Saints kicking !!!!

What has been frustrating all year is our terrible kicking skills .
I must have seen at least 50 mongrel punts in todays game , and to have 38 scoring shots in a game and only kick 16 goals is evident of why we are not in the top 4 .
1.6 in the third quarter v richmond
1.6 in the third quarter v north
2.6 in the second quarter v freo
3.7 in the last quarter v swans

When you play against good opposition and don't get the rewards for all that effort , i reckon it saps the confidence of the overall playing group .

I don't know how we can fix it , it just pisses me off !
Next week v the pies we'll probably have around 25 scoring shots , if we kick 15 goals were a good chance however were more likely to kick 15 points !

Re: Saints kicking !!!!

Dropping Wilkes and Saad is a first positive step

I think you just have to keep fronting up after doing heaps of goal kicking practice and hope it turns. It's a confidence thing so hard to reverse.

We're still the fourth most accurate side in the comp.

Ice Wolf

saintspremiers wrote:Dropping Wilkes and Saad is a first positive step
Saad and Milne were mostly just unlucky, Some of Wiles, Kosi and Reiwoldts kicks were just diabolical.

Ice Wolf wrote:
saintspremiers wrote:Dropping Wilkes and Saad is a first positive step
Saad and Milne were mostly just unlucky, Some of Wiles, Kosi and Reiwoldts kicks were just diabolical.
You're being very forgiving there on Milney and Saad...Saad sprayed a few sitters and Milne went for impossible angles instead of the percentage play or centering the footy and giving the team a better avenue to goal. Agree that our talls also missed gettable goals.

while roo showed what a class act he is today, his kicking was just s***. sorry hate to rubbish the champ but it really let him down. what did amaze me was how good he did when he's not dealing with two or three on him!

Newman

Gotta agree ShanghaiSaint. Nicks' shots on goal half time were woeful. Didn't matter in the context of this game but I just worry say next week when we play Collingwood and Nick marks in the dying moments and has to kick a goal for a win .... I'm going to be very very nervous.

widereceiver

WTF were Ch 7 asking Roo about goal kicking on Friday night at half time? He has been a great player for the club but his goal kicking has been woeful for the last 6 or 7 years.

"Winning's not everything, it's the ONLY thing!" Vince Lombardi.
Sam Gilbert #1 booster - always on the attack!!!
Win more for Winmar