winners & losers from draft day

gday people just wondering who you think was the biggest winner from this years draft
i think WCE did very well again
i reckon we broke even (again)
and im shocked by Freo picking johnson and bradley !!! i though they were going for a youth pollicy ????

thoughs ??

Melbourne, West Coast and Bulldogs were the winners IMO.

is it just me of do westcoast get it right most years ?? i can only think of sampi being the wasted pick in recent years

SaintBot

10 PATRICK DANGERFIELD (Geelong Falcons)

27 ANDY OTTEN (Oakleigh Chargers)

30 JARRHAN JACKY (Subiaco)

38 MYKE COOK (Sandringham Dragons)

58 TONY ARMSTRONG (NSW-ACT Rams)

71 AARON KITE (Calder Cannons)

75 TAYLOR WALKER (NSW scholarship holder)

8 LACHLAN HENDERSON (Geelong Falcons)

25 TOM COLLIER (Tassie Mariners)

41 JAMES POLKINGHORNE (Calder Cannons)

52 BRAD DALZIELL (East Fremantle)

56 MATT AUSTIN (North Ballarat Rebels)

1 MATTHEW KREUZER (Northern Knights)
199.5cm, 94kg,18
Has taken all before him, winning the 2007 Morrish Medal and the Northern Knights best and fairest. Named Vic Metro's MVP in Under-18 championships and regarded highly all year.

36 STEVEN BROWNE (West Perth)
180cm, 75kg, 18
Small defender/midfielder with clean skills and a good overhead mark. Best on ground in his senior WAFL debut and was a draft camp star.

46 DENNIS ARMFIELD (Swan Districts)
181cm, 78kg, 20
Speedy midfielder who did well at the draft camp. A good mark for his size.

65 Pass

31 JOHN McCARTHY (Dandenong Stingrays)
187cm, 79kg, 18
Just turned 18 this week, McCarthy is a medium-sized forward who can be relied on one-on-one and has a good package of stronghands and excellent kicking. From Sorrento FC.

47 TOBIAS THOOLEN (Bendigo Pioneers)
195cm, 92kg, 17
Athletic ruckman who was second in Bendigo Pioneers 2007 Best and Fairest award, Represented Vic Country at under-18 level.

61 JAXSON BARHAM (Father-son)
182cm , 74kg, 18
Medium-sized midfielder with a good combination of endurance and speed.

6 DAVID MYERS (Perth)
190cm, 86kg, 18
Tall, mobile running defender with a potent left foot. A graduate of the 2005/06 AIS-AFL Academy and won Barassi Medal as best player in the under-17 squad's 2006 series against Ireland.

23 TAYTE PEARS (East Perth)
190cm, 92kg, 17
Composed, quick and disciplined tall defender who is renowned for his good decision-making and excellent use of the ball.

39 DARCY DANIHER (Father-son)
192cm, 89kg, 18
Tall defender in the mould of his father and former Bomber, Anthony. Strong overhead and makes good position. Could step straight into the line up.

54 CALE HOOKER (East Fremantle)
196cm, 84kg, 19
Quick for his size and has good hands. HAs played WAFL Reserves for East Freo.

68 Pass

7 RHYS PALMER (East Fremantle)

24 CLAYTON HINKLEY (North Ballaret Rebels)

40 CHRISTOPHER MAYNE (Perth)

55 MARK JOHNSON (Essendon)

69 KEPLER BRADLEY (Essendon)

74 Pass

17 HARRY TAYLOR (East Fremantle)
193cm, 91kg, 21
Versatile big man who has played a number of positions at senior level with East Fremantle in the WAFL. Speedy and good endurance.

34 DAWSON SIMPSON (Murray Bushrangers)
205cm, 97kg, 18
Big-bodied ruckman who is said to be a fierce competitor and takes a strong contested mark. Vic Country rep. From Barnawatha FC.

44 SCOTT SIMPSON (Dandenong Stingrays)
196cm, 92kg, 18
Super competitive, hard-working and aggressive big man. Vic Metro U18 representative who can take a contested mark. From Mt Eliza FC.

