Slogans

saintwill66

Slogans

"Believe or Burn" was the slogan that some marketing guru came up with to rally the troops for 2007, and I must admit that my initial negative reaction was a portent of St Kilda's season 2007 - we had some fine moments of joy but overall our team failed to produce the results we had all so keenly hoped for, and it was yet again another disappointing season. But yes, I did Believe, as I have for every one of the last 50+ years, and sadly realised early in the year that once more we were going to get burned.

I don't know what the slogan will be for 2008, and perhaps after last year's weak effort they might decide that it's better to do without rather than have one that gets lost in the fine print (the word "BURN" appeared as "BUM" in some images and I wondered if it was someone's idea of a sick joke!) but irrespective of what they come up with I will never waver in Believing that this year the Saints will go all the way to the top. In fact I fervently Believe that in 2008 the Saints are poised better than ever in the past 10 years to make this a vintage equal to 1966 - but if they don't, well that's alright, I'll handle that in the same way I have in the past and keep on Believing.............

flew on through my dream
following songlines of fate
printed in reams , the headlines i've seen
celebrating sainters in two thousand and eight

Beekay

Whatever you are, be the best.

for f**** sake just win something

Saints Premiers 2008 wrote:for f**** sake just win something
Second.

Im alloutta of love
Im so lost without you
I know you were right
Believing for so long...

:oops: ......my apologies I thought this was Lavalife....

SaintBot

i thought the slogan was "together we are one" ?

riccardo

Why do we need a slogan? Corporate types love splashing motivational quotes everywhere, but did you actually hear the players last year scream ":believe or burn" at each other? Or "Signed, Sealed Sainter"?

No gimmicks necessary, IMHO.

riccardo wrote:Why do we need a slogan? Corporate types love splashing motivational quotes everywhere, but did you actually hear the players last year scream ":believe or burn" at each other? Or "Signed, Sealed Sainter"?

No gimmicks necessary, IMHO.
Believe or Burn was the end of the line for me.

Was the final straw in my faith for our marketing department.

St. Kilda.
Because watching footy just became fun again.

ctqs

Teflon wrote:Im alloutta of love
Im so lost without you
I know you were right
Believing for so long...

:oops: ......my apologies I thought this was Lavalife....
Careful, mate, or someone will cut off your air supply ... sorry ...

I don't think we need a marketing slogan (even though I thought I came up with a decent one for season '99, but there you go). However, there was an absolute cracker from a couple of years back, echoed above, which went something like: "Just win the .... thing". (expletive deleted)

Still waiting for closure ... if you get my drift.
Raven

SaintBot wrote:i thought the slogan was "together we are one" ?
Yeah, that's what I thought too. :shock:

"Win or kill... (or both)"

...may need a little work :? :wink:

ctqs

Raven wrote:
Jeez, I hope not. That's weak and cliched. How does that separate us from any other sporting club or organisation, at any level, around Australia?
I still don't think we need a slogan but IF we are to have one, it has to be something different, that gets traction, and makes people think of St Kilda the moment they hear it. They could make it a public competition which would generate many more ideas that would be heaps better than the crap they've been served up with in recent times, and it would save them a truckload of money from the marketing budget.
It's not that hard.

ctqs wrote:
Raven wrote:
Jeez, I hope not. That's weak and cliched. How does that separate us from any other sporting club or organisation, at any level, around Australia?
I still don't think we need a slogan but IF we are to have one, it has to be something different, that gets traction, and makes people think of St Kilda the moment they hear it. They could make it a public competition which would generate many more ideas that would be heaps better than the crap they've been served up with in recent times, and it would save them a truckload of money from the marketing budget.
It's not that hard.
Sorry, but I think it is... it's not great, but not as bad as some or previous examples at least....

Gabba

Better dead than red! :P

ctqs

markp wrote:
ctqs wrote:
Raven wrote:
It's not that hard.
Sorry, but I think it is... it's not great, but not as bad as some or previous examples at least....
You're right. It's not the worst we've had. But I still think it's very ordinary. If it IS that difficult, then maybe we need to go the other way and spend some serious money to get one of the top advertising teams in to come up with something, because whatever we're doing now isn't working. I wouldn't have thought there were too many non-St Kilda people who could tell us what our current slogan is (sounds like some of us - including me - didn't know this year's catchcry, but it's still pre-season. admittedly). There would be even fewer who could say what previous slogans have been.

ctqs wrote:
markp wrote:
ctqs wrote:
Raven wrote:
It's not that hard.
You're right. It's not the worst we've had. But I still think it's very ordinary. If it IS that difficult, then maybe we need to go the other way and spend some serious money to get one of the top advertising teams in to come up with something, because whatever we're doing now isn't working. I wouldn't have thought there were too many non-St Kilda people who could tell us what our current slogan is (sounds like some of us - including me - didn't know this year's catchcry, but it's still pre-season. admittedly). There would be even fewer who could say what previous slogans have been.
I agree... the whole look of all the promo gear I've seen is shocking, that scratchy font look is the sort of thing you get at Kmart on $5 t-shirts... and the free pen they sent me was an insult to them and me!

I hope they don't pay whoever it is who is responsible for that stuff very much... I'm sure a passionate supporter with half an idea would do better for next to nix.

ctqs

If you're not a Saint, go to hell.
Be a Saint or go to hell.

ctqs wrote:If you're not a Saint, go to hell.
And if you barrack for the Saints, you spend a lot of time in Hell.

GrumpyOne wrote:
ctqs wrote:If you're not a Saint, go to hell.
And if you barrack for the Saints, you spend a lot of time in Hell.
...I like it, but it may all be too long and convoluted for a bumper sticker :wink:

ctqs

I know that's done in the right spirit, but I was trying to get a little more mongrel into it rather than self-deprecating humour or put downs.

TimeToShineFellas

Don't stuff it up, just win the bloody Cup!

"Only saints need miracles"

Possibly a bit defeatist.

esaint66

ive been played up since (insert year here) so f***ing deliver !! :evil: