A possible 2013 recruit

DownAtTheJunction

A possible 2013 recruit

St Kilda officials were at East Fremantle Oval on Sunday when the Sharks gave West Perth a shellacking and they could not help but be impressed by the efforts of the lively Strijk.

Back in the midfield where he does his best work after the Eagles had tried to convert him into a small forward, Strijk had a career-high 25 kicks as he showcased his superb skills with ball in hand.
The West Australian Aug 22.

He might be worth a look. He's just turned 25 and with age is developing maturity. Pace and attack on the ball are obvious assets, and best of all he is a lovely kick.

Re: A possible 2013 recruit

Would like to know his weaknessess

clarky449 wrote:Would like to know his weaknessess

KFC and BUndy?

Riewoldt and Goddard to live up to their reputations ,Clarke and Ray to defy theirs in 2012!

whiskers3614 wrote:

KFC and BUndy?
Juddy and Rendell hardly count as weaknesses....

Truth be told....Im at the stage watching us miss targets weekly............that as long as he can kick I dont care if he runs down the wing pissed with a drumstick under his arm.

Teflon wrote:Truth be told....Im at the stage watching us miss targets weekly............that as long as he can kick I dont care if he runs down the wing pissed with a drumstick under his arm.
aaron fiora was a good kick.

Teflon wrote:Truth be told....Im at the stage watching us miss targets weekly............that as long as he can kick I dont care if he runs down the wing pissed with a drumstick under his arm.
Not really. He kicked long but made poor decisions and panicked under pressure

hAyES

bergholt wrote:aaron fiora was a good kick.

So we are picking kids one game now. I saw a guy play on Saturday in D grade Ammos that stared. Great kid and good decision maker.

25 year olds in a rebuilding phase doesnt really make to much sense to me.

james rose

plugger66 wrote:So we are picking kids one game now. I saw a guy play on Saturday in D grade Ammos that stared. Great kid and good decision maker.

Age Number of Players
18 1
19 8
20 6
21 3
22 4
23 1
24 3
25 0
26 6
27 1
28 6
29 3
30 1
31 1
32 2

Average age of 24.

Assuming we lose a few older players its not the worst idea to bring in a solid bodied 25 year old with experiance. IF he is any good he can play for another 3-5 years and help the transition run a lot smoother.

I suspect we'll pick up 3-5 players in the 21-25 year old bracket this year but some of them will be rookie listed.

DownAtTheJunction wrote:
St Kilda officials were at East Fremantle Oval on Sunday when the Sharks gave West Perth a shellacking and they could not help but be impressed by the efforts of the lively Strijk.

Back in the midfield where he does his best work after the Eagles had tried to convert him into a small forward, Strijk had a career-high 25 kicks as he showcased his superb skills with ball in hand.
The West Australian Aug 22.

He might be worth a look. He's just turned 25 and with age is developing maturity. Pace and attack on the ball are obvious assets, and best of all he is a lovely kick.
Ive read other posters suggest we should stay away from other club 'retreads'. I think a number of younger players are just not ready to play AFL in their earlier years and take longer to mature in both body and mind. Dunell is a classic example and nobody has suggested he wont be a great contributor to the Saints.

We need these ready made type players to fill the void and if Strikj is now ready to take on the AFL then lets embrace it and give him a go!
Last edited by WinnersOnly on Thu 23 Aug 2012 1:15pm, edited 1 time in total.

plugger66 wrote:So we are picking kids one game now. I saw a guy play on Saturday in D grade Ammos that stared. Great kid and good decision maker.

What was he staring at? Is his stare scarier than Julie Bishop's? Only draft him if his stare can kill.

james rose wrote:
Age Number of Players
18 1
19 8
20 6
21 3
22 4
23 1
24 3
25 0
26 6
27 1
28 6
29 3
30 1
31 1
32 2

Average age of 24.

Assuming we lose a few older players its not the worst idea to bring in a solid bodied 25 year old with experiance. IF he is any good he can play for another 3-5 years and help the transition run a lot smoother.

I suspect we'll pick up 3-5 players in the 21-25 year old bracket this year but some of them will be rookie listed.
thanks for that JR. we obviously are very weak in that core age group 23-25 which we need to get us through this next rough period without going too far south. I am certainly an advocate for a mature tall defender in that age bracket (23-25). There has to be one good'un out there somewhere.