50 DAN McKENNA (Gippsland Power)
194cm, 82kg, 18
Tall marking forward with strong hands who has also played in defence this year. Kicked plenty of goals, and represented Vic Country in an excellent final year at TAC Cup level.

60 ADAM DONOHUE (Father-son)
182cm, 83kg, 17
Medium-sized defender from Grovedale FC who reads the play well and is a good kick.

12 CYRIL RIOLI (St Marys)

29 BRENDAN WHITECROSS (Zillmere)

45 STUART DEW (Port Adelaide)

15 ROBERT TARRANT (Bendigo Pioneers)
196cm, 90kg, 18
Tall, powerful forward very much like brotherChris of the Dockers. Battled injury but recorded impressive results at draft camp.

32 LEVI GREENWOOD (Port Adelaide Magpies)
181cm, 93cm, 18
Played 11 senior matches averaging 17 possessions. Strong, in-and-under player who is renowned for his uncompromising attack on the ball.

37 SCOTT THOMPSON (Geelong, VFL)
190cm, 85kg, 21
Medium-sized defender who uses the ball well. Excellent reader of the play who had an outstanding finals series for VFL premiers Geelong.

62 JOSH SMITH (West Perth)
195cm, 105kg, 21
Solidly built full forward who won WAFL rising star award and finished third West Perth senior B&F.

72 BLAKE GRIMA (Kangaroos)
180cm, 85kg, 23
Re-drafted after playing 12 games for the club in his five seasons at Arden St. Showed plenty of promise as a midfielder at times but injuries got the better of him, with hamstring and shoulder problems of particular concern.

4 CALE MORTON (Claremont)
192cm, 79cm, 17
Won Larke Medal for best WA player in under-18championships. Genuine utility who can also play key position forward.

14 JACK GRIMES (Northern Knights)
186cm, 82cm, 18
Captain of the Knights who is an excellent reader of the game and a very good decision-maker. Named All-Australian and averaged 28 possessions.

21 ADDAM MARIC (Calder Cannons)
178cm, 77kg, 17
Smart forward who is exceptional around goals and a long, accurate kick. Strong over the ball, he won All-Australian honours this year. Graduate of the AIS/AFL Academy. From Greenvale FC.

53 KYLE CHENEY (North Ballarat Rebels)
185cm, 86kg, 18
Skilful medium-sized defender. Finished 2007 well after injury-interrupted start.

66 TOM McNAMARA (South Adelaide)
189cm, 84kg, 17
Tall defender who reads the play well and is a strong mark in contested situations. Always makes the right decision as a marshall in defence.

73 Pass

16 MATTHEW LOBBE (Eastern Ranges)

28 MARLON MOTLOP (Wanderers)

33 MATTHEW WESTHOFF (Central Districts)

49 MITCHELL FARMER (Calder Cannons)

2 TRENT COTCHIN (Northern Knights)
185cm, 80kg, 17
Outstanding prospect who was ranked at No. 1 by many recruiters. Dominated in school and TAC Cup footy before an ankle injury setback during the finals. Likened to Nick Dal Santo and Brett Deledio.

18 ALEX RANCE (Swan Districts)
192cm, 88kg, 18
Father Murray played 97 matches with the Bulldogs and West Coast between 1986-1990. Strong, hard running tall defender noted for his dash off the backline.

51 DEAN PUTT (Calder Cannons)
202cm, 90kg, 18
Athletic tall with good speed and endurance

64 Pass

9 BEN McEVOY (Murray Bushrangers)
200cm, 95kg, 18
Rangy, durable big man with excellent endurance. Best and fairest for grand finalists Murray. Captained Vic Country and was All Australian.

42 JACK STEVEN (Geelong Falcons)
180cm, 76kg, 17
Geelong Falcons Best and Fairest winner in 2007.

57 FRASER GEHRIG (St Kilda)
194cm, 106kg, 31
Surprise return to the club he left at the end of this season. Will be 32 when 2008 season starts but is still handy.

