I accept the criticism: Ross Lyon press conference

"I accept the criticism because it's valid. I've said there was a sameness (about us)."

"We were really disappointed with our offence."

"There were a lot of opportunities left on the table that we were really disappointed with."

"Ideally we'd have another one or two wins on the board and I'd be pretty comfortable with all things taken into consideration."

https://www.afl.com.au/news/1130829

Re: I accept the criticism: Ross Lyon press conference

Also of note

"Midfielder Brad Crouch has recovered from a knee injury, but will return via the VFL."

Still no sign of that degenerative knee injury that's going to force him to retire, but I'm sure that will pop up soon...

Good presser again from RTB
Doesn’t shy away from it.
Notes he’s close to Pou..interesting
Roo Max criticism…inside 4 walls all that matters

Hillsong and Scientology followers have nothing on this bloke

https://www.saints.com.au/video/1555458 ... 5821410001
Journo:
Ross, what's it like coming up against the old mob?
I mean, it's not the first time, but, you know.

Lyon:
The heart rate doesn't change, mate. [laughing]
Some people say I haven't got a heart, but that's OK...
Yeah, nah, not an issue, like, I'm part of their history, don't really give it much thought at all.
I think both clubs are focused on trying to get four points. We both need them.

Journo:
And Indigenous Round, special for the club, a fair few Indigenous players.

Lyon:
Yeah, I think the wider AFL community. AFL football has been a vehicle for AFL players to express their talent, to grow their lives.
I think what's important that gets lost in it is ...we've got the blaster going out the back...
Um, it always hasn't been a great environment for Aboriginal players in the AFL... clearly some horrendous experiences.
I know I was pretty close with Michael McLean, and, I mean, he's written a book about it.

But we've come a long way, and there's been a lot of pioneers and some Aboriginal players that have been very courageous and standing up to it.
Y'know, "the standards you walk past are the standards you accept", Adam Goodes, pretty special.
I think it celebrates not only the talent of Aboriginal players and everything they've achieved in the game, but I think it's about celebrating the fight and the awareness and how far we've come.
But like in a lot of aspects in society, whether it be domestic violence, or racism, vilification, we've all gotta to keep improving.

Journo:
You joked that some people say you haven't got a heart, have you felt a bit of that pressure this week, just after the loss to the Hawks?

Lyon:
Look, I listened to a lot of 3AW this morning. I was really enjoying Tom Elliott, so not too much SEN this week.
I think the sleep meter's... I've been waking up at about four or five.

Look, we're really disappointed.
As I said to the players, I'm not sure exactly, I knew there'd be criticism, but I don't know exactly what it is.
But we were really disappointed with our offence.
Our defence for a long period has been in good order, I think we're about sixth in the comp, but it's by margin to the others above that.
So our stoppage work's improving.
So, yeah, we've really just drilled down on trying to establish our identity with the ball.
There were a lot of opportunities left on the table that we're really disappointed with.

So, yeah, I wouldn't say I'm happy to... I accept the criticism, because it's valid that... I said there was a sameness.
So, yeah, I'm not perturbed, but all there is is action, right?
Everyone does a lot of talking but, y'know, we want to develop our young players.
We want to get our senior players in good form.
We've been spluttering.
Ideally, we'd have another one or two wins on the board, and I'd be pretty comfortable with all things taken into consideration.
But, you know, as Dennis Pagan used to say, if your Aunty had whiskers, she'd be your uncle.
I don't know. Is that still relevant? I don't know.

Journo:
How much of a difference do Brad Hill and Hunter Clark make if they can get back in the side, and where do they sit in terms of availability?

Lyon:
Yeah, yeah. Brad Hill will play. Yeah, but Hunter will...

Journo:
Sorry, Brad Crouch.

Lyon:
Yeah, yeah. No, no, Brad... I didn't want to embarrass you, mate. [laughing]
Just move on. Don't bring the spotlight to yourself.
So, no, Brad Crouch will play at Sandy this week.
We've really missed him, you know, he was one of our top midfielders last year, and Hunter Clark as well.

And then on analysis, our front half, out of the seven we basically played last year, we were five missing.
So, yeah, there's been some change, but we're all evolving.
So, yeah, he'll come back through Sandy. Hunter Clark will come back.
But we've got Dow under consideration. We've got Phillipou under consideration. We've got Jones under consideration.
So, we need to tick off our final training session, see how they pull up tomorrow and finalise it all.

