videos: Gilbert's tackle on Kerr and Gram's on Waters

Beej

videos: Gilbert's tackle on Kerr and Gram's on Waters

Both absolutely blinding tackles.

Gilbert not only tackles Kerr, he forces him back a couple of metres, or five! Great display of strength.

Gilbert -

Gram -

Enjoy!

Unforgiven

Tell you what, Sammy Gilbert is the best tackler I've seen. At his age the likes of Lenny and Bally couldn't do that, took them a few seasons to really be awsome tacklers, but Sam Gilbert's tackles are the best ever. Love watching him play

Carpe Diem
carn_sainter

probably the best clips ever posted on this site

along with this:

thanks a million

Re: videos: Gilbert's tackle on Kerr and Gram's on Waters

awesome OLB. don't suppose you also have gilbert's tackle on judd in which judd comes to earth like a sack of spuds?

Beej

Gilbert is definitely unlike anything I've ever seen before.

With both that sidestep and his ability to bring a man to ground it's obvious he has a rugby background.

What I find amazing is that in terms of size there is literally nothing of him, he's just a kid. I don't know where he found the strength to take Kerr down in such a fashion - it wouldn't be an easy thing to do.

I guess it's just the way he was taught to tackle when he was a youngster. In rugby you would suggest that there would be a greater emphasis on tackling technique at a junior and senior level than there would be in Aussie Rules.

He is a unique footballer.
Last edited by Beej on Mon 15 Oct 2007 3:09pm, edited 1 time in total.

Beej

bigcarl wrote:awesome OLB. don't suppose you also have gilbert's tackle on judd in which judd comes to earth like a sack of spuds?
Sorry bc. Because we ended up losing that game I didn't bother getting it.

I'm sure someone on here has it though.

OLB wrote:Gilbert is definitely unlike anything I've ever seen before.
he's quite an athlete. deceptively quick and deceptively strong.

reminds me of another left footer ... a young fraser gehrig ... in many ways.

he's unique in that, imo, he can play any position on the ground apart from ruck, perhaps. could hold down fb or chb, i reckon, but could also play as an inside or outside onballer.

his "don't argues" are a feature of his game that i look forward to seeing many times in the future

the ultimate utility.

OLB wrote:
bigcarl wrote:awesome OLB. don't suppose you also have gilbert's tackle on judd in which judd comes to earth like a sack of spuds?
Sorry bc. Because we ended up losing that game I didn't bother getting it.

I'm sure someone on here has it though.
no worries. i can probably get it on bigpond footy

SaintBot

terrific...gilbert is just the most exciting player to watch i reckon

grams tackle just showed how desperate we were to win that game

There is a video worth watching....
Hopefully we can see Schneider produce some more of this, he definitely owes us it!!
It is going to take some time for me to forgive him for that and accept him...

hey does anybody know how to put a video like this on your myspace? i want to put grammys up

SaintBot

fonz_#15 wrote:hey does anybody know how to put a video like this on your myspace? i want to put grammys up
go to the movie...to the right of the screen there is a url address and an embed code

copy the embed code and paste it in one of your myspace headings

thanks mate

More Schneider magic I wouldnt mind seeing in 2008 ;)

carn_sainter wrote:probably the best clips ever posted on this site

along with this:

thanks a million
that would probably be called "in the back" these days wouldnt it?

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."
spiral2

great stuff OLB, thanks for posting that :D

excited to see how he progresses next year and will be interesting to see where RL plays him

go the GILBO!

Riewoldting

saintdooley wrote:
carn_sainter wrote:probably the best clips ever posted on this site

along with this:

thanks a million
that would probably be called "in the back" these days wouldnt it?
Yep and a report for charging the player with his head over the ball.

Goal-saving tackle by Gram, but why was he spectating when the ball first hit the deck? :shock:
OLB wrote:Gilbert is definitely unlike anything I've ever seen before.

What I find amazing is that in terms of size there is literally nothing of him, he's just a kid. I don't know where he found the strength to take Kerr down in such a fashion - it wouldn't be an easy thing to do.
Core strength.

Deadlifts FTW :)

"To be or not to be" - William Shakespeare
"To be is to do" - Immanuel Kant
"Do be do be do" - Frank Sinatra

Gilbert has only played 18 games this year and already has a great highlights reel. Averaging 3.5 bone crunching tackles a game.

That Gilbert tackle is phenomenal.

Saint Corin wrote:Tell you what, Sammy Gilbert is the best tackler I've seen. At his age the likes of Lenny and Bally couldn't do that, took them a few seasons to really be awsome tacklers, but Sam Gilbert's tackles are the best ever. Love watching him play
lenny and sam...along with sammy hamill have all played rugby.....same with the clarke brothers...makes a big difference.....

midas_touch

Awesome vids there OLB, that Gilbert tackle was phenomenal. Gilbert has the combination of height, strength and mobility required to be a utility. Where to actually place him on match day is indeed a dilemma due to his versatility. Whether it be down back as a third man up, on the wing, or as a lead up option up forward, Gilbert is equally adept. Those signature don't argues of his are awesome to watch, and he is bringing excitement to the club. Once he improves his foot skills, he will be a topline player.

Trust the Midas Touch

"My heart is at St.Kilda, I've been here seven years, I only wanted to play for them." (Fraser Gehrig, 27/11/2007)

I'm hoping Gilbert is made the tackling mentor for a few of the boys. Obviously his background gives him an advantage, to see that type of tackling pressure in all our boys would really shake up the other teams in 08. A good solid tackle can have a huge psychological effect on both teams that filters through the rest of the game (especially for the player riden into the dirt!)

claystreet

Hire a rugby league tackle coach

:twisted:

Harvey has the dummy...
Dal has the spinnaroo...
Gilbert has the "dont argue"....
Gotta love a player with a signature move, now all they need are catchphrases...

midas_touch

Armoooo wrote:Harvey has the dummy...
Dal has the spinnaroo...
Gilbert has the "dont argue"....
Gotta love a player with a signature move, now all they need are catchphrases...
Rix has the lamp post impersonation down pat :P

Trust the Midas Touch

"My heart is at St.Kilda, I've been here seven years, I only wanted to play for them." (Fraser Gehrig, 27/11/2007)