What is up with Jake Carlisle?

Anyone?

Clearly top 22 IMO.

Our backline looked vulnerable without him vs Melbourne (didn’t see the Hawks game).

And now there is Darling and Kennedy looming which is about as good a pair of tall forwards going round and we’re playing for our season and still nothing.

Rumours going round that he’s for trade at the end of the year... we’ll take what we can get.

Baffling to me. What’s he doing or not doing.

Re: What is up with Jake Carlisle?

Yep, I’m baffled like you. I know his body language can be bad sometimes, but definitely best 22.

Maybe someone like Tony74 might have some insight??

Dropped after a poor match against Brisbane and hasn’t been able to win his spot back

Perhaps might have to do with his inability to use his frame 1 on 1 actually put some body on the contest and compete?
Carlisle to me at times looks like he coasts a bit looking for the intercept when sometimes against good sides you have to just defend
He’s no Max Hudgton and I reckon if you told him that he might take his bat and ball....
Anyhoo.....gun midfield option then trade away for mine

johnearljames

Who cares. Think he's goners at years end.

Want to watch the most boring and devious thing on television and probably in mankind's history, then tune into a daily live press conference at 11am.

Back problems?

yeah, may have something to do with him being a slack bastard unwilling to put his body on the line? just an inkling.

Not available for a final so not getting picked is the mail

Maybe Ratten is sick of his half hearted commitment

on the outer

If don’t know how teams are selected but maybe you pick your backline as a unit not necessarily your best six back men, whilst WCE have Kennedy and darling only Kennedy 196 cm is a tall key forward, darling is 191cm maybe going with Carlisle and Howard (200 and 197) is going too tall. Maybe the selectors value Howard’s spoiling and prefer him as number 1 defender against tall forwards (Kennedy) and looking for someone with some height but more agility (eg Wilkie or battle) than Carlisle for darling. Only a theory though.

How tall Roberton ?

Teflon wrote: Wed 09 Sep 2020 10:10pm How tall Roberton ?
Tall enough. Lack of footy a worry though

on the outer

Teflon wrote: Wed 09 Sep 2020 10:10pm How tall Roberton ?
Dylan Roberton 194 cm

I heard his wife/partner is expecting a baby in Melbourne in early October so maybe back in Melbourne quarantining? Not sure why we haven't heard either way though.

I heard this from Mrs Jacks Back and she must be right, because she knows everything.

nostalgicsaint

Not sure what Carlisle has done to deserve the vitriol he is copping in this thread.

Had some great games for us and a couple stinkers but not alone in that regard.

Bloke could simply be injured or doing a hard training block to prepare for finals for all we know.

Disclaimer: posts are my views and shouldn't be taken as fact, even if I am in fact right.
on the outer

Jacks Back wrote: Wed 09 Sep 2020 10:21pm I heard his wife/partner is expecting a baby in Melbourne in early October so maybe back in Melbourne quarantining? Not sure why we haven't heard either way though.

I heard this from Mrs Jacks Back and she must be right, because she knows everything.
Tell Mrs Jack that Carlisle is listed as an emergency, a difficult position to fulfil from Melbourne,

on the outer wrote: Wed 09 Sep 2020 10:34pm
Jacks Back wrote: Wed 09 Sep 2020 10:21pm I heard his wife/partner is expecting a baby in Melbourne in early October so maybe back in Melbourne quarantining? Not sure why we haven't heard either way though.

Tell Mrs Jack that Carlisle is listed as an emergency, a difficult position to fulfil from Melbourne,
I'm scared of her, you tell her! :wink:

CURLY wrote: Wed 09 Sep 2020 9:47pm Not available for a final so not getting picked is the mail
I've heard similar due to his partner having their baby very soon. How accurate that is I have no idea just what I've heard

on the outer

The Age - July 15 2020 AFL players and their partners juggling hubs and incoming bubs by Sam Maclure

“St Kilda captain Jarryn Geary and star teammate Jake Carlisle may consider flying their pregnant partners to the Saints' Queensland hub so they can be together when they give birth

Geary's wife and Carlisle's partner are both due to give birth in the next three months, meaning there's a chance the players will still be in Queensland completing the home and away season – or finals.“

on the outer wrote: Wed 09 Sep 2020 11:07pm The Age - July 15 2020 AFL players and their partners juggling hubs and incoming bubs by Sam Maclure

“St Kilda captain Jarryn Geary and star teammate Jake Carlisle may consider flying their pregnant partners to the Saints' Queensland hub so they can be together when they give birth

Geary's wife and Carlisle's partner are both due to give birth in the next three months, meaning there's a chance the players will still be in Queensland completing the home and away season – or finals.“
I didn't think a lady could fly when in advanced pregnancy?

Bueller? Bueller?

Watson on SEN this morning responded to a Saint fan’s call about as to why Carlisle is not picked yet included as emergency, ‘Attitude...I would say....something to do with the things he isn’t doing, I would say*, responded Watson.

Lyon added, their back six will be stretched but perhaps *they are counting on bringing the ball to ground.*

I hope Coff plays, that’s for sure.

Caller pressed Watson, ‘Why include him as emergency if that is the case?’. Watson was vague. Perhaps, they are not that keen but realistic kind of message.

nostalgicsaint

Or he is guessing like everyone else.

Perfect example of how easy it is to have a poor reputation follow you.

Disclaimer: posts are my views and shouldn't be taken as fact, even if I am in fact right.

WellardSaint wrote: Thu 10 Sep 2020 1:15am
on the outer wrote: Wed 09 Sep 2020 11:07pm The Age - July 15 2020 AFL players and their partners juggling hubs and incoming bubs by Sam Maclure

I didn't think a lady could fly when in advanced pregnancy?
She hasn't got to fly with her own wings, you know!

nostalgicsaint wrote: Thu 10 Sep 2020 12:05pm Or he is guessing like everyone else.

Perfect example of how easy it is to have a poor reputation follow you.
Maybe.
But I was kinda thinking along the lines of, watches loads of footy, played loads, and coached...including watching his watchers not give enough....

Remember Barry Hall and the pudding bowl.