When is a clash jumper not a clash jumper?

El Wood

When is a clash jumper not a clash jumper?

When it's an Essendon clash jumper.

This was on Ask Michael (Nettlefold) on the Saints website.

Can you please explain why our players were required to wear our "Clash Strip" in the game v Essendon where we were the "HOME" team?

Dear Tom,

We were required to wear our Clash strip for the match against Essendon due to the fact that our Home guernsey clashes with both Essendon’s Home and Clash strips. This was a directive from the AFL and therefore we have to comply.

I do agree however it is not ideal and we are having some discussion about it.

Michael

Our home game but we were forced to wear our clash jumper because Essendon's clash jumper still clashes. When will the AFL have enough guts to stand up to Essendon and force them to wear a real clash jumper?>

Ice Wolf

just make them wear hot pink netball bibs over their jumpers if they don't have a suitable clash jumper
Last edited by Ice Wolf on Thu 27 May 2010 12:11pm, edited 1 time in total.

Surely the AFL would have directed us to wear the same colours as the umpires...I smell a cover-up!

Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

Re: When is a clash jumper not a clash jumper?

El Wood wrote:When it's an Essendon clash jumper.

Can you please explain why our players were required to wear our "Clash Strip" in the game v Essendon where we were the "HOME" team?

Dear Tom,

We were required to wear our Clash strip for the match against Essendon due to the fact that our Home guernsey clashes with both Essendon’s Home and Clash strips. This was a directive from the AFL and therefore we have to comply.

Michael

Our home game but we were forced to wear our clash jumper because Essendon's clash jumper still clashes. When will the AFL have enough guts to stand up to Essendon and force them to wear a real clash jumper?>
Essendon's constitution requires it to play in a black jumper with a red sash.

An amendment to their constitution would require a majority vote at a General Meeting.

Somehow, I can't see a majority of Essendon members voting in favour of a change, and obviously neither can the AFL. So they have taken the soft option and made us change.

Interesting to compare this with Collingwood, who have no clause in their constitution regarding the colours they wear, but still force others to change.

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.

GrumpyOne wrote:

Dear Tom,

Michael

An amendment to their constitution would require a majority vote at a General Meeting.

Somehow, I can't see a majority of Essendon members voting in favour of a change, and obviously neither can the AFL. So they have taken the soft option and made us change.

Interesting to compare this with Collingwood, who have no clause in their constitution regarding the colours they wear, but still force others to change.
To repeat what I previously posted on a related thread:

Constitution or not.

These days the AFL can change the result of a game days after it has finished. They can set up teams on the Gold Coast & in Western Sydney and allow them to pay recruits $2 mill per year. They can get champion Rugby League players to switch codes. They can tell teams where they will play and when they will play. Etc etc etc.

But they can't (won't) force Collingwood & Essendon to play in genuine away strips!

They simply are not being serious :twisted:

The next Broadcasting Rights are rumoured to be worth $1 bill. The strips worn by the clubs directly affect the quality of the telecast.

Don't tell me they can't do something about this!

The AFL should make having a proper clash jumper a requirement of holding an AFL license.

Essendon can then decide between their constitution and the EDFL.

GrumpyOne wrote:Essendon's constitution requires it to play in a black jumper with a red sash.

On Essendon, it depends how the amendment is presented. I would be willing to wager that if it is presented that either we have to come up with a viable clash strip that isn't a red sash on a black background or we get fined $1M every time we don't wear it or the AFL will suspend our club from all drafts until we comply, then watch the members vote!

On Collingwood, to their credit, they now wear black stripes on a white background and that avoids clashes that never used to exist. Like when they play us, Essendon and Carlton. They have the Geelong one covered. But the North Melbourne clash still remains...

bozza1980

Saints43 wrote:
The AFL should make having a proper clash jumper a requirement of holding an AFL license.

Essendon can then decide between their constitution and the EDFL.
The AFL Licensing Agreement dictates that the AFL decides what jumpers the clubs can wear.

They have the power to enforce Essendon to wear pink with purple polka dots if they so desire. They have chosen not to enforce this as the Essendon club and it's supporters make a bigger stink than we do.

Once it is harder for them to allow Essendon to skirt the issue than not, that's when they will be forced to make a change.

We are the ones that need to make it harder for them, basically the AFL is saying our supporter base will cop it easier than theirs, let's change this.

