whos the most over-rated player you've seen

The Saintsational Man

Re: whos the most over-rated player you've seen

footy_first wrote:whos the most over-rated player you've seen
mickey martin and aaron hamill spring to mind...
I got another 1 bloke.....

The Judge felt prison was overrated for Dick Pratt.

Damien Kitschke

Peake

CeilidhSaint

Tony Antrobus
David Strooper
Alex Jesaulenko
Damian Monkhurst
Darren Flanigan
..think there's a theme here.......

TB 1 - The Brightest Light on the Darkest Night - we miss you.
Think Globally, Act Sainterly
I have Phil Narkle's helmet
johnpeterbudgefanclub

The_Dud wrote:Tarrant
C Cornes
Franklin
LOL Dud I do have to agree re: Tarrant. Personally glad to see the ass end of him. Destabilising effect around the football club. :evil:

And regarding Hamill, he can't be over-rated as his body didnt allow him to achieve his best so really can't be looked at in this sense.

Michael Frost dumped by Footscray after 13 games. Sheldon wasted a first round draft pick No 8 on him. Sheldon said he was hard at the ball. Pity he hardly ever got the ball. Only played 11 games for the Saints. Good one Kenny.

ttufc7

After watching tonights game and having listen to Robert Walls and Quarters jabber on. I think there may be a new one to add to the list................................................................

Kurt Tippett

johnpeterbudgefanclub

ace wrote:Michael Frost dumped by Footscray after 13 games. Sheldon wasted a first round draft pick No 8 on him. Sheldon said he was hard at the ball. Pity he hardly ever got the ball. Only played 11 games for the Saints. Good one Kenny.
Sheldon must have been the only one. Quality player for Yarraville. Wasnt really rated so hardly over-rated.

I cast my vote for Chris Judd aswell. He is a very good player nobody is saying otherwise but the media pump him up so hard.

Also Lance Franklin, Chris Tarrant, James Hird, Nathan Buckley and Nick Stevens. All these players were/are very good but again the media love to wank over them (Especially Hird and Buckley)

saint patrick wrote:
Can't agree re Hamill.Was a great player when fit .Offensively and defensively off the ball was a good as anyone going around.Had great leadership abilities as well.Unfortunately he paid the price physically for his tough approach...overated no way!

Micky Martyn was considered a good honest battler as wes...so I would say he wasn"t overated either.

Easier to think of underated players like Sam Fisher.,,Maxi etc
just a carlsum troll mate...looking for a rise....
Yes mate and in hindsight I fell for it...oh well...such is life... 8-)
Last edited by saint patrick on Sun 09 Mar 2008 10:49am, edited 1 time in total.

Buckley is always and forever the most overrated player.

A good player, possibly even a minor great, but the way he would be constantly mentioned in the same terms as Carey, Ablett, Mathews, etc.....what a joke.

(At least Mike Sheahan knew where to rate him.)

Scum

Definately agree re: Tarrantless and A Rocca. Disagree re: Judd, the bloke would have taken home Chaz last year had it not been for the injury (Did you see his votes in the first 10 or so matches?!?!?!).

I would have to say that fat, soul-less Ranga that a certain team named as their captain last year, who couldn't get a game by season end. He was never rated by me, but the blues obviously did at one stage. What a joke.

Also Matt Richardson

I made this account when I was young and I don’t know how to change the name
footy_first

Munga wrote:Past: Hird. I'm not saying he's bad, just overrated. The media and supporters beat him up to be the greatest yadda yadda...
Present: Franklin. He's a glorified Guerra, quiet most of the time but explosive. But Guerra can kick straight.
i agree

footy_first

meher baba wrote:Buckley is always and forever the most overrated player.

A good player, possibly even a minor great, but the way he would be constantly mentioned in the same terms as Carey, Ablett, Mathews, etc.....what a joke.

(At least Mike Sheahan knew where to rate him.)
yea bucks is over-rated

footy_first

gilbert and woewodin also...

footy_first

saint patrick wrote:
Can't agree re Hamill.Was a great player when fit .Offensively and defensively off the ball was a good as anyone going around.Had great leadership abilities as well.Unfortunately he paid the price physically for his tough approach...overated no way!