We're playing almost the number one midfield in the comp, aren't we?
Like Luke Jackson, you know, Fyfe dual Brownlow, Serong All-Australian, and Andy Brayshaw's been an MVP, and then Young's a pick 7 who's really exploding.
So, we understand we've got our hands full there.
And Sharp, you know, he's really high in the AFL ranking.
So, I think that's their absolute strength, they're number one clearance team in the AFL.
So, it's an area we're going to have to lift in.

Journo:
Serong's had an amazing season. Do you look to give him a bit more attention in the middle or are you sticking to the system?

Lyon:
Look, we haven't tagged for a long time. We haven't tagged for a long time.
So, it's probably just paying respect at stoppage and then trying to back our group in.

Journo:
Has Dow done enough? Do you need to see any more from him?

Lyon:
Well, just what I said, he needs to get through training. He's played two. Is that enough?
We've still got to debate a little bit. There's always some niggles and bits and pieces.
So, no closed-ended statements before we get all the information.

Journo:
And Phillipou, is he set for a mini, sort of, couple of weeks in the VFL?
Have you sort of, just go back and get some form, or is it like, one weekend?

Lyon:
No, he's been playing forward. We put him midfield. It's a contingency approach. It's a needs basis.
He was best on the ground. We had a really good talk about it.
He's happy to continue that on and continue to develop that. He's happy to come in and play a role.
So, he's a ripping kid that I'm pretty close with.
So, withstanding that, the same, we've got to get all the information and get through the training and then select the team

Journo:
You spoke about the criticism before being warranted. One of them is former club great Nick Riewoldt talking about the forward craft of Max King
Is that warranted? Do you think Max needs to work on his forward craft?

Lyon:
We've all got to work on stuff. I don't know. Is it symptomatic? I don't really know what Rooey said.
Everyone's entitled to their opinion but, unless you're in the four walls, they're the only opinions that count, to be honest.

Journo:
Does Max need to work on his forward craft?

Lyon:
I think everyone does. Robert Walls is one of the great coaches and Craig Bradley said to him when he went to Carlton,
"Keep coaching me. We all need to keep improving."
So, I think all there is is improvement.

Journo:
Just on the forward half, it was a tough day for the key forwards. It might have been partly the conditions but do you consider mixing that up this week?
You've obviously got Caminiti and Sharman you can call on

Lyon:
Yeah, Caminiti played really well and Sharman played really well down at... I drove down to Wonthaggi and watched, I was thrilled with what they dished up.
There's a little bit of our ball use, our identity and then there's a little bit of the form aspect.
But again, we've just got to get through training. But they're certainly under consideration.
Caminiti was probably unlucky to go out, so he's more likely than unlikely.

Journo:
Just a couple, on the close losses, 5 under 10 or so.
Have you been working on anything in the last two or three minutes of the game to sort of, close out them?

Lyon:
Well, I think they're all a little bit different, right?
So, apples and oranges, they're close... a couple of them we were coming from a long way back and would have stolen them.
The others, I think the Essendon game and the Hawthorn game, I think we had opportunities we didn't take, to be fair.
There's always bits and pieces.

Journo:
With playing Fremantle for the first time since Cam McCarthy's passing, did that bring a bit of sadness this week at all?
How do you think footy's handled, coped with the loss of Cam McCarthy in the week since that happened?

Lyon:
Can you just ask that again?

Journo:
Sorry, I'll simplify it. How do you think footy's coped with the loss of Cam McCarthy in the last couple of weeks?

Lyon:
Well, there's a heaviness. There's a heaviness within the AFL when we lose one of our community, and particularly someone that's so young and obviously had challenges.
There's an enormous amount of support, but I thought it was really acknowledged by Fremantle really well.
You could see the connection, in particular with Fyfe and Pearce, this beautiful young lad that... who had, within the AFL, had a lot of support.
We've seen players, not only the mental health challenge is constant when you leave this AFL bubble.
Life, it's hard out there. We're all scrapping and fighting, aren't we?

That's why we're really conscious within to try and get them to drive their off-field, whether it be education or trade.
There's a real heaviness. There's a sadness with me, but out of respect for the family, I'm not diving in now.
I thought Fremantle, and the AFL have done as much as they could do.
There's a real heaviness and there's a sadness within the AFL, to the point we're still talking about it as we move forward.
So, yeah.

