Saints Fabric Guernsey Promotion

PaulB

Saints Fabric Guernsey Promotion

This was a great idea spoilt by the Centrebet logo. I would not lend my name let alone pay for a guersey that promotes online gambling to those kids who admire what St Kilda stands for.

I was prepared to put my money where my mouth is when the Roos abandoned gambling promotion. I would have preferred to do much more for the Saints. Many others feel the same way.

Let's drop Centrebet and keep our boys' off season antics in line. Then we can watch the sponsorships begin.

Re: Saints Fabric Guernsey Promotion

I think you will find that sponsorships dont come around so easy. If you can find us a milti-million dollar replacement please let us know.

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

or maybe offer to pay an extra $100 to Not have the sponsor on.

and if you had been around when wer were sponsored By Beer companies or Cigarette companies would you have made the same decision?

PaulB

saintdooley wrote:I think you will find that sponsorships dont come around so easy. If you can find us a milti-million dollar replacement please let us know.
Roos seem to have reduced their debt without a sponsor that encourages online betting. Seems like our management can't. Maybe we need to pay for management who can.

and keep our players away from off season shenanigans too.

PaulB wrote:This was a great idea spoilt by the Centrebet logo. I would not lend my name let alone pay for a guersey that promotes online gambling to those kids who admire what St Kilda stands for.

I was prepared to put my money where my mouth is when the Roos abandoned gambling promotion. I would have preferred to do much more for the Saints. Many others feel the same way.

Let's drop Centrebet and keep our boys' off season antics in line. Then we can watch the sponsorships begin.

Take your agendas elsewhere maggot.

PaulB wrote:
saintdooley wrote:I think you will find that sponsorships dont come around so easy. If you can find us a milti-million dollar replacement please let us know.
Roos seem to have reduced their debt without a sponsor that encourages online betting. Seems like our management can't. Maybe we need to pay for management who can.

They just had to sell games in launceston to cover the short fall. Maybe Ballarat can put everyones rates up by $50 a year and we can be the central victorian regional alliance saints?

PaulB

PaulB wrote:This was a great idea spoilt by the Centrebet logo. I would not lend my name let alone pay for a guersey that promotes online gambling to those kids who admire what St Kilda stands for.

Take your agendas elsewhere maggot.
My agenda is improving the St Kilda FC. This is the right forum for that. We will have to disagree on this point.

PaulB

PaulB wrote:

They just had to sell games in launceston to cover the short fall. Maybe Ballarat can put everyones rates up by $50 a year and we can be the central victorian regional alliance saints?
Aren't we thinking of selling home games in NZ? I think Ballarat would be better. Even Launceston. But the Roos are starting from a more difficult place than we are.

Getting rid of a poison sponsor would be best.

PaulB wrote:
PaulB wrote: Roos seem to have reduced their debt without a sponsor that encourages online betting. Seems like our management can't. Maybe we need to pay for management who can.

Aren't we thinking of selling home games in NZ? I think Ballarat would be better. Even Launceston. But the Roos are starting from a more difficult place than we are.

Getting rid of a poison sponsor would be best.

You know what i reckon would be better. Parents do some parenting and explaining gambling to their kids instead of footy clubs having to dump a sponsor of a perfectly legal product. Maybe it is me but I see no poinson in a club advertising gambling. And I gather you are only worried about the kids because I would be pretty sure problem gamblers dont decide to go and bet because they see our jumper today when we play North.

PaulB

Cigarettes are legal. But they were banned due to having a negative influence on the health of our population. This is the same evidence about about gambling. In particular, online gambling, that has only emerged in the last two years, is a particularly dangerous form of this adult only entertainment. Our clubs should not be promoting this.

Why can't our children just be children? Why do we have to explain gambling because our club markets gambling this due to a failure of management. Even worse is this promotion that encourages members to endorse gambling with Centrebet by advertising their product every time a member puts on a Saints guernsey.

Wouldn't we stand prouder with a World Vision logo on our guernsies? Then you could explain to your children about all the good work that they do.... instead of the damage of online gambling and match fixing that a Centrebet inspires

PaulB wrote:Cigarettes are legal. But they were banned due to having a negative influence on the health of our population. This is the same evidence about about gambling. In particular, online gambling, that has only emerged in the last two years, is a particularly dangerous form of this adult only entertainment. Our clubs should not be promoting this.

