Membership tally- 60,239

Good on us

Re: Membership tally- 60,239

It's a reasonable effort but, unfortunately, we never get to see the breakdown of membership types and how much income is generated for the Club. I went to all but one home game (I was in hospital at Easter) and the crowds were generally poor. Towards the end of the season, the Carlton and Geelong games drew our biggest crowds.

The exception was the 60,000+ crowd v the Bummers for our 150th anniversary. Just ticked over 40,000 for the Geelong game, which they needed to win to make finals. Generally, our members stay away from our home games and I don't understand why.

How many thousand 3 game or digital-only memberships were sold from our total? My gut feels is we sell more $3.95 junior burgers while the Collingwoods and Carlton sell the $25.00 Wagyu beef on a brioche bun. And pay extra for the fries.

Annoyedsaint

All clubs have their cat/dog memberships.
Likely the same % as other clubs (whatever that total may be).

Just show me full paying (plain 11 home games as a minimum). Like everything these days, no one ever provides clarity on anything.

Inflated membership numbers?

Must be the only club that does it.

Healthy year on year growth.

SaintPav wrote: Wed 06 Sep 2023 10:02pm Inflated membership numbers?

Must be the only club that does it.

Healthy year on year growth.
Nobody is suggesting we are the only club that inflates its membership. However, membership numbers are seen as a measure of a Club's strength but the figures are only truly meaningful if they compare membership sales by product.

Our 60,000 might be 80% 11 game membership whereas Collingwood's 106,000 might consist of 90% three-game concession cards for the tattoed and toothless. Somehow, I doubt it. :(

Trev from the Bush wrote: Wed 06 Sep 2023 8:37pm It's a reasonable effort but, unfortunately, we never get to see the breakdown of membership types and how much income is generated for the Club. I went to all but one home game (I was in hospital at Easter) and the crowds were generally poor. Towards the end of the season, the Carlton and Geelong games drew our biggest crowds.

The exception was the 60,000+ crowd v the Bummers for our 150th anniversary. Just ticked over 40,000 for the Geelong game, which they needed to win to make finals. Generally, our members stay away from our home games and I don't understand why.

How many thousand 3 game or digital-only memberships were sold from our total? My gut feels is we sell more $3.95 junior burgers while the Collingwoods and Carlton sell the $25.00 Wagyu beef on a brioche bun. And pay extra for the fries.

There were train replacement buses on Frankston, Cranbourne/Pakenham lines all season. When you play next to Spencer Street Station and you can't get there without massive headaches it tends to put people off.

The AFL claiming GWS have 33,000 members is hilarious.

They're suggesting for every two St Kilda members, there's a GWS member.

Or for every 5 Collingwood members, there's 1.5 GWS members.

GWS must give you a membership if you buy a stubby holder from their merch store.

samuraisaint wrote: Wed 06 Sep 2023 10:52pm
Trev from the Bush wrote: Wed 06 Sep 2023 8:37pm It's a reasonable effort but, unfortunately, we never get to see the breakdown of membership types and how much income is generated for the Club. I went to all but one home game (I was in hospital at Easter) and the crowds were generally poor. Towards the end of the season, the Carlton and Geelong games drew our biggest crowds.

There were train replacement buses on Frankston, Cranbourne/Pakenham lines all season. When you play next to Spencer Street Station and you can't get there without massive headaches it tends to put people off.
You have overlooked the train replacements on the Gippsland line as well, though that didn't stop me getting there. And the same applied to Geelong services when we played them.

SAINT-LEE

Theres no exact numbers released just yet, unless there is lol....

GWS avgs about 10k at home...not to flash. But if 33k is member base and 20% is whats known as "pump" ( memberships sold to increase overall numbers e.g. pets, 3 games, out of state, supporter only, etc)

Then they get close to the same attendance to membership ratio as we have currently at home games.

St Kilda [60k membership, avg home game attendance is low 20s... so about 35-40%]

GWS [33k membership, avg home game attendance is 10k...so almost 30%]

You do the math, it took me far too long to get it lol.

Talking about transport...there's ZERO trains within 5 kms. Only buses.

But what was odd to me was the insane amount of small carparks spread across this massive olympic park complex. We paid $35 last year and left our car from 9am until 9pm. I really liked the stadium. It was so small it felt like I was on top of the game. The food was a tad cheaper because I got a $10 voucher for parking all day. The seats were a little bit more comfy and definitely more space between rows, I really preferred it to our stadium.
The traffic out there was criminal.
But once in the Olympic park district it was almost car free and we found it really pleasant...the first trip there was during the Olympics and we rode a crowded bus and sat for 2 hrs waiting to disembark and it was hell.

Trev from the Bush wrote: Thu 07 Sep 2023 1:08pm
samuraisaint wrote: Wed 06 Sep 2023 10:52pm

You have overlooked the train replacements on the Gippsland line as well, though that didn't stop me getting there. And the same applied to Geelong services when we played them.
Yeah, never stopped me neither - but it was a pain in @rse though.

Yeah I was based down Geelong way for much of the year. It’s an hour that way by train with buses replacing trains halfway adding another hour. Evening game brings you home well after midnight.

That's a lot of members for a club that achieves little.

Good on the Saints. :lol:

therabbitinthehat

this seems relevant

Saintmike65

I think there’s 2 things at play…firstly, because we’ve been mediocre for a long time, time slots for our games aren’t conducive to attracting our supporters to go.
Add to this there would be still a proportion of our supporters that have to trust the club again!

The going to the footy every second week experience isn't so much fun at times. And is relatively expensive.
We all know the transport issues, which seem worse on a slow crowded late night trip. Add hours to the event itself.
Marvel isn't punter friendly (really impressed with US baseball grounds, made Marvel facilities look 3rd world).
Food and drinks over priced insults.
Crowd can be obnoxious.
Attendants and security: disrespectful sometimes annoying do littles
"Entertainment" pretty pathetic.
Weather.
I can see why only hard core would go when a win is a 50/50 proposition.
Really admire the rusted on North supporters. They have done the hard yards.
AFL is a mighty game run by mediocre men and women. Fans? Let them eat stale cake and cold chips. Oh and flog them merch and charity donations, they like to feel part of it all.

So, judging by comments above, it appears a lot of our members are downhill-skiing softies.

Toughen up and give the Saints your raucous support!

SAINT-LEE

therabbitinthehat wrote: Thu 07 Sep 2023 10:53pm this seems relevant

I was WRONG.
I looked at AFL stats for 2022 alone as 2023 were only finalised Tuesday. I missed that. I'm aware my math % is weak, I just guessed, lol.

To state correctly: average home game attendance was...
2022: 25386
2023: 33045 (afltables.com) 32425
(footywire.com) 32136 (wikipeadia.com)

https://afltables.com/afl/crowds/stkilda.html

https://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/attendances

Great news we have increased home game attendance!