Pies didn't want to play Saints

Just listening to the end of the ABC Radio broadcast, Pies players weren't at all happy to finish 4th (body language, etc).

I guess it goes to show that even though we aren't too pleased with our form of late, opposition teams would still prefer to play Geelong than us.

Hope we smash the Pies next week, go Saints! :D

Neither did the Dogs!!!

Our players should take heaps of confidence from that

From the reactions of the coaches and the players no one wants to play the Saints :twisted:

SaintWal

My thoughts exactly

Confidence should be taken from fear of our foes

I texted a Collingwood mate saying

Saints v Pies

His reply

Yer....

He's scared

Batnoe wrote:I texted a Collingwood mate saying

Saints v Pies

His reply

Yer....

He's scared
we ll i am beginning to get a bit shaky, even though i think our best is better than anyones

SaintWal wrote:My thoughts exactly

Confidence should be taken from fear of our foes
Precisely what they said on ABC Radio...

Geelong out to prove a point with WB preferring to play them.
St Kilda should gain confidence knowing that the Pies didn't want to play them.

StSteven

What crap. They did not play for positions as much as just to maintain winning form. Choice would be for 6 day break against Cats or 7 day break against us. More relevent. Cats will have a days advantage and Dogs away from home.
We have Pies with samme break as us and their home ground.

They did not play for positions as much as just to maintain winning form.
From the radio commentary it sounded like Collingwood would have settled happily for a 2 goal less.

Captain Impossible

Are you serious? They now play on Sunday and they play an opponent who is unfamiliar with their home ground. Don't confuse the dissapointment of a loss with the fear of playing the Saints.

We were average again today and the Pies will be confident of a win.

We desperately need to find our mojo again. How easily did the worst team this year bring it out of defence?

Very concerned...

Captain Impossible wrote:Are you serious? They now play on Sunday and they play an opponent who is unfamiliar with their home ground. Don't confuse the dissapointment of a loss with the fear of playing the Saints.

We desperately need to find our mojo again. How easily did the worst team this year bring it out of defence?

Very concerned...
Again, Collingwood were chipping it sideways and backwards when they were down by 2 goals...

Captain Impossible

StSteven wrote:What crap. They did not play for positions as much as just to maintain winning form. Choice would be for 6 day break against Cats or 7 day break against us. More relevent. Cats will have a days advantage and Dogs away from home.
Agreed!

gotta feel a bit sorry for the dogs - pies get 7 day rest and the dogs get sat arvo instead of the evening game.

the reasons given by the afl - brisbane games are normally sat night and it's too hot during thee day, crows play many fri night games - what the?

why not play brisbane v carlton friday night, crows v bombers sat arvo, and give doggies a little more rest and play cats sat night at the G?

mind you - it helps us - rather play bullies in the prelim than the cats!

StSteven wrote:What crap. They did not play for positions as much as just to maintain winning form. Choice would be for 6 day break against Cats or 7 day break against us. More relevent. Cats will have a days advantage and Dogs away from home.
Your post above is incorrect. Did you watch the last quarter of the game at all? Bulldogs were desperately trying to kick the 2 goals needed for the 22 points and Pies were chipping it and around and playing keepings off (instead of attacking which is what you would assume they would try to do if they actually wanted to win it) to try and make sure the Bulldogs didn't get those 2 goals. To say otherwise means that you did not watch the game or your have no idea about the game.

Is it crap because it's not negative? Why don't you just give up now? haven't posted anything positive for months.

johnpeterbudgefanclub

Devilhead wrote:Our players should take heaps of confidence from that

From the reactions of the coaches and the players no one wants to play the Saints :twisted:
Hehe.....I'm not saying anything. Pretty ironic a 24 point loss.

I know Beams could have kicked that left foot snap. Conveniently wide.

Smoke and mirrors. :P

santazzi

Captain Impossible wrote:
Agreed!
We are on top of the ladder. Why are we playing on the Pies' home ground. I thought the team placed higher had a home game advantage......

thequarry

Now I'm not sure how much should be read into this...

But did anyone else see the shot of Malthouse's reaction on the siren?

He looked very, very disappointed ON THE SIREN - i.e. disappointed as you would in a close game. The relevant margin for Collingwood tonight was 22 points, not the straight win or loss, and that's what Malthouse's face seemed to show.
Last edited by thequarry on Sun 30 Aug 2009 11:16pm, edited 1 time in total.

johnpeterbudgefanclub wrote:
Devilhead wrote:Our players should take heaps of confidence from that

Hehe.....I'm not saying anything. Pretty ironic a 24 point loss.

I know Beams could have kicked that left foot snap. Conveniently wide.

Smoke and mirrors. :P
Dreamin.

You wanted it bad.

thequarry wrote:Now I'm not sure how much should be read into this...

But did anyone else see the shot of Malthouse's reaction on the siren?

He looked very, very disappointed ON THE SIREN - i.e. disappointed as you would in a close game. The relevant margin for Collingwood tonight was 22 points, not the straight win or loss, and that's what Malthouse's face looked like.
Of course... he knew what was at stake.

If they'd only lost by 20 points they would've been celebrating it like a win.

They are rightly afraid :twisted:

DJKCR

I thought the reasoning for either of the teams lay with the fear of coming up against Adelaide in the do or die match if they lose in the first week of the finals.
I would rather be playing the winner out of Brisbane and the blues as opposed to Adelaide (who i think will beat the Bombers on current form) Either way whoever won or loss today out of the Pies or the Dogs would have surely thought that they may have to take on both us and the Cats if they want to play in the grandfinal via the Prelims. But would rathered to have made an easier trip to the Prelim finals through either the Blues or the Lions.

"I don't roll on Shabbas" Walter Sobchak

Captain Impossible wrote:Are you serious? They now play on Sunday and they play an opponent who is unfamiliar with their home ground. Don't confuse the dissapointment of a loss with the fear of playing the Saints.

Very concerned...
OK that's settled then, you go in concerned and I'll go in optimistic....

DJKCR wrote:I thought the reasoning for either of the teams lay with the fear of coming up against Adelaide in the do or die match if they lose in the first week of the finals.
I would rather be playing the winner out of Brisbane and the blues as opposed to Adelaide (who i think will beat the Bombers on current form) Either way whoever won or loss today out of the Pies or the Dogs would have surely thought that they may have to take on both us and the Cats if they want to play in the grandfinal via the Prelims. But would rathered to have made an easier trip to the Prelim finals through either the Blues or the Lions.
I reckon both of those sides would rightly think they are a chance against the Cats.... much less so against the Saints.

Milton66

Let's just worry about the things we can control... and let the others give it their best shot.

I mean - who the F*** cares?

Hotel De Los Muertos: Your room is ready... Care to step inside?
johnpeterbudgefanclub

Milton66 wrote:Let's just worry about the things we can control... and let the others give it their best shot.

I mean - who the F*** cares?
Exactly.

I mean the Cats did win it in 2007 so let's not forget that their list is predominantly the same.

At the end of the day if u make top 4 if u r good enough u will win it.