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 8:26pm A two goal loss against the current top team in the comp is not a bad effort , yes we were very lucky not to lose by alot more but we had a go , so overall not to bad.
Much of Brisbane's inaccuracy can be attributed to the intense pressure we applied. Not surprisingly I didn't hear boo about that from the Fox Sports commentators.

I'm pretty happy with our effort and I am sure Ross & Co would be as well. A game that could have been a demoralising flogging could instead prove to be a valuable finals-like hit out. Whoever we play will have a few restless nights thinking about the prospect of fronting up to a near full strength St Kilda.

Trev from the Bush wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 9:22pm
The Fireman wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 8:20pm Once Owens can kick he will be a monster.
Harsh. One last quarter clanger. I reckon he would be well iced up tonight, looked a bit slow and proppy in the third quarter.
Watch again. His disposal by foot can be better

MC Gusto wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 8:28pm No injuries no suspensions. Structured up well but lacked numbers

Brisbane deserved the win, but I felt we were decent at what is the hardest ask in footy this year

Battle was concussed. How long is this protocol? 10 days? 14 days? Will he be able to play first week of finals?

Jacks Back wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 11:19pm
MC Gusto wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 8:28pm No injuries no suspensions. Structured up well but lacked numbers

Battle was concussed. How long is this protocol? 10 days? 14 days? Will he be able to play first week of finals?
Yes.

Interesting that Battle’s SCAT test gave a false negative.

The Fireman wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 11:01pm
So can everybody else's. I reckon you have picked the eyes out of this game the made a generalisation. Overall, he is pretty good.

Summed up by the first quarter non free to Higgins. Payne ran 5 meters had the handball to Andrew’s tried to bash through Higgins. Clear holding the ball ignored.

Wasn’t doubtful just a biased call.

Trev from the Bush wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 11:44pm
The Fireman wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 11:01pm
So can everybody else's. I reckon you have picked the eyes out of this game the made a generalisation. Overall, he is pretty good.
yeah I did pick out Owens and simply made a comment about him specifically , I could of made comment on others but didn't
I'll say it again, he will be a star when he improves his delivery by foot, eg sinclair. and Owens is more than pretty good.

SaintPav wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 11:30pm
Jacks Back wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 11:19pm

Yes.

Interesting that Battle’s SCAT test gave a false negative.
12 days for Concussion Protocol

Also - I love how the commentators started talking about PAs Fine for putting a player back on. Not a word about delayed concussion and being diligent enough to re-test at half time - just postulating whether we would also be fined.

Brunswicksainter wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 9:14pm
meher baba wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 7:42pm
Teflon wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 7:41pm
meher baba wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 7:37pm
Mr Magic wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 7:16pm
meher baba wrote: Sat 26 Aug 2023 7:00pm We're dreadful. Lyon is actually being outcoached at his own game by Fagan: they have been fantastic at strangling the life out of us when we have the ball.

Only poor decision making and execution by the Lions when in attack has prevented us from being 50 points behind.

And the only shock trooper we have to shake things up in the second half is...Ryan Byrnes.

Oh and I suppose Jack Hayes: he's been almost invisible so far, so perhaps he can deliver a little bit in the second half.
So is Lyon now outcoaching Fagan?
Yep. Third quarter tactics much better.
You just swing with the breeze mate
We execute ….Lyon doing great
We lose…Lyon outcoached
No idea
We were appalling in the first half: by rights we should have been about 6-8 goals behind. Do you deny that?
This is bulls***. Of all the behinds Brisbane kicked in the second half only two were realistic chances at goal. Champion data had their expected score at half time as 6.9. Our defence was dominant in the first half and pretty much completely negated the Brisbane forward line which was particularly poor today.
Correct

Should have been 30-40 points at HT

Ross even suggested that

Good third, OK last q

A couple of absolute passengers