Can we turn Dempster into Hayes?

Dempster is built like an in an under player and certainly lacks the pace of your running outside player - not sure why he thinks he is one? If he can get tough and in and under he might be a revelation - if he continues as an outside runner I'd much rather see one of the kids playing the next 15 - 20 games of the year

Dempster is not skillful enough.

We know Lenny as hard-nosed midfielder, but he can use the footy as good as anyone on our list, and his lack of pace is made up for by the pace of his brain, finding the right option instinctively.

Dempster is an average footballer and a terrific athlete, similar to Blake, and I think that's all we can expect from him, unfortunately.

It would be easier to turn lead into gold.

Pwoit

No - He doesn't smile enough :)

Middo

NO.............. :roll:

Jack Newnes happy to be a Saint !!!! PS and to hit a target !!!
goddardisgod

Too soft, no footskills, too tall.

I assume we're talking Nancye Hayes, one-time star of the Australian musical stage...

The idea of Dempster playing as an in-and-under midfielder gives me the giggles. He might have the endurance, but he is too tall and too inflexible to win much ball in close. End of story.

Dempsters foot skills arnt that bad to be honest...

Spinner wrote:Dempsters foot skills arnt that bad to be honest...
I agree 100%. But he can't get his own ball, which would be extremely unusual for a midfielder.

saintjake

I wouldnt be suprised.
I rate him a little bit.
always just seems to lack confidence for mine

saintjake wrote:I wouldnt be suprised.
I rate him a little bit.
always just seems to lack confidence for mine
Last week he lacked an ability to catch. Did you notice? Fumbled almost everything.

That REEKS of confidence issues.

But if you're picked, you're good enough. So get over it, Dempster, and DO something!

Harsh, but fair, I reckon.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

meher baba wrote:
I agree 100%. But he can't get his own ball, which would be extremely unusual for a midfielder.
Yeah he actually kicks it OK. But has never been able to consistently win his own footy.

And I think the OP is taking the proverbial

maybe we can turn eddy into Robert Harvey, maybe turn raphael clarke into tony lockett and simon cowell can start footy instead of X-factor and we can turn him into nicky winmar....

wasaintsfan

prob reads this forum and gets depressed because theres no love for him....

give the guy a big role to fill and set him free.. he thrives to better himself...

Get on him for the Brownlow

I remember the presser he did when he played against Geelong in the finals, he was very aware who he was keeping out of the side, and came across apologetic.

Dempster blossoms when Bakes isn't there, because he probably feels like he owns the role, rather than being concious of Steve?

Dunno, but I agree it appears confidence related.

I thought he had a bad week last week, but it hasn't been the normal of late, and people were quick to give up on him.

ralphsmith

Dempster has the skill spectrum of a cardboard box.

He will go from gear 1 to....gear 1 then to neutral.

A match losing player with absolutely zero positive attributes.

Prove me wrong dempster. Prove me wrong.

What is dead may never die, but rises again harder and stronger.
saintjake

So much hate on his running.,
whats it say for everyone else when heis one of the best runners at the club.

wasaintsfan

should start a bag the fan thread... bag out all the supporters who dont support...

when the team starts struggling say/do nothing....

Sean is very fortunate that he came to the club with the coach.

That relationship is the only thing keeping him going.

The kids must overtake him this year or we are rooted.

Bernard Shakey wrote:Sean is very fortunate that he came to the club with the coach.

Not so sure about that..

Sean is fortunate that Bakes missed nearly a year with injury, then got suspended for 9 weeks, and dropped a balling ball on his toe on his way back.

That is when he played most of his footy for St Kilda.

Bernard Shakey wrote:Sean is very fortunate that he came to the club with the coach.

Not so sure about that..

Sean is fortunate that Bakes missed nearly a year with injury, then got suspended for 9 weeks, and dropped a balling ball on his toe on his way back.

Played 19 games in '08 before he did his knee;
Played 8 games in the '09 H & A and then the GF;
14 games last year.

I think most of his games with St Kilda is because Ross likes him, nothing to do with Bakes.

meher baba wrote:
I agree 100%.
+1. He kicks it 55m with little trouble. Kicking is far from his biggest weakness.

Yes.

Consider it done.

Not so sure about that..

Played 19 games in '08 before he did his knee;
Played 8 games in the '09 H & A and then the GF;
14 games last year.

I think most of his games with St Kilda is because Ross likes him, nothing to do with Bakes.
In 2008 Dempster played 19 games, Bakes only played 2 games
In 2009 thats not a huge amount
In 2010 Dempster played 15 games, commencing from Rd 13, when you guessed it, Bakes got suspended