If we make it GF tickets will be harder to get...

The Pies being up and about this year his already drying up sources of GF tickets...

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/p ... 5914512183

Finals' fever has also led to a record surge in corporate ticket sales as diehard fans do whatever it takes to secure a premiership seat.

For the first time, corporate dining packages were completely sold out more than a month before the September spectacle.

Every single seat and table for MCG in-ground dining has been snapped up in what is the earliest sell-out on record.

And tickets to the Centre Square grand final experience have gone with 2000 guest set to lap up the entertainment experience at Birrarung Marr.

So I doubt that the "discount" packages will be on offer this year.

Expect any normal ticketrs that may be floating around to be harder to get us.

Pie fans have also probably been chasing such tickets fora month or so...

If however the Pies get rolled in the PF, expect that there will be a flood of packages/tickets suddenly on offer.

PS: This all tickets apart from the Saints SC and Sept Saints allocation.

So what you're saying is, there will be plenty available when the 'Pies get rolled in the prelim???

there will be plenty of cheap tickets on ebay after the cats whip their arse in the prelim....

I think even if Freo gets through the Pies are in for a real shock! Certainly if Geelong make it there, they should be very concerned!

Milne

I got my ticket last year, I'll (hopefully) get it this year!

You will only have a problem if you are not a Social Club Member.
Obviously Collingwood fans are buying those club package deals, but as has been said, it will be funny if Geelong beat them in the prelim.

According to the AFL Members brochure, if your a Gold member with club support and your club makes the Grand Final ,you are guaranteed a ticket.

see you there...if we make it..... :lol:

all SC member get a ticket 8-)

matrix wrote:all SC member get a ticket 8-)
All AFL members with the right club support get a seat at the Grand Final...

It's pretty easy to get a ticket if you are willing to pay around the 1000 to 1500 dollar mark.

Last year you could get a package as low as 900 from Port Adelaide's allocation.

We paid 1200 a ticket for the Hawks function and ticket.

bob i couldnt care if i have to sit on the dunny, as long as i can see a set of sticks and a footy now and then lol

bushy_999

I got a ticket through SS last year, praying if we make it i get a ticket again....

St. Luke wrote:I think even if Freo gets through the Pies are in for a real shock! Certainly if Geelong make it there, they should be very concerned!
Can you imagine- a St Kilda-Freo Grand Final. A guy can dream can't he...

Cairnsman wrote:It's pretty easy to get a ticket if you are willing to pay around the 1000 to 1500 dollar mark.

Last year you could get a package as low as 900 from Port Adelaide's allocation.

The point of my OP though is:

1/ that it is not pretty easy this year and that many of the packages available last year have already been snapped up by Pie's fans.

2/ that the discounting that happened last year, will not happen this year if the Pies stay in.
Last edited by saintsRrising on Mon 06 Sep 2010 10:26pm, edited 1 time in total.

Cairnsman wrote:It's pretty easy to get a ticket if you are willing to pay around the 1000 to 1500 dollar mark.

The point of my OP though is:

1/ that it is not pretty easy this year and that many of the packages available last year have already been snapped up by Pie's fans.

2/ that the discounting that happened lasy year, will not happen this year if the Pies stay in.
yeah from the media reports I have read they have reported on corporate dining seats being sold out in the ground. Can someone correct me there. Doesn't each club get an allocation of seats and when they realise they haven't made the big one they start packaging them up and trying to make as much money as they can and these are packages that do not include dining in the ground.

Re: If we make it GF tickets will be harder to get...

yep the hun report is only refering to in-ground dining corporate seats. Again can someone confirm.

Re: If we make it GF tickets will be harder to get...

Cairnsman wrote:yep the hun report is only refering to in-ground dining corporate seats. Again can someone confirm.
No. the article also refers to Centre Square Packages.

yup teams package up some of their allocated tickets
been searching all day but havent found a teams version of their package yet :?

I'm starting to give thought of having to bribe my way in. In seasons gone by money was never a factor when buying a ticket..but I've just bought a house,and just scraped through, so forking out over a k won't be an option if I'm sensible....

I reckon,if you walked up to the 'pass out' people with a piece of cardboard and a $100 note with it and casually hand it to them,that at least one of them around the ground would accept it.

Another option is to watch game in a pub close by,and walk into ground in last quarter if we're winning or game is still alive. Last year in the last quarter I walked in and out a couple of times to compose myself....they don't attend the gates in the last quarter,so you are free to walk in

Cairnsman wrote:
Doesn't each club get an allocation of seats and when they realise they haven't made the big one they start packaging them up and trying to make as much money as they can .
I don't think the Clubs wait.

Most of the tickets are always going to be bundled up, flogged to travel agents etc...

It is a money spinner.
Last edited by saintsRrising on Mon 06 Sep 2010 10:35pm, edited 1 time in total.

bets i saw today was a sports place online doing between 12 and 14 hundred bucks i reckon for standard and prime seating...
from memory

SirDog

Milne wrote:I got my ticket last year, I'll (hopefully) get it this year!
Me too.

St.Kilda fan - through and through.

Cairnsman wrote:
Doesn't each club get an allocation of seats and when they realise they haven't made the big one they start packaging them up and trying to make as much money as they can .
I don't think the Clubs wait.

Most of the tickets are always going to be bundled up, flogged to travel agents etc...

It is a money spinner.
I think we are on the same page. I'm saying despite the herald sun article there are still corporate and club packages available and more than likely will be until GF week. In otherwords the article is not saying that the MCG is a lockout...not yet anyway.

Cairnsman wrote:
the article is not saying that the MCG is a lockout...not yet anyway.
No, not a lock out.

But for the same stage last year there are a lot more of the available packages already gone.

Cairnsman wrote:
the article is not saying that the MCG is a lockout...not yet anyway.
No, not a lock out.

But for the same stage last year there are a lot more of the available packages already gone.
yeah that could be the pies factor and not only because they have a large supporter base but because there would be a certain percentage of that Pies supporter base that have panicked about missing out and purchased early. The saints consumption will be about the same as last year and possibly even a little more this year however from my experience you will get one if you are willing to spend over 1000 large.

I think it is becoming apparent that clubs like the Pies have been cooking the membership books for years for marketing reasons as have the Hawks in recent years and so if you conisider that a large portion of their membership would not be willing to, or could not be in a position to shell out over 1000 bucks for a GF ticket.