Where have all the Saints fans gone??

Sam23

Where have all the Saints fans gone??

I'm not one to really harp on about stuff like this, but gee what a disappointing crowd tonight.

Obviously not a lot of Adelaide supporters at Etihad tonight, but to get only 26500~ on a friday night after winning 6 of our past 8 including a big win against West Coast last week, it really is disappointing.

To have 39k+ members and have only 23000 or so saint fans turn up, to Prime Time Footy on a friday night, it isn't good enough.

Goddard.

Must admit that was a really poor crowd.

Their loss.

SainterK wrote:Their loss.

bulls***.

It's the clubs loss.

Loss if revenue.

F*** all neutrals.

Our low scoring footy is unattractive for the masses to watch. 19 goals helps. Flogging GC will also help.

But 26K is only 1K less than I expected. Adelaide are rubbish, people want to see a contest. But I love to see a good flogging sometimes.

The crowd last night was 20% more than the crowd last Sunday for NM vs WB - 2 victorian teams.

Mr Magic wrote:The crowd last night was 20% more than the crowd last Sunday for NM vs WB - 2 victorian teams.
Not sure that makes last nights crowd good. Says more about the other game. Very poor crowd last night.

Mr Magic wrote:The crowd last night was 20% more than the crowd last Sunday for NM vs WB - 2 victorian teams.
Not sure that makes last nights crowd good. Says more about the other game. Very poor crowd last night.
A bit like the officiating last night?
Umpire Bozo was astonishingly attrocious.
( and not for/against us, but generally)

How Zac Dawson wasn't pinged for deliberate out of bounds when he handballed to a teammate sitting in the 6th row of the bottom deck had me in hysterics.
And the sad part is that wasn't their worst decision.

I suppose their performance had one good thing - it allowed spectators to look at something other than the abysmal performance of Adelaide.

Geez I thought it wasnt a bad crowd last night. I was expecting much less.

Crowd was OK. It was certainly our most vocal effort for the year. We need to repeat the dose in a fortnight.

wasaintsfan

well im in WA =P so i obviously wasnt there... i will be however for the next 2 games at the dome we call home.. so theres 2 more for next game =D

SaintDebi

Might be "prime time" for media and TV rights, but friday nights can be difficult for many. Young families- past bedtime, retail workers- late night trading, out of towners- travel late or pay for a night's accomodation. Add to that, that every second person I know seems to be crook with some sort of cold, flu or other winter ailment and it doesn't seem that surprising for a game against an interstate team.

(and yes I was there)

Shattered dreams are just opportunities for improvement. Live and learn, fail and try harder. 2011 beckons.
Moorabbin Man

Well to those who could have attended the game but chose not to, too bad you missed a great performance by the Saints.

I was disappointed with the crowd. I recall 3 years ago we got 35k for harves' record breaking game. Iknow that was a special occasion, but I thought we'd at least match last week's attendance of 30k. 30k should be considered a bare minimum crowd figure for all our games regardless of who we're playing.

marksnsparks

I brought one Essendon supporter, two yanks and two people from Hong Kong, so the number Saints supporters was 22,995.

;)

I wish I could've gone, that's for sure. Would have loved to be joining in when the Milney chant went up!

I agree those numbers are poor, but its quality, not quantity. If those Saints supporters present made a big noise then I'd take that.

It's up to you folks at the game in the Members and General to advertise attendance/participation by having a great time and getting across what a good night it is, how much fun it is.

You are St Kilda Football Club's most important assets right now.

There was 29thousand at dogs north.

Plus that was twilight, the sunday night before schools resumed from holidays.

Megsie

geez, not all our members live in melbourne 26,000 + out of 39,000

is pretty damm good attendance.

There was 29thousand at dogs north.

Plus that was twilight, the sunday night before schools resumed from holidays.
I think it was 22000+ and n ot 29000
29000 was our attendance against North IIRC

22754 at the Dogs Roos game.

Am I missing something here? We absolutely BOLLOX a team who have given us more pain over the journey than I care to remember, and SOME on here find fault in the performance ("poor disposals" "ordinary skills" blah blah blah) and NOW the crowd figure gives reason for negative posts! Are you CRAZY?!!! :roll:

It is mid winter in Melbourne and we are experiencing to worst flu season for about ten years. That's my excuse, I don't know about the rest.

You're excused Bernie boy! :wink: Anyone brave enough to have Neil Young as an avatar should be given some leeway :wink: :lol: PS get well soon!

too cold
its winter
its on delay on the telly into melbs

not surprised

sRaf

Eh, I reckon we lost 10k off of Adelaide. They have a strong supporter base in Melbourne, but I guess they felt it wasn't worth coming out in the cold to see their already struggling team lose.

thejiggingsaint wrote:You're excused Bernie boy! :wink: Anyone brave enough to have Neil Young as an avatar should be given some leeway :wink: :lol: PS get well soon!
Courage to appreciate Neil?

Nonsense.

Nothing more than common sense.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'