why is the facility in frankston?

CaptainRiewoldt

why is the facility in frankston?

why, why, why?

This will be the death of us. Why would players want to go down for a SHITE drive of 45 mins everyday just to train in SEAFORD/FRANKSTON or wherever it is???

We have just secured SANDRINGHAM as the VFL why not build a 10MILLION FACILITY somewhere in SANDY or acquire the JUNCTION OVAL IN ACTUAL STKILDA!!!! FFS IT WOULD BE GREAT THATS WHERE WE THE SUPPORTERS LIVE!!

Is there any other club that will make their players go as far for training??

Anyone else find this worrying?

wHAT ARE THE POSITIVES?? APART FROM FINANCIAL?

Financial?

99 year lease is attractive.

So youve not read and digested the 157 other threads on this topic...?

If I were you Id put your hard hat on and get ready to cop some flak from the folk who live down that way

zebraman

Re: why is the facility in frankston?

CaptainReiwoldt wrote:Is there any other club that will make their players go as far for training
Try Melbourne going to Cranbourne

zebraman wrote:
CaptainReiwoldt wrote:Is there any other club that will make their players go as far for training
Melbourne do not train at Cranbourne during the season.

Most of our players live around Moorabbin, Highett, Brighton, Cheltenham. The freeway would get them to Belvedere Park in about 15 minutes.

And................snoopygirl lives down that way, meaning I am not going to knock the place............

..........I'm too scared :wink: !!
Last edited by Eastern on Tue 20 Oct 2009 8:57pm, edited 1 time in total.

zebraman wrote:
melbourne do not train anywhere during the season :wink: and their not using it yet- currently training at the junction oval.

zebraman wrote:
I thought the deal was for at least 1 session per week during the season at Cranbourne?

Brock McLean thought that they were going to train there during the season - it was one of the reasons he gave for quitting Melbourne.

AAARRGGHHHHH!

I thought it was safe to come back on the Fan Forum. :shock: :shock:

Milton66

CaptainReiwoldt wrote:why, why, why?

This will be the death of us. Why would players want to go down for a SHITE drive of 45 mins everyday just to train in SEAFORD/FRANKSTON or wherever it is???

We have just secured SANDRINGHAM as the VFL why not build a 10MILLION FACILITY somewhere in SANDY or acquire the JUNCTION OVAL IN ACTUAL STKILDA!!!! FFS IT WOULD BE GREAT THATS WHERE WE THE SUPPORTERS LIVE!!

1- too many bogans in Cranbourne.

2- Junction Oval is too close to our piritual home in Scotland

3- Global warming means that any facility at Sandy oval will find itself under water in 10 years.

4- Players make enough money that a bit of driving won't affect them.

5- every time I catch the train in to the footy on the Frankenstein line, there are appears to be many supporters who live south of Moorabbin.

Hotel De Los Muertos: Your room is ready... Care to step inside?
mick13

Notice how we gained a lot of fans around Moorabbin by moving there? We'll do the same when we move to Seaford. We're beginning to dominate the SE Suburbs with support, it can only be a good thing.

Living in Mentone, yes it's gonna be a bitch with training no longer a 5 minute drive away, but it's not like I went all that often anyway haha. Will be a bitch making the drive down during GF week next season. :(

zebraman

zebraman wrote:
I thought the deal was for at least 1 session per week during the season at Cranbourne?

Brock McLean thought that they were going to train there during the season - it was one of the reasons he gave for quitting Melbourne.
That was my understanding as well...they still use it as a summer base....and I know that there are a few Melbourne players who just don't like going to Casey Fields...

goodie

Eastern wrote:Most of our players live around Moorabbin, Highett, Brighton, Cheltenham. The freeway would get them to Belvedere Park in about 15 minutes.

And................snoopygirl lives down that way, meaning I am not going to knock the place............

Probably closer to half an hour

...Won't you correct the mispelling in your username as Thinline pointed out!!!!! :roll:

bozza1980

In the interest of disclosure I must admit that I went to high school on the Peninsula and although living in the northern suburbs of Melbourne I still play cricket with my mates on the Peninsula.

I can't see any issue with aligning with a council who desperately wants us, and positioning ourselves as the bayside club.

FFS Seaford is 30mins further down the road from Moorabbin, no player will leave our club for the sake of 30 mins extra drive. Every club bar possibly Hawthorn would require the same kind of extra drive.

goodie wrote:
Eastern wrote:Most of our players live around Moorabbin, Highett, Brighton, Cheltenham. The freeway would get them to Belvedere Park in about 15 minutes.

Probably closer to half an hour
Exactly.

It takes more than 15 minutes to get to the freaking freeway.

Who cares? The players earn bloody good coin. A luxury to live 5-10 minutes from work. How many ppl do you know who work 1/2 hr away from where they live - I reckon plenty.

Within 5 years time I reckon most of the squad will have bought houses in Mt Eliza or moved on. Non issue as far as I'm concerned. THe only concern for me is will the facilities be as good as the ones that other clubs are developing? I've read some concerning posts that suggest not. THis is a far bigger issue for mine than the snobby posts about not wanting to be based in Seaford, b/c ppl don't like the area.

It's already being built, not much you can do about it now.

I live in the eastern suburbs, and funnily enough, it's easier for me to get to Seaford on the freeway...go figure!

Mick13, do you ever get dim-sims from Tai Wah on Balcombe Rd?

mick13

SainterK wrote:It's already being built, not much you can do about it now.

I live in the eastern suburbs, and funnily enough, it's easier for me to get to Seaford on the freeway...go figure!

Haha, can't say I do man. Interested in what sparked that thought. :P

mick13 wrote:
SainterK wrote:It's already being built, not much you can do about it now.

Haha, can't say I do man. Interested in what sparked that thought. :P
How can you live in Mentone, and not :shock:

Welcome to 2007

Why does it matter. the only negative is that there are sometimes 2 sessions a day and most will not go home because they will be to far away. Harvs managed it for 5 years so i am pretty sure everyone else can. Does it matter where they train. No as only about 30 people generally go when they do have open sessions. Anyway most of the newer players and either buying or renting down Parkdale. Mordy area.

dals_da_bomb

i tried not writing this, i really did, but captain, you are are idiot.

why, why, why do you write such rubbish.

Gezz, we have been heading down that way for ages now. Unless you have good reason to bi**h, like your a player, or work there and just cannot justify the drive against your pay packet, leave.

imo i think heading along bayside to seaford will bring in a new era of supporters. Realistically i dont think/ or hope that the saints fans on board are going walk cos of where the boys train.

who am i kidding, you just fired me up cos i live in Carrum, 5 mins from Seaford and the training ground.
Sorry for the rant, but i just cannot bottle up my feelings on this rubbish any longer. Build a bridge, get over it. See you at training, or not.

The Tiger and the Lion may be more powerful, but the Wolf does not perform in the circus.

Titsy Topsy

Enrico_Misso wrote:Titsy Topsy
Is she still around?

Surely they have got rid of her by now?