Religious Question - Is it OK to Pray for Victory?

As a Christian, I am wondering if it is OK to pray for a St Kilda victory?

Clearly given the problems of the world such as starvation, natural disaster etc, I am thinking that perhaps my sorrow over a lack of St Kilda Premierships may not be God's number one concern.

However, in the last quarter last week, I asked for God's assistance and it was then forthcoming. A lady on the news has prayed every night apparently. Any views gratefully received.

BaysideSaint

you have nothing to lose BB :)

Re: Religious Question - Is it OK to Pray for Victory?

Bowey Boy wrote:As a Christian, I am wondering if it is OK to pray for a St Kilda victory?

Clearly given the problems of the world such as starvation, natural disaster etc, I am thinking that perhaps my sorrow over a lack of St Kilda Premierships may not be God's number one concern.
God's shown very little interest in dealing with any of those other problems for millions of years so perhaps he wants more achievable things? Pray away.:)

Or Prey away if you've come to visit us from another planet to hunt us for sport. Anything's ok this week.

claystreet

Pray away

i just wish and hope

Try a soccer chat site.

What ever works for you. What ever you believe. I always reckon as long as you arent hurting anyone else you can do as you like.

Reckon there's people out there that think we are all mad for getting so worked up over a game of footy, so dont worry about what anyone thinks of you praying, its a personal thing, you dont need permission. :D

Milton66

God yes.

The al,ighty will reward us because we have finally shown to be professional both on and off the field.

Blessed are the team, for they shall inherit the chalice.

Hotel De Los Muertos: Your room is ready... Care to step inside?

i had a strange quasi religious experience happen to me at the preliminary final. at the start the third quarter, right before roo was given the free kick in front of goal, something dropped from above and landed at my feet. it was a cassette tape titled "touching heaven changing earth".

i'm not a religious person, but i put it in my pocket and clasped at it during the game in the closing stages for good luck. i will put the tape in my pocket before leaving to the grand final.

Well the first prayer on Mrs Fid agenda is for no rain.

Even after I lashed out and bought three 30 cent St Kilda raincoats at Dimmeys.

We a sitting at M7 Row A......

Gee sometimes women are hard to please lol

Schaffhausen is a beautiful town in Switzerland very close to the German border. It is the town where Fraser Gehrig saw a vision and decided he had to come back to the Saints.

I don't know if he was at the church at the time.

I was there on Sunday and saw that they had a prayer wall

I thought this was appropriate:

Furtius Quo Rdelious

St Fidelius wrote:Well the first prayer on Mrs Fid agenda is for no rain.

Even after I lashed out and bought three 30 cent St Kilda raincoats at Dimmeys.

We a sitting at M7 Row A......

Gee sometimes women are hard to please lol
I wonder how those 30c raincoats would have gone down at the brownlow. I could just see a wag describing "I am dressed by Dimmy's bargain bin" :lol:

goodie

Worked for me Friday night

Not only is it okay. It is a must!!

i have asked the devine jedi powers of the force to help...yes.
of course 8-)

Tassie Saint
Location: In the wilds of Tassie - Where boys become men, and cousins become wives

Of course it's ok to pray and I have found myself doing that on multiple occasions throughout the year... however we must remember that Jesus himself prayed 'not my will but yours be done' - even unto his own death...

Caaaaaarn you Sainters!!
bethb7

I've prayed for us right from the start of the finals, the big guy hasn't let me down yet & im sure he won't let me down come Saturday :)

If you can't give the commitment you gave this year and you don't want to improve, you can go because we have unfinished business-Ross Lyon

matrixcutter wrote:i have asked the devine jedi powers of the force to help...yes.
of course 8-)
ah yes, there's definitely a connection!

legend has it, master yoda himself (allan jeans), once coached us to our one and only premiership.

SaintDebi

Yes it really is ok.
I actually believe in all that and even attend church semi regularly, but some things confuse me.
For instance the bible says "Ask and you shall receive", but we all ask for different and opposing things. I'm sure cats fans will be asking for the opposite of what we want, so how can that be?
Anyway it can't hurt so pray away!

Milan Faletic

Bowey Boy wrote:As a Christian, I am wondering if it is OK to pray for a St Kilda victory?

However, in the last quarter last week, I asked for God's assistance and it was then forthcoming. A lady on the news has prayed every night apparently. Any views gratefully received.
Pray for all of the above and you should be ok. It may be easier to pray for every Saint player to play their best ever game because if they do, we will win.

i would still want to confirm with reverend lovejoy if it's ok.

"damn flanders!"

Refer to one of my previous posts, "A Prayer for Saturday"
Didn't prayer for victory, just that we play at our best, which I believe will secure victory.

Fortunately for us he has blonde hair and wears #12.

The Sainter

Well he hasn't been answering any of our prayers for the last 42 years so perhaps we should switch to the Easter Bunny or the Tooth Fairy. :D :D :D
It won't be prayers that will win it for us, just our boys great ability to be in front at the final siren. Go the mighty Saints :P :P :P :P :P

Perhaps SS should organise a prayer group for Saturday?

People can bow their heads, cross themselves, face mecca, burn frankincense... whatever it takes to win this long awaited flag!

become an atheist and you can what you bloody well like. :D