Gehrig Retired

Bye big fella.

Thanks for the memories.

Step up Fergus.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

thank you so much for representing our club and best of all performing in the big stage

you gave your all and your body told you it was time to go...we can all appreciate it...

thank you fraser...i shall make a special effort to get down to your resturant in the new afl season to hopefully shake your hand and say thank you for being a part of our proud club

i salute you and wish you all the best

fraze took off his shirt and gave it to a girl on our cheer squad !!! what a legend !!! that girl will treasure that for ever !!!!

Thanks Fraser. Great memories - your 100 goal year was brilliant.

Justin Koschitzke, stay at FF next year and you will kick 70 goals if you play 20+ games. But this means we need to recruit a QUALITY ruckman.

Fergus Watts, time to step up. We recruited you for this moment.

He should be out on the track with Stewie Loewe as soon as his Scorps duties wrap up.

I don't say John Barker because I seriously, seriously doubt he's the right man for our forward line.

QueenC

Congratulations on what was a damn good career Fraser, and I wish you well with whatever you chose to do in the future !!!

A pleasure to be there today (despite the game) to see two great servants of the club play their last games.

I almost had a tear in my eye as Fraser & Thommo were chaired off. Fraser has been a great, great player for us & it is very sad to see him go.

Congrats to both players & thanks for the memories!

One of the best last game performances.. 5 goals, he went out on top! Well done to him!

Well done bug fella...
Apart from being a great fooballer the GTrain was a GREAT Character...

I am going miss the glares he gives opposition players & supporters..

Saints-06-Premiers

Well done Fraser, went out with a goal from his last kick. Great player and even in his down games, you knew he was capable of doing something. Well done, will be missed.

Too lazy to update my username
Brewer

Thanks for the memories big fella, watching the Saints won't quite be the same without you up the front. Despite that mongrel image you couldn't hide your class, and you went out like a king.

(BTW, how good will that torn no. 9 guernsey look when it's framed...)

The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts.

Thanks Fraser..as someone else said, a breath of fresh air in a world of robotic midfielders.

Great scenes from when he snagged that last goal and was bobbed (was willed thru by 15000 Saints fans I reckon) til he left the ground. Imagine that girl's feelings when Fraser gave her his jumper :-)

Once again another classy send off for retiring Saints, and made a mockery of that thread on how the Club should be ashamed of themselves. Despite the end to the year, left the ground and the 07 season feeling very warm and fuzzy 'bout my team :-)

Yep. Thanks for the good times Fraser. I only realised it was his last game when he took his shirt off and gave it to the little girl in the cheer squad. What a fitting gesture from one of the club's physically biggest people to one of the smallest.

None of us will ever forget your huge contribution to the club. For me, it was the 100 goal season. In particular putting 4(?) over Carlton (Fevola) in the first quarter on the way to a 100-point+ thumping.

All the best in your post-football life. There will only ever be one G-Train.

Good Footballer and a great character that said far too inconsistent and I am kinda glad he has retired - we need to move on - our foward line needs a major re adjustment - thanks Frase for the memories!!!

santazzi

So long great man. Thankyou for ALL. Your on fiild character will be greatly missed.

Thanks for everything you've done for our club fraser and enjoy retirement.

midas_touch

One of my favourite saints players of all time, Frase was an exceptional player for the Saints and was a cult figure who was one of the true characters of the game. To kick the final goal of the game with his final kick was a near perfect way to exit the game, and I wish him all the very best for life after footy. Thanks for the memories G-Train.

Trust the Midas Touch

"My heart is at St.Kilda, I've been here seven years, I only wanted to play for them." (Fraser Gehrig, 27/11/2007)
SaintHomer

Thanks G Train

You've been a great player for our club, and although not always understood or appreciated by some, you were always a team man.

All the best for your future.

Cheers.

lovindal26

Tear to the eye

Seeing G's with the cheer squad and that little girl who would be so happy right now brought a tear to my eye it made me proud to be apart of the club!!! Best wishes for the future G and Thommo thanks for the memories!!!!

Thanks Fraser- your on field belied your off field- your humility will be remembered

( was that a SS poster family who scored the Jumper- as one who holds up a frasr banner for the last couple of yers?)

Brewer

The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts.

How many games did he finish on? 253?

One of my favs as well
What a great pick up he has been for our club over the last 7 years, had loads of injuries over the time but missed little footy.
Classy bloke to the end, a good St Kilda person through and through.
Well done Fras, thanks for everything.

Seaford_Saint

Dear G,

Thankyou for so much unpredictable excitement.

Whether it was you kicking 10 goals - or belting someone - or going statless 2-weeks in a row - you always gave us a reason to get passionate about our footy and our club.

I'm glad you found a football home at Moorabbin where you were truly appreciated.... enjoy the fruits of your labour, and the family vineyard in future years!

Best wishes,

Thommo

Failure cannot succeed in the face of persistence......
*BaLLy iS BeST*

thanks for everything frase. was so glad i went to the game today..even though it was a shocking game at least i got to watch the big G's last game and thommos and possibly harvs. legends of this club the three of them. got teary eyes when thommo n G were being carried off :cry:

i will never forget the gtrain. funniest on-field character i have seen...no one else did the angry glare/stare down like him :D

will miss him out there next season.

good luck for the future

i will miss you bally. but i guess you just didn't want to be here.

heres hoping you are regretting that choice on that last day in september 2010 - go saints.

I will really miss watching Gehrig ... really miss him.

He is a St Kilda great, and one of the reasons you turn up to the football each week.

One of the best players to watch, and was exciting and unpredictable every week.

Loved his aggression, antics and everything else that made up the G-Train.

Has provided me with some of the best footballing memories you could want as a fan, and has stuck it out through pain and injury for the red, white and black.

- 100th goal vs. Port
- Kicking the white chair earlier in the year
- Explosion vs. Freo in Tassie
- Kicking 10 straight against the Tigers
- The "Gehrig" chants at Telstra Dome in 2004
- The run around and play on move than only G could do ...

Cheers Frase.