Michael Rix

SaintBot

Michael Rix

I thought he battled well tonight...especially in the first quarter, he set the scene

good hard tackling, made a good contest in the ruck

is by far the best ruck out of M.Clarke, Brooks and himself

LENNY LEADS THE WAY

Re: Michael Rix

SaintBot wrote:I thought he battled well tonight...especially in the first quarter, he set the scene

good hard tackling, made a good contest in the ruck

is by far the best ruck out of M.Clarke, Brooks and himself
I agree his presence was great in the 1st qtr he really tackled hard and used his body was just worn down at the end by 2 real quality ruckmen.

he was good though showed real heart

100 percent behind the saints 100 percent of the time

He laid plenty of tackles but that doesn't change the fact that he didn't get a single kick for the fourth game in a row and was flogged in the hitouts by Everitt and Jolly.

Not AFL standard and never will be. Clarke can still scrape through and do a reasonable job, while Brooks needs to be given a go. He's probably top 5 in the Scorpions B&F even though he's missed about 6 games. Dominating the reserves and was going very well against the Bulldogs in his first game for the season until he pulled his hammy.

Better than M. Clarke, who is past it, sadly. Has taught Rix a few tricks and we should keep him on as a part time Ruck Coach.

With Rix, Gardiner, Brooks, Kosi and Van Rheenen all on our list, I think we're pretty good in this area.

Hopefully Rix can work in the preseason with Attard and develop an attacking side to their game.

tomnz

Yes he was good, but did not give free in forward 50 though.

SaintBot

mad saint guy wrote:He laid plenty of tackles but that doesn't change the fact that he didn't get a single kick for the fourth game in a row.

i think he has been instructed to handball off the ball at all cost by Ross 'the guy who calls himself the boss' Lyon

took a few marks which he couldve easily had kicked from but decided to handball to a midfielder 5m back

my les foote

Dropped a sitter 30m out from their goal in the first quarter and then was beaten one on one by Jolly 20m out. Lucky not to cost us 2 goals in the first quarter.

Win it for HIM!
carn_sainter

geez rix gets treated like the dud kid in the under 12s around here

'rixy took a mark...good on ya rixy! maccas award this week'

whilst he did a couple of nice things, since when was a couple of nice things good enough? he took 2 marks i remember and laid 2 tackles i remember...he troubled spider about as much as the tackle bag does at training

i'm not bagging him so much because he's using all of his tools, but he just didn't play well...

gives no offense and provides little defense

he tries, but the fruits of his labour and very insignificant

SaintBot

carn_sainter wrote:geez rix gets treated like the dud kid in the under 12s around here

whilst he did a couple of nice things, since when was a couple of nice things good enough? he took 2 marks i remember and laid 2 tackles i remember...he troubled spider about as much as the tackle bag does at training

i'm not bagging him so much because he's using all of his tools, but he just didn't play well...

gives no offense and provides little defense

he tries, but the fruits of his labour and very insignificant
all im saying that is, at least he has a red hot crack...lucky to not cost us 2 in the first quarter hey? Im willing to bet that Clarke or Brooks wouldve cost us 3...and in brooks' case, he would probably kick their goals for them

Everett hardly thrashed Rix. Look at the results.
Everett 9 Disposals. 20 Hit outs. 1 tackles.
Rix. 4 disposals 18 hit outs. 7 tackles.

I think Rix held his own.

Nick_Dal_Santo = ChAmPiOn

borderbarry wrote:Everett hardly thrashed Rix. Look at the results.
Everett 9 Disposals. 20 Hit outs. 1 tackles.
Rix. 4 disposals 18 hit outs. 7 tackles.

I think Rix held his own.
Rix played pretty good 2night..betta than usual

and i think u'll find Rixy only has 12 hitouts

LTN16

mad saint guy wrote:He laid plenty of tackles but that doesn't change the fact that he didn't get a single kick for the fourth game in a row and was flogged in the hitouts by Everitt and Jolly.
Jolly - 14 Hitouts, 1 Tackle

Rix - 12 Hitouts, 7 Tackles

Can't really say he was flogged in the Hitouts

its getting very tired people, find a new whipping boy or buy one of those aggression dummies
FFS Rix wasnt flogged, his stats stood up and I certainly dont want Jolly in my Saints side giving away 5 free kicks in a crucial game, god can you imagine the howls then
I'll take his seven tackles anyday...

duckduckduckgoose

carn_sainter wrote:geez rix gets treated like the dud kid in the under 12s around here

Hey back off- i was that kid!!

thats why i post on an internet forum and the talented ones are out there on the field.