Micky Martyn was considered a good honest battler as wes...so I would say he wasn"t overated either.

Easier to think of underated players like Sam Fisher.,,Maxi etc
under-rated...s.fisher....you've got to be kidding me!!!!
hamill was just a hard-man..terrible at carlton terrible at stk. kicked like 3 goals max.
just coz martyn was a 'battler' doesnt mean he was good. he couldnt do his job properly (stop full forwards)

Can anyone else remember JODI ARNOL.
Came over from Tassie as the next big thing (was even touted as the next Baldock) at CHF.
Was an absolute flop. I think he went back to Tassie !!

footy_first

LTN16 wrote:
Jarrod Waight
i've never seen it spelt that bad before

footy_first

The Saintsational Man wrote:
This is an easy one bloke!!!

Chris Judd
oh haha very funny

footy_first

stinger wrote:without a doubt that squib gibbs....no 1 draft pick my arse..... :roll: :roll: :roll:
come off it
he was played in the backline for pretty much all of last season (by pagan), which he dominated against all his opponents. there was so much negative focus on carlton by the end of the season (tanking, pagan etc.) that nobody (apart from carlton supporters) took notice of the positive side (gibbs). everybody is far to critical of him, and expects him to be as good as judd in his first ever season

over rated players
Quintin Lynch
the entireFremantle football club with the exeption of Pavlova
Chad "flatline" Fletcher
Barry Hall (even in his time at st kilda hes a thug nothing more)
Kouta (had one outstanding year and then nothing)
Andrew Mcloed (quallity player yes but serioulsy the things he does were done better and more spectacularly by winmar , long and the kickett's)

footy_first wrote:
stinger wrote:without a doubt that squib gibbs....no 1 draft pick my arse..... :roll: :roll: :roll:
come off it
he was played in the backline for pretty much all of last season (by pagan), which he dominated against all his opponents. there was so much negative focus on carlton by the end of the season (tanking, pagan etc.) that nobody (apart from carlton supporters) took notice of the positive side (gibbs). everybody is far to critical of him, and expects him to be as good as judd in his first ever season
gibbs might turn out ok but seriousy as far as no 1 draft picks go hes up there with Clive waterhouse as the least spectacular

LTN16

footy_first wrote:
LTN16 wrote:
Jarrod Waight
i've never seen it spelt that bad before
Ok i'll have another go

Jarrod Weak

I hope he gets bashed again the soft c*nt !!

johnpeterbudgefanclub

Andrew Mcloed (quallity player yes but serioulsy the things he does were done better and more spectacularly by winmar , long and the kickett's)
Absolutely disagree there. The thread isn't about comparing players, its about most over-rated and if u think McLeod is over-rated u really have no idea. Certainly wouldnt put the Kickett's in the same class as Winmar, Long and McLeod.

If u want the most over-rated indigenous player look no further then Dean Rioli.
Last edited by johnpeterbudgefanclub on Sat 15 Mar 2008 4:50pm, edited 1 time in total.

travis johnstone...

johnpeterbudgefanclub wrote:
Andrew Mcloed (quallity player yes but serioulsy the things he does were done better and more spectacularly by winmar , long and the kickett's)"

Absolutely disagree there. The thread isn't about comparing players, its about most over-rated and if u think McLeod is over-rated u really have no idea. Certainly wouldnt put the Kickett's in the same class as Winmar, Long and McLeod.

If u want the most over-rated indigenous player look no further then Dean Rioli.
i hear you sentiment but my point is the way comentators bang on and on about mcleod you would think he was the first skillful indigenous player in the game not compairing him to Winmar and Long just saying these guys did it first and did it a damn sight better then mcleod does as they did it without the anti discrimination code . as for the Kicketts most of their best footy wasnt played a VFL/AFL level so you might not of seen some of their magic . agreed thou Rioli definatly over rated up there with sampi and cupido as the most over rated players due to them being indigenous