Life is very short and there's no time for fussing and fighting my friends.
Milan Faletic

It's outrageous that Collingwood and Essendon are allowed to disregard the AFL rules in relation to this.

Even the great iconic clubs like Manchester United and Liverpool etc. are not that precious that they don't see the logic in a clash strip.

It would also increase their merchandise sales. If they were smart the may engage a major sponsor to support the clash strip. Imagine the media someone like Collingwood would get if they wore an Orange Wizard jumper or Gold Emirates jumper.

They are the losers for not using forward thinking. I've seen heaps on Saints supporters wearing our clash strips from over the years.

repta

At least we arent playing in YELLOW anymore.

Ice Wolf

Milan Faletic wrote:It's outrageous that Collingwood and Essendon are allowed to disregard the AFL rules in relation to this.

Even the great iconic clubs like Manchester United and Liverpool etc. are not that precious that they don't see the logic in a clash strip.

It would also increase their merchandise sales. If they were smart the may engage a major sponsor to support the clash strip. Imagine the media someone like Collingwood would get if they wore an Orange Wizard jumper or Gold Emirates jumper.

They are the losers for not using forward thinking. I've seen heaps on Saints supporters wearing our clash strips from over the years.
We can't wear the Candy Stripe one cause it clashes with Collingwoods Clash jumper :evil:

I'm fine with Collingwoods 2 jumpers they fit the purpose of a cash jumper, 1 is clearly light and 1 clearly dark (if the got rid of the stripes on the back of them they would probably be perfect)

Essendons is a joke does nothing to minimise any of its clashes.
At least Richmond have added yellow to the sides of theres but they could do better by just having a yellow jumper with black sash or yellow with 2 black sashes and a yellow sash in between.

Hawthorns clash(away) jumper makes a complete mockery of the idea by having a light front an dark back again they should just had wee stripes on a poo jumper (also they should get rid oif the white patch behind there numbers and just have a wee back like they used too.

Most clubs including Carlton and Collingwood have tried to do the right thing, North Melbourne issue is due to AFL stupidity more than any real clash quite simply they just need to use the same solution that Geelong and Collingwood use in that Geelong just wear white shorts when playing colling wood who where the black jumper and shorts.

Essendon and Hawthorn though need a serious head kicking by the AFL and the idiot who approved both designs probably needs to have his/her work seriously questioned.

GrumpyOne wrote:

Dear Tom,

Michael

Essendon can go F*** themselves. Disgrace.

Where North are compelled to wear pale blue and white against Collingwood, why doesnt Collingwood were grey and white, or even grey and black? Essendon should wear a pink stripe on their black, or even a black stripe on their pink. Would suit them.

Sainterman

We should just amend out constitution then! I will vote for that!

AFL is an abbreviation for

CORRUPTION

The AFL simply needs to say to Essendon your strip is fine.

$500,000 fine each time it clashes.
Somehow I think the Essendon constitution would be amended very quickly.

But then this action would only take place in a sport whose administrators are not corrupt.

Saint Mik

Dear Tom,

Michael

Why not just stand your ground Michael and say NO, a fine stiff sh!t at least make a stand for our club and its members, we as members should just enforce the club to play in our traditional jumpers on ALL home games.

We should somehow make it happen, but how I am not sure :evil:

Forget the past, Saints footy, One better in 2010

GrumpyOne wrote:

Dear Tom,

Michael

The Essendon Constitution excuse is just that, AN EXCUSE. Essendon, like all clubs handed over all these powers to the AFL as part of their licence agreement. It is just that an Andrew Demitriou led AFL refuses to stand up to out of date constitution item initiated by the late Ron Evans !!

Eastern wrote:the late Ron Evans !!
Now there's a name synonymous with integrity!

Mr Spotless by name but not by nature.
Had his filthy snout embedded in the AFL rort trough.

On the AFL commission.
CEO of Spotless catering.
Guess which catering company won the AFL contract?

Enrico_Misso wrote:
Eastern wrote:the late Ron Evans !!
Now there's a name synonymous with integrity!

Mr Spotless by name but not by nature.
Had his filthy snout embedded in the AFL rort trough.

On the AFL commission.
CEO of Spotless catering.
Guess which catering company won the AFL contract?
Yes and guess who still has it 4 years after his death. Funny that they also have the MCC contract for about 15 years. Also funny that the ground managers pick the catering company.