70 ELJAY CONNORS (Bendigo Pioneers)
Youngster who turns 18 on New Year's Day.

11 PATRICK VESZPREMI (Northern Knights)

26 BRETT MEREDITH (Northern Knights)

59 CRAIG BIRD (NSW scholarship holder)

3 CHRIS MASTEN (East Fremantle)

13 BRADLEY EBERT (Port Adelaide Magpies)

20 TONY NOTTE (Swan Districts)

22 SCOTT SELWOOD (Bendigo Pioneers)

5 JARRAD GRANT (Dandenong Stingrays)
192cm, 77cm, 18
Booted 27 goals in eight TAC Cup games. Dangerous key forward with excellent hands both in the air and below his knees.

19 CALLAN WARD (Western Jets)
183cm, 71kg, 17
One of this year's best kicks, Clean hands, reads the game well, and backs himself in a marking contest. Recruiters love his fearless attack on the ball. Vic Metro rep.

35 SAM REID (Zillmere)
188cm, 79kg, 18
Midfielder/half back who impresses with his ability to run and carry the ball. Member of the AIS/AFL Academy.

43 EASTON WOOD (Camperdown)
Little-known butb promising 18-year-old

48 JARRAD BOUMANN (Dandenong Stingrays)
196cm, 82kg, 18
Athletic tall forward who can also play down back and in the ruck. Strong overhead with a long, penetrating kick.

63 GUY O'KEEFE (Geelong Falcons)
184cm, 76kg, 17
Creative midfielder who turns 18 next month. Reads the play well and is creative around goals. .

67 Pass

SaintBot

hows essendon - four 190cm + players

and geelong three players 193+cm and their f&s

west coast, richmond, essendon winners

Saints easily the best result overall

#9 McEvoy - great young ruckman, huge tank, great leader, will play ruckman or CHF

#26 Schneider and Dempster from Sydney - two premiership players

#42 Stevens

#58 Frasier Gehrig

#70 - Connors

#90 King and C.Gardiner

So we picked up a

quality young ruckman
a promising mid
a quick young mid hampered by injury
three premiership players
a two tme coleman medallist.

Who has done better?

Nobody.

A great result (on paper) for the recruiting team.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

agree with all of the above :D

Re: winners & losers from draft day

st_Trav_ofWA wrote:gday people just wondering who you think was the biggest winner from this years draft
i think WCE did very well again
i reckon we broke even (again)
and im shocked by Freo picking johnson and bradley !!! i though they were going for a youth pollicy ????

thoughs ??
I believe also that the Tigers and Dees both did quite well relative to their picks.

Cotchin as a No 2 is real boon for the Tigers, but their other picks look good too.

The Dees picks all look quite solid.

Saints wise our picks well address our needs......the GTrain may have meant that we did not take a full back type....but hey the Gtrain is a good re-pick up...

with fraser's addition.......i can say without much fear of contradiction...that our overall list is now better than it was last year......given that sammy was really a non starter..and not a loss ......

i think the tigers did the best...two top ten picks with pick 2 and 18.........and their first pick is likely to turn out the best of the years draftees.......

joffaboy wrote:Saints easily the best result overall

#9 McEvoy - great young ruckman, huge tank, great leader, will play ruckman or CHF

#26 Schneider and Dempster from Sydney - two premiership players

#42 Stevens

#58 Frasier Gehrig

#70 - Connors

#90 King and C.Gardiner

So we picked up a

quality young ruckman
a promising mid
a quick young mid hampered by injury
three premiership players
a two tme coleman medallist.

Who has done better?

Nobody.

A great result (on paper) for the recruiting team.

In terms of possible "best 22" players in 2008 we seem to be much better of than in 2007 for with the GTrain back we have not really lost anyone but have gained several.

Hamill did not play....and Thommo was well past his best.

King and Schneider should both come into our best 22......while Dempster and C Gardiner will really put the pressure on to try and get in.