And from reading all the comments on here, i'd say im not alone in this.

Those who cant, post on the internet.

I thought Rix did OK.

So for all you drop Rix crowd - who do we replace him with?

Geriatric Clarke who sadly seems a spent force?

Brookes - who is a gamble at best??

Not too many options.

At least RL has had all season to stew over this and set his net far and wide come trading/drafting season to sort it out properly.

SaintBot

duckduckduckgoose wrote:thats why i post on an internet forum and the talented ones are out there on the field.

hey...take it easy

i dont think im a complete dud...i consider myself a pretty good footballer acctually...and i post here all the time

iv heard of others who do alright at footy and post here...

saintspremiers wrote:I thought Rix did OK.

So for all you drop Rix crowd - who do we replace him with?

Geriatric Clarke who sadly seems a spent force?

Brookes - who is a gamble at best??

Not too many options.

At least RL has had all season to stew over this and set his net far and wide come trading/drafting season to sort it out properly.
of course, why play the guy who is getting BOG's in the ruck for casey and also kicking goals (ignore caseys coach too, what would he know).....

I'm starting to agree with those who believe there is more to rucking then getting your hand to it in the centre.....

apple_corr39

rixxy's turned into the new blake on here now :roll: :roll: :evil:

mad saint guy wrote:He laid plenty of tackles but that doesn't change the fact that he didn't get a single kick for the fourth game in a row and was flogged in the hitouts by Everitt and Jolly.

Not AFL standard and never will be. Clarke can still scrape through and do a reasonable job, while Brooks needs to be given a go. He's probably top 5 in the Scorpions B&F even though he's missed about 6 games. Dominating the reserves and was going very well against the Bulldogs in his first game for the season until he pulled his hammy.

So true. He is not good enough. Play Clarke or Blake in the ruck.

All last year GT was pilloried for not playing a real ruckman...were 16th for effective etc etc etc...

Now..we are playing the alternatives..Rix and Clarke..both hold their own in pure tapouts..but at stoppages we still get murdered..and theres more to stoppages than just a clearance. How often this year has one our clearances been a speculative kick forward or out to a Wing, to be mopped up by an opposition player?? trillions Id think.

IMHO its absolutely critical that your ruckmen do more than just tap out...and at the moment ours arent, with the exception of Kosi. Rixy just cant stamp himsoef on a contest, and Clarke M might as well have his arms amputated when the ball is below his waist. Both were always gonna be a Plan B to Gardiner and we've been dudded that he hasnt played this year.

2008? Hope Gardi can put some time on the park and find his mojo...and van Rheenan is another year older. On that basis I reckon we cut our losses with Clarke.

duckduckduckgoose

SaintBot wrote:
duckduckduckgoose wrote:thats why i post on an internet forum and the talented ones are out there on the field.

hey...take it easy

i dont think im a complete dud...i consider myself a pretty good footballer acctually...and i post here all the time

dont worry mate, i wasnt getting fired up or having a go at anyone inparticular- just having a bit of a tongue in cheek dig at armchair experts in general.

SaintBot

duckduckduckgoose wrote:
SaintBot wrote:

hey...take it easy

dont worry mate, i wasnt getting fired up or having a go at anyone inparticular- just having a bit of a tongue in cheek dig at armchair experts in general.
i know, i know...just remember, just because we post on here doesnt mean we arnt nesacarily untalented footballers

SaintBot,

Didn't you declare in another thread that you went to School or played junior footy with Rix? I am pretty sure that someone on this site did.

Declare your interest in him for us all to know.

Last night he tackled well but is still NOT a league footballer. He tries his guts out every week and plays well at VFL level but is not up to AFL standard.

We will not amount to anything whilst we are relying on him.

SaintBot

Life Long Saint wrote:SaintBot,

Didn't you declare in another thread that you went to School or played junior footy with Rix? I am pretty sure that someone on this site did.
I go to the school Rix attended. And I play for the same club that he played for.

I dont favour him in anyway because he went to my school, or played at my club.

I truely believe that with our current rucks, he is the best pick out of himself, Brooks and Clarke.

Gehrigs_son

bump