Ricciuto

Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

Ricciuto

Loved him doing the special comments.

Showed a great knowledge of the game.

Showed a great knowledge of the internal politics of SA football.

Encyclopedic knowledge of all Adelaide and Port players.

Best bit was his reveal of Johncock's nickname. :lol:

Pity we could not have had someone with similar knowledge of the Saints.

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.

Re: Ricciuto

GrumpyOne wrote:Best bit was his reveal of Johncock's nickname. :lol:
Wasn't that common knowledge?

Still, you're right, he was good.

Its going to be a long year. Fox footy, Ricciuto and the umps and we are only playing practice games. And the weather but at least that mattered to our players.

Barry Hall was a terrible boundary commentator, he may have the knowledge, the passion....but his voice just isn't cut out for it IMO

ROLS-LEE

SainterK wrote:Barry Hall was a terrible boundary commentator, he may have the knowledge, the passion....but his voice just isn't cut out for it IMO

Barry Hall is still so anti st kilda.

Barry Hall doesn't like us for obvious reasons.

Dwayne Russell, need I go further?

What surprised me was the promo with Gerard Healey wearing the Saints scarf and talking about how he cried after "we" lost the 1971 Grand Final. He's kept that news to himself or has he?

ozrulestrace wrote:Barry Hall doesn't like us for obvious reasons.

What surprised me was the promo with Gerard Healey wearing the Saints scarf and talking about how he cried after "we" lost the 1971 Grand Final. He's kept that news to himself or has he?

He has always said he was a Saint as a youngster.

ozrulestrace wrote:Barry Hall doesn't like us for obvious reasons.

no...he and his brother were always saints fans...as was his dad...who also ran the saints social club.....

Always respected Ricciuto as a player. A tough customer, with silky skills and didn't seem up himself.

wasoncestkil58

Met him at one of the pubs outside Docklands after he was on radio for a Saints game. Pretty level headed guy. Said he had heaps of respect for Banger.

Roo went right out on a limb and predicted big things from most of Port's first round picks.

Awesome player; mediocre commentator.

Always struck me as an Adelaide-centric bogan, who does little but state the bleedin' obvious. Nothing special. Doesn't seem to have much interest in, or knowledge of, teams outside SA.

ozrulestrace wrote:...What surprised me was the promo with Gerard Healey wearing the Saints scarf and talking about how he cried after "we" lost the 1971 Grand Final. He's kept that news to himself or has he?
He says it about four or five times every year, one way or another. Doesn't make the rest of his comments any more insightful. He is a bit like Ian Chappell, tends to state the bleeding obvious, although Ian Chappell usually does it twice for added emphasis.

Ruskin Rat

During the commentary on Sunday Ricciuto and Dwayne had a little giggle about the Saints giving up a Pick 12 for Tom Lee. Just their matey banter which at times is annoying - seems 'Roo' knows something we don't

cant stand derrwaynes commentary

Ruskin Rat wrote:During the commentary on Sunday Ricciuto and Dwayne had a little giggle about the Saints giving up a Pick 12 for Tom Lee. Just their matey banter which at times is annoying - seems 'Roo' knows something we don't

couple of smart arses if you ask me.....and way off the mark.....we got, lee and two picks...one of which we used on wright...who looks okay to me....

White Winmar wrote:Always struck me as an Adelaide-centric bogan, who does little but state the bleedin' obvious. Nothing special. Doesn't seem to have much interest in, or knowledge of, teams outside SA.
and a real thug on the field....not a bad player though for all his faults....

White Winmar wrote:Always struck me as an Adelaide-centric bogan, who does little but state the bleedin' obvious. Nothing special. Doesn't seem to have much interest in, or knowledge of, teams outside SA.
lol.