Scollop wrote: Thu 16 May 2024 6:47pm Hillsong and Scientology followers have nothing on this bloke
Who?

RTB or the toxic skillet?

Apologies all has the Trollop been bleating more nonsense again ?

It’s hard to tell on mute …but between him and his Pavlov’s dog I can feel the hate radiating…😂

The guy is a loser and should never have been brought back

spert wrote: Thu 16 May 2024 9:11pm The guy is a loser and should never have been brought back
Unfair.

Scollop has been posting here for quite some time.
Sure, he sprouts rubbish, but it’s his rubbish and I’ll defend his right to spew nonsense anytime..

nostalgicsaint

Deleted- was unnecessary
Last edited by nostalgicsaint on Thu 16 May 2024 11:30pm, edited 1 time in total.

Disclaimer: posts are my views and shouldn't be taken as fact, even if I am in fact right.

Enough with the sniping please - people get upset if I remove posts… it’s getting tempting if this just continues to go on and on

SaintPav wrote: Thu 16 May 2024 7:20pm
Scollop wrote: Thu 16 May 2024 6:47pm Hillsong and Scientology followers have nothing on this bloke
Who?

RTB or the toxic skillet?
Mr Dupont of course :mrgreen:

I really respect rtb. Great salesman

skeptic wrote: Thu 16 May 2024 11:27pm Enough with the sniping please - people get upset if I remove posts… it’s getting tempting if this just continues to go on and on
skeptic, this is quite tame...just wait another 48 hrs for the really nasty stuff

You're gunna be mighty busy after Saturday night

I agree Skeptic I can’t see if anyone attacking me as I have half the board on foe so am assuming there’s plenty of love
Peace ❤️

(plenty of love for you Teffers)

moiety in action

all relationships of love are psychological

one part of the relationship is psycho
the other part is logical

i'll let the reader ascribe due responsibilities

If all it takes to be successful is a good coach

Either
1/ Ross Lyon is an average coach
2/ that statement is incorrect

B.M wrote: Fri 17 May 2024 11:25am If all it takes to be successful is a good coach

Either
Give it another 2 years...wait....hell - let's go with 3!!

Give it another 3 full years. That'll make it nearly 5 years of Ross the Boss's second coming

Up until that time..........................................................

Teflon will be defending everything the messiah does

And believing everything the messiah tells him

That's what a good follower does

Nah…

He’ll change his tune. And will be adamant that he never supported Ross.

It’ll be Chris Pelchen and Brett Ratten all over again!

Scollop wrote: Fri 17 May 2024 4:15pm
B.M wrote: Fri 17 May 2024 11:25am If all it takes to be successful is a good coach

Either
Give it another 2 years...wait....hell - let's go with 3!!

Give it another 3 full years. That'll make it nearly 5 years of Ross the Boss's second coming

Up until that time..........................................................

Teflon will be defending everything the messiah does

And believing everything the messiah tells him

That's what a good follower does
Histrionic stuff now.
Wetting the bed might be causing chaffing.
This person will be lecturing on mental health and harassment before too long.
And the importance of respecting contrary opinions.

B.M wrote: Fri 17 May 2024 5:53pm Nah…

Fair dinkum. From a supporter.
Check the calendar, it's 18 months in.
Billings is no McEvoy.
New players take time to identify and develop.
Feet of clay stuff.

Yorkeys wrote: Fri 17 May 2024 7:01pm
B.M wrote: Fri 17 May 2024 5:53pm Nah…

Fair dinkum. From a supporter.
Check the calendar, it's 18 months in.
Billings is no McEvoy.
New players take time to identify and develop.
Feet of clay stuff.
Never fear Yorkey
The fake fans will jump on board as soon as the wheel turns
They’ve been dying for this moment so they could say “Ross failed”
Heck BM might have to Don the boots again just to show us mortals how a pro goes about it….😂

Don’t reckon you’ve ever kicked a ball in anger have you?!

Be honest!!

I can tell by the rubbish you spout out and the 15yo fanboy comments

You’re a coward that hides behind a keyboard and insults people you’ll never meet and - you’d never say to their face

Chris Scott has had some injuries….key players out/out of form ….poor coach…

His record would suggest otherwise

Just watching Swans….just frightening…I actually don’t want to play them ….
Continuity???? They’ve had 17 players play every game
WOW….