New Zealand Updates- What's on IN Wellington ( saints)

AFL imput
http://www.smh.com.au/afl/afl-news/afl- ... 2bah1.html

Australia Day in New Zealand

Community camp -St Kilda Wellington (NZ) Jan 23-27

and then onto Anzac day .
Last edited by saintbrat on Wed 17 Apr 2013 8:28pm, edited 5 times in total.

Re: New Zealand Updates

My wife & I are planning to fly across to see the game and spend a few days seeing UnZud. Just need my leave approved. Is there any word on ticket sales, packages etc. yet? I used to think it was a big deal to make the journey to Geelong! :D

Furphy wrote:My wife & I are planning to fly across to see the game and spend a few days seeing UnZud. Just need my leave approved. Is there any word on ticket sales, packages etc. yet? I used to think it was a big deal to make the journey to Geelong! :D
I hoping the package details will be out soon as well.

Yep this journey will be a bit longer than the trip on the Geelong Flyer.

as far as I've heard there will be no packages involving Flights and Accomdations
get your own and soon-

If you have a membership then a ticket will be part of it as it is a HOME game BUT I ASSUME they will be asking for registration to enable them to gain an idea of numbers- or confirmation of attendance.

there will be a function pre game nearby,

Flights
If you are prepared to go early in the week cheaper- But then more accom
or stay longer- Monday cheaper- again more accom
only 1 flight per day direct from Melbourne- or from Wellington- others go via Sydney or Brisbane

direct flights early morning or late evening.

accom- your price etc\- there is quite a bit within the city area

There is a Shuttle to the city from the Stadium post game-
Stadium Shuttle
*Shuttle bus service that links the central city to the Stadium, at
selected events.
*Runs every 10 to 15 minutes
*Stadium set-down and pickup right beside the turnstiles.
*Return service runs after event ends (except Cricket games).
*Some buses with wheelchair access.
*Special cash fares apply - $5.00 per adult, $3.00 per child.
*This service does not operate for all events, contact Metlink for
details.
Stadium Shuttle Bus Stops
*Te Papa Main Entrance, Cable St
*Bus Terminus, Courtenay Place
*St James Theatre, Courtenay Place
*Cuba Mall, Dixon St
*Mid City Centre, 18 Manners St
*Grand Arcade, 20 Willis St

Club update mail today
is directing people to this link
http://www.anygameanywhere.com.au/

http://www.anygameanywhere.com.au/see-saints-wellington#

http://www.sainters.net/newsletters/201 ... keting.php
Exclusive Members Tickets - Presale January 16!
Tickets to the first ever AFL game for premiership points on international soil will go on presale, exclusively to St Kilda Football Club members, on Wednesday January 16th. The game, to be held on Anzac Day, April 25th, in Wellington next year, will see the Saints go up against 2012 premiers, the Sydney Swans at Westpac Stadium.
All 2013 game access members receive complimentary admission to the historic Wellington game as part of their Membership package (excluding ticket agent booking fee $4 and delivery fee $4.95). The game will be classified as a 'fully ticketed' game requiring all patrons to have an allocated reserved seat, which members can book through the club.
Premium seating on the wing and gold seating in the pocket/goals will be exclusively available to St Kilda members to purchase from Wednesday January 16th until Wednesday January 23rd before going on general release sale. Adult prices start from $4 for Gold seating and range up to $19.50 for Premium, with all prices quoted in Australian dollars and inclusive of any applicable ticketing fee. A commemorative ticket will be produced for this event for St Kilda members purchasing through the Saints Membership Department and distributed in February 2013.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

jmcp

saintbrat wrote:as far as I've heard there will be no packages involving Flights and Accomdations
get your own and soon-

If you have a membership then a ticket will be part of it as it is a HOME game BUT I ASSUME they will be asking for registration to enable them to gain an idea of numbers- or confirmation of attendance.

there will be a function pre game nearby,

Flights
If you are prepared to go early in the week cheaper- But then more accom
or stay longer- Monday cheaper- again more accom
only 1 flight per day direct from Melbourne- or from Wellington- others go via Sydney or Brisbane

direct flights early morning or late evening.

accom- your price etc\- there is quite a bit within the city area

There is a Shuttle to the city from the Stadium post game-
Stadium Shuttle
*Shuttle bus service that links the central city to the Stadium, at
selected events.
*Runs every 10 to 15 minutes
*Stadium set-down and pickup right beside the turnstiles.
*Return service runs after event ends (except Cricket games).
*Some buses with wheelchair access.
*Special cash fares apply - $5.00 per adult, $3.00 per child.
*This service does not operate for all events, contact Metlink for
details.
Stadium Shuttle Bus Stops
*Te Papa Main Entrance, Cable St
*Bus Terminus, Courtenay Place
*St James Theatre, Courtenay Place
*Cuba Mall, Dixon St
*Mid City Centre, 18 Manners St
*Grand Arcade, 20 Willis St
the stadium is only a short walk from the city centre and there are plenty of bars along the way. the ramps of the main train station actually lead up to the main concourse.

wellington has a couple of sports bars and two to go to would be four kings (cnr taranaki and dixon sts) or lovelocks (aka lovies, bond st). the latter is small but is my fave and i spent many hours there when living in wellington. the locals at lovies are very friendly and importantly very knowledgeable about sport.

if you get a chance, head down to their dawn service which is at the end of lambton quay. it is much smaller than what we have at the shrine; understated in a typical kiwi way.

for those that have never been, wellington is a terrific city. very compact, lots of bars and eateries. there is te papa, their national museum and, of course, the beehive, their parliament house.

if you want to stay nearby the stadium i'd suggest the holiday inn or somewhere along lambton quay. having said that i wouldn't worry about distance if staying in the city as it is easy to traverse by foot.

