Our debt

Nick_BlueNRG

Our debt

Caro wilson reporting last night that 2 benefactors of the St KFC are stepping in to help personally reduce the debt and load the saints up for future opportunities to secure free agents after being infuriated by comments from Western Bulldogs President, Peter Gordon last week.

(M)ake (S)t Kilda (S)elf (S)ustainable

Re: Our debt

What exactly did that low life prick Gordon say last week?

In any event, I only have this to say to that doggie scum.

Sex and travel.

Last edited by saynta on Tue 16 Jun 2020 3:20pm, edited 3 times in total.

Dogs may be about to get cleaned up by the karma bus.

Kennett’s comments about potentially relegating to their state leagues clubs that don’t perform financially are also worthy of comment. He’s been a shoulder to lean on for Gilligan during the coronavirus crisis, during which the game’s finances have been the major topic.

Nick_BlueNRG

Relegation will never come into it. Kennet is an idiot

my sister does that to me all the time
especially over a game of scrabble

she reckons her arthritis is playing up

i can’t see any arthritis on that piccy

what am i missing ?

ps
i’d like to know what the doggies pres had to say as well

Nick_BlueNRG wrote: Tue 16 Jun 2020 3:21pm Relegation will never come into it. Kennet is an idiot
I know Gilligan is a Saints man, but you don’t think these sorts of things would have been discussed at the highest level on the corona council?

Nick_BlueNRG wrote: Tue 16 Jun 2020 3:21pm Relegation will never come into it. Kennet is an idiot
One of the few times I am 100% in agreement with you. :wink: :D

Nick_BlueNRG

saynta wrote: Tue 16 Jun 2020 3:52pm
Thanks Saynta. Onwards and upwards from here

Nick_BlueNRG wrote: Tue 16 Jun 2020 4:18pm
saynta wrote: Tue 16 Jun 2020 3:52pm
Thanks Saynta. Onwards and upwards from here
:D :)

So yeah, Kennett's comments where plainly arrogant and completely above his station.

WTF did Gordon say?

And who, and how much are these guys helping us with.

This is huge news.

Nick_BlueNRG

Imagine how good we could become if these 2 benefactors cleared our debt completely.

Even if they covered our interest for a couple of years it would make a massive difference.

beebarry

I am guessing it was this stuff ...

time for Gordon to do the same as Kennett and STFU methinks

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-20 ... fdbeb4f231

Nick_BlueNRG wrote: Tue 16 Jun 2020 3:05pm Caro wilson reporting last night that 2 benefactors of the St KFC are stepping in to help personally reduce the debt and load the saints up for future opportunities to secure free agents after being infuriated by comments from Western Bulldogs President, Peter Gordon last week.
This confirms what I was told on the bush telegraph last week, but details have yet to emerge.

As for comments by Jeff Kennett and Peter Gordon disparaging of the weaker clubs, I wouldn't get too worked up about that. In fact, as a long time member of St Kilda I tend to agree that the AFL should demand greater financial accountability and fiscal responsibility from every club, there's nothing wrong with that whatsoever.

Let's face it, if the AFL had a bit more control some years ago, the ill-fated experiment moving the club's training base further away to Seaford may have been forestalled. That decision alone cost the club millions of dollars and delayed the much more sensible and preferred renovation of Linton Street by years.

Will the benefactors be seeking commitments from the Board to lock in the strategies in place to keep the ship heading on the current set course, a direction that many outside observers believe is destined to lead to greater on-field success and more
premierships?

Moving to Seaford was caused mainly by Kingston Council’s bloody minded attitude where they obstructed the club rather than helping.
Rumour has it that one councillor was a magpie supporter who hated the Saints.
We were between a rock and a hard place as the players needed an elite facility like other teams.

Secret Kiel

Caro has half of the story. The other half is concerned with the much bigger challenge, initiatives to create revenue.

Nick_BlueNRG wrote: Tue 16 Jun 2020 5:18pm Imagine how good we could become if these 2 benefactors cleared our debt completely.
I think we only have two benefactors that could afford a few million dollars.

Bassatt and Gerry Ryan.

Hope they use the money wisely. Just paying down debt is not the best use I think.

Secret Kiel

minneapolis wrote: Fri 19 Jun 2020 7:28am
Nick_BlueNRG wrote: Tue 16 Jun 2020 5:18pm Imagine how good we could become if these 2 benefactors cleared our debt completely.
I think we only have two benefactors that could afford a few million dollars.

Bassatt and Gerry Ryan.

Hope they use the money wisely. Just paying down debt is not the best use I think.
Paying down the debt will do sweet F all and will only delay our extinction. Revenue is what we need.
We need ideas more than we need our debt paid down. It's interesting that Gerry Ryan and other big shots are happy to be quoted in the media to state the bleeding obvious but if they truly want to be useful they need to create ideas for the club on how to generate revenue and then show the club how to execute to materialise the ideas.

A few suggestions:
Be first to invent a vaccine - get rid of marketing and replace it with an R&D department;
Invent an app that connects people to Centrelink when a phone will be answered and not have to wait an hour;
Copyright Nicky's famous picture.

The real answer maybe a combination of paying down debt and growing members/supporters. Both rely on being popular - i.e. winning and flairful style and that means excellent coaching recruitment and management. All the key ingredients have been missing for a decade. Hopefully that's behind us. Of course AFL itself has to keep getting popular to grow/maintain the size of the cake (magic pudding?) and if a few mega clubs like Collingwood, Richmond, Eagles are allowed to dominate through scheduling and barriers to other clubs improving, the comp will stagnate - really how many more members can Pies, Tiges and Eagles absorb, the waiting time for seats must be years.

I'm with our reported benefacors - I pledged.

Secret Kiel

We can't rely on playing good "style" of footy and memberships alone, that will just prolong our struggles to be competitive and sustainable. We need to find non footy related revenue, that's how the rich and independent clubs have been successful.

So really.....

Its pubs and pokies.

Neither are doing much good at the moment.

BarryGrogan

bigred wrote: Fri 19 Jun 2020 12:51pm So really.....

Its pubs and pokies.

That's exactly right.

You either have been a 'big club' for 100 years with huge support which translates into membership, primetime fixtures and sponsorship.

Or you have shitloads of pokies.

That's the only recipe for a financially successful AFL football club.

BarryGrogan wrote: Fri 19 Jun 2020 1:41pm

Its pubs and pokies.

That's exactly right.

You either have been a 'big club' for 100 years with huge support which translates into membership, primetime fixtures and sponsorship.

I don't have a problem with pokies.

People want to lose their money, they will find a way. We might as well be the beneficiaries. Better us than the governement or betting agencies.

St Kilda FC can be a supporter of responsible gambling. Nothing wrong with that IMO

BarryGrogan

bigcarl wrote: Fri 19 Jun 2020 1:55pm

Its pubs and pokies.

That's exactly right.

People want to lose their money, they will find a way. We might as well be the beneficiaries. Better us than the governement or betting agencies.

St Kilda FC can be a supporter of responsible gambling. Nothing wrong with that IMO
I don't either.

I have an issue with pokie venues.

BarryGrogan wrote: Fri 19 Jun 2020 2:37pm
bigcarl wrote: Fri 19 Jun 2020 1:55pm

Its pubs and pokies.

That's exactly right.

I don't either.

I have an issue with pokie venues.
Barry, if the club has pokies doesn't that make us a pokies venue?