is lynch ready for our seniors

JABBER

is lynch ready for our seniors

I havnt seen much of sandi this year and herd lynch was our best the other day do we keep him at sandi or try him out in the 1s

trevor barker
Trojan

Re: is lynch ready for our seniors

JABBER wrote:I havnt seen much of sandi this year and herd lynch was our best the other day do we keep him at sandi or try him out in the 1s
This approach to selection is not the best way to create the best 22 for the senior team.

I think you're putting the horse before the cart.

You need to look at the Senior team, not Sandringham. What deficiencies do we have at Senior level? Are there any? Do we need to make a change to the 22?

Answer that for me. And then tell me where Lynch fits in.

Our major shortcoming is the 3rd forward option, to which Lynch is perfectly suited.

It's only the U18's, but he looks alright to me...

Quicker than Jimmy Gwilt?

Looks aggressive and hungry...

goodie

If it was this week, who would you drop?

Lynch and Stanly are our two youngest players...and are both light in frame.

Have alsoa look at how Jack watts the No 1 Draft pick is going. Is JW bad...no he is just young.

In 2009 we are havinga fair dinkum crack at winning the flag....so this means that selections are all about winning this year...rather than getting players ripe for the future.
Maybe Lynch might crack it fora game to give hima taste...but boty he and Stanley wil not be up to it this year.

However someone like Steven..or Armo might be.

SR is right. Give the boy time. Unlike JW and Melbourne, atm we don't need to "fast track" young players. He will be a very good player, judging him on what we've seen at Sandy this year. RL insists on building bodies that can consistently withstand the rigours of senior footy and the saints' game style. His time will come and when it does he will be ready to make a meaningful contribution, unlike many young players who are just out there to gain experience.

TassieJones

no doubt he could hold is own for a couple of games at senior level, but he would probably drop off soon after. the way we're going it'd be a bit of a pointless exercise

Milton66

NO!

Hotel De Los Muertos: Your room is ready... Care to step inside?

Anybody we bring into the senior team in the second half of the season will be in the context of their possibly playing a role in the finals.

McEvoy is getting a try-out ATM in case one of King or Gardi are injured in the final series. It is possible that we will see Blake, Kosi and even Goose all have a go in the rucking role at some point, because they represent other options.

Steven is also worth a look on the grounds that he might fill a role in the finals. Likewise Eddy. Armo would have been a chance as well, but his injury has probably put him out of contention.

We would need to have a lot of injuries before we would seriously look at Lynch to play a crucial role in taking us forward to a premiership. We have a lot of other, better (in the short term) options to play forward ATM, including
- Gwilt
- BJ playing permanently forward
- Eddy (has played as a forward "stopper" in the past)
- CJ (ditto)
- Blake (although I would see him playing a string of games in that position)

While I am sure Lynch has a lot of promise (I haven't actually seen him play, so it's hard to be definite about this), I have a lot more faith in all of the others named ATM.

LTN16

If it's not broken don't fix it !!

NO.

Trojan.

Your meant to put the horse before the cart. Thats how they work.

esaint66

Would get a game any other year at this stage.
Thought he would have played against the Dees, but like LTN stated.

"if it ain't broke, don't fix it".

We'll see later on, a 3rd foward would be nice :wink:

Shaggy

I would like to see Lynch have a go.

We really only have four forwards who kick goals. Come finals both Kosi and Roo are likely to be severely teamed against as Roughhead and Buddy were in the GF.

Mini deserves his spot as a defensive forward and should be good for one but thats all.

Therefore the reliance is on Milney and Sneids. Are they good enough to win us a GF given loose reign? I dont trust it. I would love to see a fifth goal kicker who can kick serious goals if the opponent is focused on supporting others.

BJ is obvious but we will lose drive up field.

Gwilt and Raph are not goal kickers IMO. Lynch could be. At least he has kicked the 2nd most goals at Sandy.

Rioli was a first year and made a huge difference for the Hawks in the GF last year because all the attention was on Rough and Buddy.

I would not ridicule Lynch as a try out.

ifhe keeps kicking a bag and being in the best then I say

YES

we are lacking a third tall forward and if the kid is performing then he comes into contention

widereceiver

I'd like him to be groomed with our premiership defence in mind, he does have potential and a bit of ticker. Like Jack Watts, I think he needs another summer in the gym to play in the majors.

For those who keep bleating about this player and that player who should come up from the VFL, IMO, it's a bush league and a long way behind what is required at the senior level.

"Winning's not everything, it's the ONLY thing!" Vince Lombardi.
Sam Gilbert #1 booster - always on the attack!!!
Win more for Winmar

Solar wrote:ifhe keeps kicking a bag and being in the best then I say

YES

we are lacking a third tall forward and if the kid is performing then he comes into contention
Has he kicked any bags for Sandy though? I think one week he kicked 4 or 5. Doesn't need to do that every week, but would want him to be in the best 1/2 dozen players for about 4-5 weeks in a row before he was considered. I see no reason to rush him in whilst we're travelling so well. A full season playing against men and then another pre-season would be the ideal prep for one of our most promising future players.

That young kid for Port (whose name escapes me) who was really skinny and played as a third tall in 2007, had a great year back then - but since then he has gone backwards I reckon. Horses for courses, but most young blokes who play key fwd need some sort of apprenticeship unless they're Wayne Carey. Even Rooey took a season before he was any good.

Westhoff?

THat's him. cheers :)

He's a skinny kid playing well for Sandy and will have a long future with the Saints. The operative word being future.

He aint ready yet.

Teams that would play him would be either desperate or in a development stage. We are neither desperate or developing, we are on top of the ladder deep into the season and positioning ourselves for a crack at the flag. Lynch 09 - not in the equation. In the future, most definately.

NO

Schillaci

Goose is king wrote:Trojan.

Your meant to put the horse before the cart. Thats how they work.

8-) Well picked up Goose. The rest of the post read great too.

BallBanger

LTN16 wrote:If it's not broken don't fix it !!

NO.
I hate this statement...you continually try to improve your list and your 22.
Why would you continually play one who is not producing just because your side is winning?
Should not reward players who don't deserve it, retention or promotion

Lynch could probably play right now without embarassing himself. We're a strong side though, so we don't need him to. He's going to have to wait for an opportunity like everyone else. He can grow and develop in a development league, unlike the 11 players from last year's first round already called into senior action.