(p.s shows we had some shocking drafts for a couple of years 5-7 years back.)

To you WA Sainters... I've heard on the radio that the WC are testing out Mark Worthington (of the Australian basketball variety) as a possible rookie.

Apparently he has a background in footy before choosing basketball & is very keen to switch sports. At 6'8 (202cm) with fantastic athleticism, he sounds like bloke that could be worth a shot.

Have any of you heard anymore/seen him play?

yallingup saints

If you are looking at two ready made players from the WAFL I'd be going for Thomas Lee and Kane Mitchell from Claremont.

Claremont's coach is Marc Webb who was the premiership Captain at Subi when Scott Watters was coach.

Unlucky not to get a gig at Fremantle this year See link below:
http://www.perthnow.com.au/sport/afl/cl ... 6214423677
ka

Animal Enclosure wrote:To you WA Sainters... I've heard on the radio that the WC are testing out Mark Worthington (of the Australian basketball variety) as a possible rookie.

Apparently he has a background in footy before choosing basketball & is very keen to switch sports. At 6'8 (202cm) with fantastic athleticism, he sounds like bloke that could be worth a shot.

Have any of you heard anymore/seen him play?
Basketball yes I've seen wortho play heaps but AFL I dunno .. He is already 30 so I don't see why west coast are keen on him considering who they already have on the team ... Very strange

Sounds perfect for rosco, middle aged, average player who couldn't get a game at another club. We recruited about ten of them while he was coaching.

yallingup saints

Sounds perfect for rosco, middle aged, average player who couldn't get a game at another club. We recruited about ten of them while he was coaching.[quote][/quote]

20 and 22 is hardly middle aged. :roll:

yallingup saints wrote:If you are looking at two ready made players from the WAFL I'd be going for Thomas Lee and Kane Mitchell from Claremont.

Claremont's coach is Marc Webb who was the premiership Captain at Subi when Scott Watters was coach.

Unlucky not to get a gig at Fremantle this year See link below:
http://www.perthnow.com.au/sport/afl/cl ... 6214423677
ka

i remember i was gung-ho on tom lee last year - but as i recall he was quiet in the gf which might have put clubs off.
but he will probably get another go .

Strijk does sound like the type of player we could use, though he sounds quite similar to Cockie at Sandringham. But it certainly would be worth a look if he has the skills and has now built up the endurance and work-rate for the midfield.

We absolutely do need more players in the 24-26 age bracket who will peak in a couple of years when our core starts retiring en masse.

stairwaytoheaven

What about the fellow Weeks who was mentioned in the Herald Sun.
Plays in the Forward line for Golden Square Aged 23 has kicked
well over a ton this year and last year. Is of good height and
good weight, rated as no. one from this area and they reckon
he is ready for AFL.

mad saint guy wrote:Strijk does sound like the type of player we could use, though he sounds quite similar to Cockie at Sandringham. But it certainly would be worth a look if he has the skills and has now built up the endurance and work-rate for the midfield.

We absolutely do need more players in the 24-26 age bracket who will peak in a couple of years when our core starts retiring en masse.
The last thing we need are players that age unless people really think we can challenge again in 3 years. I cant see how we can so lets stay clear of those guys unless at least proven AFL players and even then it would have to be position specific.

james rose

mad saint guy wrote:Strijk does sound like the type of player we could use, though he sounds quite similar to Cockie at Sandringham. But it certainly would be worth a look if he has the skills and has now built up the endurance and work-rate for the midfield.

The last thing we need are players that age unless people really think we can challenge again in 3 years. I cant see how we can so lets stay clear of those guys unless at least proven AFL players and even then it would have to be position specific.
I'd hate to see us with a massive age profile gap in our list- its not good for players development imo.... Look at Melbourne.

I'd rather us top up some middle age players for when our bigger bodied players retire.

The key though is to be smart about it, draft one or two strong bodied role players and make sure you make the most of the picks you use on younger players.

seems not a bad pick imo

Never ate chicken

He's a dwarf......................................but he plays tall. :)