Why can't our children just be children? Why do we have to explain gambling because our club markets gambling this due to a failure of management. Even worse is this promotion that encourages members to endorse gambling with Centrebet by advertising their product every time a member puts on a Saints guernsey.

Wouldn't we stand prouder with a World Vision logo on our guernsies? Then you could explain to your children about all the good work that they do.... instead of the damage of online gambling and match fixing that a Centrebet inspires

Cigarettes kill you. Gambling doesnt all in moderation. There is about 3% problem gamblers. There is a much bigger chance that cigarettes will have a much more devastating effect.

I have no idea what your line why cant children be children even means.

And have World Vision offered us money or are you suggesting we dump a perfectly legal product to put something on our jumper that gets no money at all but we will all feel better until our club relocates or folds.

I suggest that parents explain the good and bad in gambling and then parent them instead of a footy club parenting them.

PaulB

Actually over 30% of regular poker machine gamblers are already addicts or at risk of becoming addicts.

I will explain the concept. Only a small part of our life is spent as a child. There is plenty of time when we can gamble.

There is difference between a footy club engaged in parenting and a footy club that promotes a harmful form of adult only entertainment. It is the latter that is of concern.

No need for the saints to relocate. There is a need for management to re-orientate its priorities to a club that is not poisoned by its sponsor. In the commercial world few would want to be a cosponsor with an online betting company. As proof look at how the Roos have decreased their debt over the last few years. Having outstanding community citizens works.

PaulB wrote:Actually over 30% of regular poker machine gamblers are already addicts or at risk of becoming addicts.

I will explain the concept. Only a small part of our life is spent as a child. There is plenty of time when we can gamble.

There is difference between a footy club engaged in parenting and a footy club that promotes a harmful form of adult only entertainment. It is the latter that is of concern.

No need for the saints to relocate. There is a need for management to re-orientate its priorities to a club that is not poisoned by its sponsor. In the commercial world few would want to be a cosponsor with an online betting company. As proof look at how the Roos have decreased their debt over the last few years. Having outstanding community citizens works.

Just words. We are struggling with a major sponsor anyway and all we need to do is re orientate the priorities. Yep of course it is that simple that is why we are a major sponsor short.

Centrebet has nothing to do with pokies. Isnt that like saying marijuana and heroin have the same effect on you. And as for the 30% that seems way to high. Never heard of a figure like that.

And dont get your concept either. As a child you are taught right from wrong. You may still do things wrong as an adult but it is as child to learn things. I think you go to school as a child.

I'm anti-pokies (they prey on the large, unfortunate proportion of our populace who suffer from both below average intelligence and significant depression) but am certainly not against many other forms of gambling: horses, dogs, lotto, football pools, casino games (other than pokies), bingo, keno, etc. Under a reasonable level of control, these are all relatively harmless activities.

Centrebet and its counterparts do also worry me a fair bit and not because they are anything like the pokies (Abbott looked once again like the evil hypocrite he is when he stood alongside Nick X and speaking out against internet gambling as somehow more damaging than pokies).

My concern is the growing level of betting around the world on human vs human sporting contests. I love watching sport, and think all this gambling has the potential to destroy sport as a spectacle within the next 20 to 30 years: with just about every professional sport becoming as phony as World Championship Wrestling. There is just so much money to be made out of corruption and, when there are masses of money to be made, regulation is very hard to maintain. And sporting bodies have a conflict of interest: if marquee players are caught out doing the wrong thing, the temptation will always be to let them off with a rap on the knuckles.

I don't really like seeing the Saints caught up in this damaging trend and giving it support. I know I'm powerless to do anything about it, but that doesn't make me feel comfortable with it.

