Ian Synman's Guernsey

This unofficial St Kilda Saints fan forum is for people of all ages to chat Saints Footy and all posts must be respectful.

Moderators: Saintsational Administrators, Saintsational Moderators

gooner
Club Player

Ian Synman's Guernsey

Today I got a sneak peek at the new Australian Jewry display at the Australian Jewish Museum on Alma Rd. It's not open for a few weeks but as I'm a teacher i got a preview.
It's not necessarily a large exhibition but my eyes were immediately drawn to the red, white and black in a case in the corner. In the case I was proud to see Ian Synman's guernsey from the 66 Grand Final alongside a signed match ball. That Grand Final was played on Yom Kippur, a very holy day for the Jewish people, and being Jewish it was a huge personal issue wether he would play or not.
The shirt was donated to the museum by Ian.
I'm not suggesting that you all go and see the exhibition but I thought it was an interesting thing to mention here. It made me happy anyway.

"The humble improve" Wynton Marsalis
Toy Saint
SS Hall of Fame

Re: Ian Synman's Guernsey

Can you name all the other St Kilda players who are Jewish?

Can I assume Mordakai Bromberg is one?

Eastern
Saintsational Legend

Toy Saint wrote:Can you name all the other St Kilda players who are Jewish?

Can I assume Mordakai Bromberg is one?
Mordi Bromberg is definately Jewish. I think he is now a judge !!

NEW scarf signature (hopefully with correct spelling) will be here as soon as it arrives !!

White Winmar
Saintsational Legend

Apparently Ian needed to get permission to play from his Rabbi. Bet he's been eternally thankful he asked and that his request was granted.

I started with nothing and I've got most of it left!
mcadam05
Club Player

A Great Saint :)

bergsone
SS Life Member

mcadam05 wrote:A Great Saint :)

That grandstand brings back memories :)

widereceiver
Club Player

Was he from Ajax?

"Winning's not everything, it's the ONLY thing!" Vince Lombardi.