Cameron Ling - Retires - Get him to the Saints!

Saint3r

Cameron Ling - Retires - Get him to the Saints!

Cameron Ling has announced his retirement. We should seriously give it all to try and get him in as one of the assistant coaches. He comes from a super footy culture, good footy brain, great leader. He might be the missing link off field for us to take the next step imho.

will be holding hands with his mate tom harley in the media at channel 7

Saint3r

Read that too. Seriously think he would be great for us.

shmic_s

Old Mate wrote:will be holding hands with his mate tom harley in the media at channel 7
He'd suit radio IMO.

I really respect Ling.

I already really liked him...

Then when he was interviewed pretty much straight after the siren, after thinking he'd won the game for Geelong in last years finals series, and then quickly realising his goal hadn't counted and they'd lost....

Well I had even more respect for him, especially given the antics of his then coach Bomber.

He's their "Rob harvey" certainly on character (Harvs a better player obviously) but Ling is someone I genuinely like and respect in the game.

Not a big head, always flattering to opposition....and one of the first Geelong players across to that stain Scarlett (when he had a crack at Harvs near the end of his career) to tell him to pull his head in.

Id have him at our club in a flash.

Well respected

Does not seem that long ago that 30 was considered too young to retire.

chook23 wrote:Does not seem that long ago that 30 was considered too young to retire.
Yeah true.

Reckon he'd be able to go around again, but perhaps he feels he wants to go out on his terms?

I remember M Lloyd putting the heat on him saying he wasn't in the Cats best 22, now he retires a premiership captain, and played one of his best games in the GF.

Depends what type of player....and how the body ages

Barry Hall, Alastair Lynch

John Blaker, Craig Bradley, Rob Harvey

Ling knew soon he would be running backwards in an afl midfield...

Great career, absolute legend of Geelong, we could do a lot worse than having a bloke like that at our club.

elizabethr

Hey didn't he just retire?
If he was going to continue playing i am sure it would have been at Geelong. :oops:

nothing to say

elizabethr wrote:Hey didn't he just retire?
If he was going to continue playing i am sure it would have been at Geelong. :oops:
Welcome.

However note that the OP stated to get him as an assistant coach and not as a player.

elizabethr

elizabethr wrote:Hey didn't he just retire?
Welcome.

However note that the OP stated to get him as an assistant coach and not as a player.
Having reread what was written that is certainly true and he would be good value but not likely to happen.
Ling with his brutal good looks and Hollywood teeth is headed for the Media. :D

nothing to say

shmic_s wrote:
Old Mate wrote:will be holding hands with his mate tom harley in the media at channel 7
He'd suit radio IMO.
probably right...although he did star in the movie mask with cher. 8-)

groupie1

I think that was Eric Stoltz.

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga

I don't know if I am that desperate to have Ling at our club, but I too have alwaysbeen highly impressed with him both as a player and a human being. His role in the team's success over the last 5 seasons should not be underestimated. And he always comes across as humble and totally charmng in every interview he does.

Good luck to him whatever he does in future.

meher baba wrote:I don't know if I am that desperate to have Ling at our club, but I too have alwaysbeen highly impressed with him both as a player and a human being. His role in the team's success over the last 5 seasons should not be underestimated. And he always comes across as humble and totally charmng in every interview he does.

Good luck to him whatever he does in future.
He seems very well connected down here in Geelong with many business interests.

That alone I imagine would make a relocation, or commute, to Seaford highly unlikely IMO.

Top bloke absolutely.

HSVKing

Have heard he is looking at a media career.

One would hope on radio.

They walk amongst us...

FortiusQuoFidelius

If we do snare Ling it will be a year too late... we needed him in the pre season to scare KD away!

FortiusQuoFidelius wrote:If we do snare Ling it will be a year too late... we needed him in the pre season to scare KD away!
Wouldn't have worked.

He looks quite handsome compared to Nixon :P

Got what you deserved you red headed ****

FortiusQuoFidelius

FortiusQuoFidelius wrote:If we do snare Ling it will be a year too late... we needed him in the pre season to scare KD away!
Wouldn't have worked.

Surely even KD wouldnt stoop so low as to bed a ranga!

FortiusQuoFidelius wrote:
Wouldn't have worked.

Surely even KD wouldnt stoop so low as to bed a ranga!
She's only ever been warned about "Reds Under The Bed" - not in it :wink:

She did Nixon and he's a 50yo weird looking cat.....