Add to this the promising young trio of Armo, Geary and Eddy.....and both the quality of quantity of good to fair players has improved.

In 2008 there should be no easy spots in the team....and even the GTrain will be for example under pressure to justify his place each week.

good post.....on the money....

FullMonty

Good write up Joffaboy!
We definitely have more depth than last year and when you take into account the trades etc the guy's have done really well this year.
Bring on '08

Montyrules!
ctqs

Certainly I think we had the best trade week by some way, but I think we may have to wait a couple of years before we can pass judgment on how we've drafted. It sounds like we've done well but they all seem like long-term prospects so a lot will depend on how they develop/improve. I don't have a problem with that, mind you, because like Lyon said, you can build for the future while aiming for current-day success. Any word on how Armitage is looking for next season?

Still waiting for closure ... if you get my drift.

Nicely said JB, couldnt agree more.

stinger wrote:good post s r.....on the money....

WC Eagles, Melb and Swans were the winners of the Nat Draft IMO :shock:

Your servants shall hold her stones dear, and have pity on her dust :shock:
Bevan Shorluey

what about Carlton getting Judd & Kreuzer??

West Coast = BIG WINNERS

Raven

Richmond: Getting both Cotchin and Rance is great for them. I don't know much about Putt but he seems alright.

West Coast, Melbourne, Richmond.

In that order.

West Coast could hardly fail to do well, with 4 picks in the top 20.

Melbourne and Richmond... brilliant recruiting all round.

Brian Collis

Who did best?

We'll find out at the end of next year, or maybe the year after

big loser in my opinion was Hawthorn.. Picking up Rioli first and then Dew, they have got some serious skinfold issues to look forward to.. I couldnt understand why so many posters on here were so keen on Rioli... He hasnt had the correct application coming into the draft, and is very small.. Will be very surpirsed if he makes it... And Dew, well that is just a joke.. He wasnt much good at port, just a nice kick, and Clarkson pulled rank over ever other assistant and drafted a mate...seriously a joke...

Hawthorn, without doubt, will be the big sliders next year, much the same as the bulldogs were this year..

Big winners from the draft were WC and Richmond... In that, im very very happy with our returns as well.. seems like good quality in necassary departments.. Ruck and quick inside mids..

Sobraz wrote:big loser in my opinion was Hawthorn.. Picking up Rioli first and then Dew, they have got some serious skinfold issues to look forward to.. I couldnt understand why so many posters on here were so keen on Rioli... He hasnt had the correct application coming into the draft, and is very small.. Will be very surpirsed if he makes it... And Dew, well that is just a joke.. He wasnt much good at port, just a nice kick, and Clarkson pulled rank over ever other assistant and drafted a mate...seriously a joke...

Hawthorn, without doubt, will be the big sliders next year, much the same as the bulldogs were this year..

Big winners from the draft were WC and Richmond... In that, im very very happy with our returns as well.. seems like good quality in necassary departments.. Ruck and quick inside mids..
Must disagree about Hawthorn, they are a young team that are still improving, they have one of the best midfields and forwards in the league... They are a FB and a ruckman away from a premiership IMO.
The reason why the bulldogs slid so much is because they were a bunch of overperformers and everybody realised how to beat them, they can be as fast as they want but all you have to do is play contested footy and they are screwed...

I don't think you should be comparing Hawks to the Dogs because IMO Hawks will be a top 3 side next year and Dogs will be a bottom 4 side.

One year of poor drafting does not lead to an instant slide, as for Rioli he could do an Alwyn Davey and reall add something to their forward line, they already have the quality talls (Franklin, Roughead, Boyle) as well as a quality leading small (Williams) Rioli could now add that unpredictability and X Factor...

SaintBot

Sobraz wrote:Picking up Rioli first and then Dew, they have got some serious skinfold issues to look forward to.. I couldnt understand why so many posters on here were so keen on Rioli... He hasnt had the correct application coming into the draft, and is very small.. Will be very surpirsed if he makes it...
does this change your mind?

first 30 seconds are photos...after that prepare to be stunned