PaulB wrote:. As proof look at how the Roos have decreased their debt over the last few years. Having outstanding community citizens works.
they also have one of the lowest operations personell wise etc etc- and are being propped up by the AFL haveing needed to sellg ames all around australia
and have only in the last 6 months made the stance to not align to gambling etc- so the theory that it has helped them remove their debt does not hold up

and we can all have an impact on how the Saints place themselves-
Support them through merchandise and function and games- it does count- the 1 and 2 people/ supporters at a time will build

and do as a Melbourne supporter did- mention it to your bosses, your work places your connections- even the local IT supplier- they 'Like kaspersky" may be a viable option..

PaulB

PaulB wrote:. As proof look at how the Roos have decreased their debt over the last few years. Having outstanding community citizens works.
they also have one of the lowest operations personell wise etc etc- and are being propped up by the AFL haveing needed to sellg ames all around australia
and have only in the last 6 months made the stance to not align to gambling etc- so the theory that it has helped them remove their debt does not hold up

and we can all have an impact on how the Saints place themselves-
Support them through merchandise and function and games- it does count- the 1 and 2 people/ supporters at a time will build

and do as a Melbourne supporter did- mention it to your bosses, your work places your connections- even the local IT supplier- they 'Like kaspersky" may be a viable option..
The problem is with the merchandise - it promotes online betting. Every person who wears Saints gear advertises bet online through Centrebet.

We have a GM, Chairman and directors with marketing experience. Maybe they are the wrong people for our club.

Your information about North is incorrect. Here's one report from The Australian http://www.theaustralian.com.au/sport/o ... 6383910687

PaulB

PaulB wrote:Actually over 30% of regular poker machine gamblers are already addicts or at risk of becoming addicts.

Just words. We are struggling with a major sponsor anyway and all we need to do is re orientate the priorities. Yep of course it is that simple that is why we are a major sponsor short.

Centrebet has nothing to do with pokies. Isnt that like saying marijuana and heroin have the same effect on you. And as for the 30% that seems way to high. Never heard of a figure like that.

And dont get your concept either. As a child you are taught right from wrong. You may still do things wrong as an adult but it is as child to learn things. I think you go to school as a child.
Centrebet is concerned with online gambling. Through online gambling and its 24/7 accessibility, you can lose your home without even leaving your home.

Children have been found to be more influenced by advertising then adults. Promoting online gambling through sponsorships like Centrebet normalises gambling in these young minds. See the research referred to in this Victorian government agency http://www.responsiblegambling.org.au/i ... mbling.pdf

I did not become a Saints supporter to aid in the normalisation of online gambling. The purpose of these posts is to try and get our club back on track.

PaulB

Sports betting is so on the nose that even the government is beginning to limit promotion. It is today's news.

"the Government believed the promotion of live odds during sports broadcasts could encourage gambling among vulnerable people, including children"

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/more-n ... b05505b65d

Saints should fall in line and eliminate their promotion of Centrebet. For our children's sake.

PaulB wrote:Sports betting is so on the nose that even the government is beginning to limit promotion. It is today's news.

"the Government believed the promotion of live odds during sports broadcasts could encourage gambling among vulnerable people, including children"

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/more-n ... b05505b65d

Saints should fall in line and eliminate their promotion of Centrebet. For our children's sake.

I reckon we should keep any sponsor we can get and let parents do some proper parenting. Why do people always want the easy way out. Betting is illegal if you are under 18 so make sure your children dont get on the internet sites for on line betting.

PaulB

Plugger - while you are entitled to your opinion, please read the research and check out the damage that is being done. Surely some short term money is not worth the cost.

It is not good enough to lay everything at the foot of concerned parents.

These betting services must bear their load and need to be responsible for the damage they are doing to Australian children who already have 2-4 times the rate of problem gambling than Australian adults according to the Productivity Commission and others.

Apart from it destroying any chance of significant other sponsors, the Saints should not be helping in Centrebet's marketing for even more $$$.

PaulB wrote:Plugger - while you are entitled to your opinion, please read the research and check out the damage that is being done. Surely some short term money is not worth the cost.

These betting services must bear their load and need to be responsible for the damage they are doing to Australian children who already have 2-4 times the rate of problem gambling than Australian adults according to the Productivity Commission and others.

Apart from it destroying any chance of significant other sponsors, the Saints should not be helping in Centrebet's marketing for even more $$$.

