Nathan Brown Letter

Cordz2

Nathan Brown Letter

The guy can write a letter.
What an inspirational character.
Good luck Nath.
Nathan Brown’s heartfelt goodbye to ‘brothers’ Saints on saints website - sorry I don’t have the link.
Last edited by Cordz2 on Wed 29 Jul 2020 10:15pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Nathan Jones Letter

Cordz2 wrote: Wed 29 Jul 2020 7:52pm The guy can write a letter.
What an inspirational character.
Good luck Nath.
Nathan Brown’s heartfelt goodbye to ‘brothers’ Saints on saints website - sorry I don’t have the link.
Brown or Jones?

That was a great read.Seems like the guy you have never met,but would really like to .Gave his all cannot ask for more than that

Brown not Jones. Is there an admin in the house?

So heartfelt and inspiring. Beautiful stuff.

That is the best thing I've read all year.

Always liked Browny ever since he came across.

He is a big part if what is going right at the club and the new culture under Ratten.

That's brilliant, all class, someone to have by your side in the trenches. Thanks Nath Brown, the true Sainter.

roskilde

Lovely letter and great to see that strong social bonds are being formed between squad members.

That's a good foundation for success.

This was my father's belief
And this is also mine:
Let the corn be all one sheaf--
And the grapes be all one vine,
Ere our children's teeth are set on edge
By bitter bread and wine.
Cordz2

Re: Nathan Brown Letter

Edited soz

St Plugger

st.byron wrote: Wed 29 Jul 2020 9:14pm So heartfelt and inspiring. Beautiful stuff.
Classical Class!

I would suggest the letter had an effect on the players before the Port game.
Guys are professionals, but also human too.

I reckon it put steel in their spines and fire in their bellies

Brilliantly written

I think you meant Nathan Browne.

The_Dud wrote: Thu 30 Jul 2020 9:56am I think you meant Nathan Browne.
Isn't that 'Nathane Brown'.

Kevin07

F

The Handball Champion in the Southern Hemisphere

CQ SAINT wrote: Thu 30 Jul 2020 10:46am
The_Dud wrote: Thu 30 Jul 2020 9:56am I think you meant Nathan Browne.
Isn't that 'Nathane Brown'.
It's Ethan Browne, isn't it?

More on that letter.....

From heraldsun.com.au

"SAINTS’ EMOTIONAL FAREWELL LETTER

- Chris Cavanagh

St Kilda defender Nathan Brown has penned a heartfelt letter to teammates after leaving the club’s Noosa hub, saying he felt he had “deserted my brothers in the heat of the battle”.

Brown slipped away quietly to return home to Victoria this week, with his goodbye letter read out to the playing group by player welfare manager Tony Brown and later shared publicly by the Saints.

Brown wrote that facing his teammates to say goodbye in person would have “destroyed” him, but detailed his journey from joining the Saints in November 2016 through to what was planned to be his “farewell tour” this year.

“I didn’t want to be a champion or a matchwinner, I wanted something much simpler – the unconditional love and respect of my teammates,” Brown said.

“I hope I have earned that even in the eyes of just one guy.”

Brown said he joined the Saints after nine seasons with Collingwood as an “old vet” but was embraced “like a young fella” and believed he was leaving them in a better place as a club with “a new identity, player-made and player-owned”.

“It’s one of brotherhood, blood sweat and tears, freedom and love – pure footy at its essence,” Brown wrote.

“I know you feel it too that we are destined for something special down the track.

“As hard as it may get up here or into the future, please don’t give up and stay together.”

Brown had not played an AFL game this season and described the tail end of his career as a “tough 12 months”, his role as a husband and father now having to take priority over football.

Nathan Brown has returned to Melbourne from St Kilda’s Noosa hub.

The 31-year-old said his best advice to young players coming through was to “embrace everything you do, good or bad”.

“I believe life and footy go hand in hand; life is ultimately about a journey towards happiness,” Brown wrote.

“The beauty about happiness is that it comes in many forms and is completely tailored to you and only you.

“The most important part of this is the journey itself. Most people strive for happiness but become disheartened or frustrated when they don’t achieve things, feel like crap, things don’t go their way, or have no clue where they’re meant to be or where they’re meant to be going.

“But when these same people get to the end of their lives, they nearly always say they are so proud of who they are because of what they overcame in their life. They look back on all the hard things they went through and say I love those moments, I cherish those moments, those were the times I felt most alive, I had to fight for what I believed in and what I loved.”

Brown finishes his career on 183 games, including 53 for the Saints.

He was a premiership player for Collingwood – ironically against St Kilda – in 2010.

An awesome expression of love and respect for his team mates and his club, he speaks with raw emotion of what it means to him to be part of the 2020 Saints, and confirms that this particular group is fully committed on the path to go all the way to the top.

This has Brett Ratten's convictions and passion for the St Kilda FC all over it - a masterful display of emotional intelligence which is such an important element to achieve success.

its funny how some dismiss anyone involved with the pies a toothless bogan filth
A1 Class in spades
but I hope he doesnt leave us disappointed with his last 12 months - I felt he was still contributing and would do so this year as well
Signing Howard spelt his doom however

I reckon he would be picked up in a mid season draft if we had one.

sunsaint wrote: Thu 30 Jul 2020 6:37pm its funny how some dismiss anyone involved with the pies a toothless bogan filth

That's just the women mate. Brown proves that some of the men have class. :D

What about the message he sent to Essendon's Saad early with us. It said you try to be a smart arse and run past me bouncing the ball and leave yourself open there will be pain. The PS to the Saints about hardening up was good too. It was one of the better things I'd seen from a Saints defender for years. Not that I condone violence. Essendon excepted.

And he reference a high school football coach in a farewell letter 12 years later. shows how much Highschool coaching can mean.