No1_Saint

Is anyone going? I am going...I am so excited.

Megsie

we are going. Have airfares & accom. can't wait. so excited also.

I have seen packages for about $750 for 3 nights. Does that seem about right for those who have booked or looked up?

If youre an adventurer - You can fly cheap on Jetstar to Cch. Rent a car and drive up (via some vineyards and beautiful scenery) and get the car ferry across to Wgt.

Good times and your wife will love you.

http://www.interislander.co.nz/

saintvic

plugger66 wrote:I have seen packages for about $750 for 3 nights. Does that seem about right for those who have booked or looked up?

Where did you see those packages? Also looking at going but not sure for how long at this stage.

saintvic wrote:
plugger66 wrote:I have seen packages for about $750 for 3 nights. Does that seem about right for those who have booked or looked up?

Where did you see those packages? Also looking at going but not sure for how long at this stage.

Webjet.

Be prepared for a white-knuckle landing at Wellington Airport.......... the winds can make it very vomit inducing.

Lovely city though, I just adore the architecture of the city and all the delightful wooden houses..........some of them are reminiscent of the wooden homes of San Fransisco.

It's worth a walk up to the City's main gardens. There you will find a Peace Garden, with beds of the exquisite 'Peace Rose'................. most approppriate for an ANZAC Day wander.

Also from that peaceful vantage spot above the city, you can see the planes coming in to land into the winds, and know why your tummy got all in a turmoil when you flew in!! And you can see why Wellington, along with Perth WA are known as the two major airports for difficult landings due to wind shears.

No1_Saint

Megsie wrote:we are going. Have airfares & accom. can't wait. so excited also.
Awesome...I have been lazy and am yet to book accomodation and flights. I will firm that up this week. I have a week off work so and want to include Auckland and possibly Greymouth...I might have to extend leave by a day or so to fit it all in.

No1_Saint

I am happy to see the AFL committing resources to this, the fact that they are talking to the broadcaster in NZ is a welcome sign. For the last 2 years coverage in NZ has been shocking. One match a week would be shown on delay at midnight Monday. In addition to that there were no finals coverage at all except the GF. Before that there would be one match on a couple of hours delay or live alot of the time. Hopefully this can be changed.

If the club and the AFL are serious about this, every Saints game needs to be shown every week to keep the branding fresh and the interest alive. Hopefully they are talking to media outlets to have some fluff stories to build interest as well.

No1_Saint wrote:I am happy to see the AFL committing resources to this, the fact that they are talking to the broadcaster in NZ is a welcome sign. For the last 2 years coverage in NZ has been shocking. One match a week would be shown on delay at midnight Monday. In addition to that there were no finals coverage at all except the GF. Before that there would be one match on a couple of hours delay or live alot of the time. Hopefully this can be changed.

If the club and the AFL are serious about this, every Saints game needs to be shown every week to keep the branding fresh and the interest alive. Hopefully they are talking to media outlets to have some fluff stories to build interest as well.

How many expat Aussies from the footy states live in NZ?

Can't imagine that many.

The Kiwis are rugby obsessed. Can't see that changing in a hurry.

No1_Saint

No1_Saint wrote:I am happy to see the AFL committing resources to this, the fact that they are talking to the broadcaster in NZ is a welcome sign. For the last 2 years coverage in NZ has been shocking. One match a week would be shown on delay at midnight Monday. In addition to that there were no finals coverage at all except the GF. Before that there would be one match on a couple of hours delay or live alot of the time. Hopefully this can be changed.

Can't imagine that many.

This is true but Wellington is passionate about sport and events. If this is marketed correctly and if a good buzz surrounds the match, there is no reason why it can't work as a marquee event.

Wellington's population is only 400,000

Can't imagine that many.

don't know how old you are SP but before 1990 I hardly knew what a rugby ball even looked like. Wouldn't have given you much hope of a league side even existing here, not to mention dominating the NSWRL. And as for rugby (union) that was something that was played by new zealenders and Queenslanders over in Europe somewhere.

That all changed when they started playing the State of Origin at the G in 1990...
gotta start somewhere, and there are plenty of kiwis living in St Kilda and Seaford.

I think there is far more scope for dollars in a country like New Zealand than there is in Launceston competing with Hawthorn.

didzee

just booked air and accomm $850 for 3 nights.
cant wait!

Trevor1Barker

Proud player sponsor 2022

From todays members Email
14/1/13

NZ Ticket Reminder!
Exclusive Member pre-sale for our clash in New Zealand starts Wednesday 16 January.

saintbrat wrote:Exclusive Member pre-sale for our clash in New Zealand starts Wednesday 16 January.
"Exclusive pre-sale"? I can't imagine this game's going to sell out.

saintbrat wrote:Exclusive Member pre-sale for our clash in New Zealand starts Wednesday 16 January.
"Exclusive pre-sale"? I can't imagine this game's going to sell out.
What's the capacity? I reckon there will be a lot of interest…

bergholt wrote:"Exclusive pre-sale"? I can't imagine this game's going to sell out.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Westpac_Stadium

If they get half that many it'll be a success.

bergholt wrote:"Exclusive pre-sale"? I can't imagine this game's going to sell out.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Westpac_Stadium

If they get half that many it'll be a success.
<10k = fail
<15k = below par
15k = average
18k = good
20k = great
+20k = epic!!!!