You have made that up about Centrebet destroying a chance of other sponsors. Emotive rubbish. I read about damage done with gambling. i read about damage done with alcohol. Would you have CUB as a sponsor. I dont care what they say. I beleive it is the parents responsibility to tell kids what is right and wrong. I can honestly say i doubt many kids would give a stuff about our sponsor. They wouldnt care less.

saintkellerm

I don't gamble totally against it, I don't even sell the raffle tckts coz that's a type of gambling, same with the footy tipping comp at work - juz go in for fun. One year I won it but I didn't get the prize. Hey if our footy club could get another sponsor, that would be great, but I don't see them lining up. We r already losing money. I'll keep barracking for the saints. When I see saints, I see lenny, harvs, rooey etc champs in the making, I don't think of centre bet when I think of the Saints. The saints have made sure the kids jumper doesn't have it on there, then the kids complain they don't have the same as the footy players. It's one of those things where one group r happy and some r not, it's always going to be like that in life. It's up to you how you react to these things and up to parents to teach your kids right and wrong. What some might think is right could be totally different to someone else. Thanks have a great night.

PaulB

PaulB wrote:Plugger - while you are entitled to your opinion, please read the research and check out the damage that is being done. Surely some short term money is not worth the cost.

You have made that up about Centrebet destroying a chance of other sponsors. Emotive rubbish. I read about damage done with gambling. i read about damage done with alcohol. Would you have CUB as a sponsor. I dont care what they say. I beleive it is the parents responsibility to tell kids what is right and wrong. I can honestly say i doubt many kids would give a stuff about our sponsor. They wouldnt care less.
It is probably relevant that I spent most of my career in managing TV and Radio stations. My task was to create an environment for advertisers through good programming and an active community profile. My family own an NBL franchise and since we dropped our betting sponsor (at my urging) the sponsorship money has begun to flow. I am not making this up.

I have only the best interests of our St Kilda club as prime motive.

I could not help but notice sponsorships for Blackwoods, Uvex, 3M, Masterlock, ASG and many others in addition to Mazda on the Kanga's banner. I would dearly like to see the same support being garnered for our Saints. I found the number and enthusiasm of behind the goal North Melbourne supporters distressful when compared to ours. Let's drop Centrebet and take a long hard at who we have become.

PaulB wrote:

It is probably relevant that I spent most of my career in managing TV and Radio stations. My task was to create an environment for advertisers through good programming and an active community profile. My family own an NBL franchise and since we dropped our betting sponsor (at my urging) the sponsorship money has begun to flow. I am not making this up.

I have only the best interests of our St Kilda club as prime motive.

I could not help but notice sponsorships for Blackwoods, Uvex, 3M, Masterlock, ASG and many others in addition to Mazda on the Kanga's banner. I would dearly like to see the same support being garnered for our Saints. I found the number and enthusiasm of behind the goal North Melbourne supporters distressful when compared to ours. Let's drop Centrebet and take a long hard at who we have become.

Stick to the NBL.

In a totally unrelated incident - There was this pathetic dweeb that attempted the same dribble at the AGM last year. Completely agenda driven with the clubs best interests not at heart. This same reason person makes a livelihood of attending every club and company's AGM.

I felt sorry for that person. Completely inarticulate, a nervous speaker and just plain rude in interrupting the formal course of the AGM by grandstanding prior to the agenda set times on more than one occasion. Regardless of his agenda: I seriously questioned whether this person had the necessary skills to front any type of movement; let alone a gambling one.

Saint_Ash
Location: Either work, home or the footy, maybe a pub somewhere

In regards to the point about children using online gambling. Before anyone can use one of these online sites, they must register an account. Companies such as Centrebet use online verification methods such as using your credit file, or electoral roll information to verify that the person creating the account is actually of legal age.

Most sites will also require you to register any credit cards that you use (and you need to be 18 before you can be approved for a credit card) and only allow withdrawals by cheque or EFT into the registered account holders name.

This is all done to prevent a child from creating accounts and gambling illegally (there is also other legal requirements for the collection of this information). If you have a little twat who gets arround these measures then chances are they don't know right from wrong anyway and it comes down to the parenting.

What doesn't kill us only makes us stronger.