Young saints Re -Sign

FOUR of St Kilda's exciting young players have signed two-year contract extensions with the club.

Dylan Roberton, Jack Newnes, Jimmy Webster and Seb Ross have all put pen to paper, committing to the Saints until the end of the 2015 season.

http://www.saints.com.au/news/2013-07-02/young-guns

keeping a core....

felix

Re: Young saints Re -Sign

Excellent news.

Good news...all good players with potential

way way to early to refer to them as guns....

Good news in a tough year

Great news.

Nate wright next

Con Gorozidis wrote:Great news.

Nate wright next

Dont need to. Drafted for a minimum two years.

Will sign him up this time next year.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

Should be plenty of cap room?

Isn't Wright a first year player???

chook23 wrote:way way to early to refer to them as guns....
Exactly.

Someone please remind me how many rising star nominations we've got this season? :sad:

Exactly.

Someone please remind me how many rising star nominations we've got this season? :sad:
Seriously? Many on here constantly go on about our membership and how the club has no idea how to market itself etc etc. And then you want to complain about how they announce, on their own website, the re-signing of 4 of our key youngsters?

Would you be happier with 4 mugshots and a simple heading "Young Players Who Aren't Very Good, And In Fact Can't Manage A Rising Star Nomination, Re-Sign"?

Stop looking for things to be negative about :roll:

Exactly.

Seriously? Many on here constantly go on about our membership and how the club has no idea how to market itself etc etc. And then you want to complain about how they announce, on their own website, the re-signing of 4 of our key youngsters?

Would you be happier with 4 mugshots and a simple heading "Young Players Who Aren't Very Good, And In Fact Can't Manage A Rising Star Nomination, Re-Sign"?

Stop looking for things to be negative about :roll:

But Doc that's all some can see....Negatives.

I on the other hand am rapt that we have these for re-signed for a couple of more years. Watters and Pelchin must be doing something right...

It is not a case of seeing negatives at all.......................gee some people are precious

They are not guns..............certainly at this stage

agree saints sign key youngsters

chook23 wrote:It is not a case of seeing negatives at all.......................gee some people are precious

No it is negative. Instead of being happy that we are actually holding on to the young players, the first thing muttered by some is 'so what they havent won a rising star nomination'. FFS I pity any player from the list that actually wins a nomination he'll be held up as the next coming.

And please between the 4 of them they havent played 75 games. Not many draft picks can be called guns after 10-15 games of afl footy, especially when they don't have a strong team around them.

chook23 wrote:It is not a case of seeing negatives at all.......................gee some people are precious

The story of the day is the re-signing of the kids; not the term we use to describe those kids.

southernsaint

Great news, well done sainters

I tohught Seb was a monty to go to Essendon, I mean who would want to stay at Seaford right?

skeptic wrote:I tohught Seb was a monty to go to Essendon, I mean who would want to stay at Seaford right?
But if he went to Essendon who would he get to run out with for the next two years? :P

bratty any chance of doing an up dated list of where everyone is contract wise in here (from your sensational web post) ?

Buckets wrote:

No it is negative. Instead of being happy that we are actually holding on to the young players, the first thing muttered by some is 'so what they havent won a rising star nomination'. FFS I pity any player from the list that actually wins a nomination he'll be held up as the next coming.

And please between the 4 of them they havent played 75 games. Not many draft picks can be called guns after 10-15 games of afl footy, especially when they don't have a strong team around them.
It is not negative.

Your last sentence seems to agree

Buckets wrote:

It is not negative.

Your last sentence seems to agree
The first thing you posted was "way to early to call them guns..." then Saintspremiers jumps in "Exactly.

Someone please remind me how many rising star nominations we've got this season?"

Neither one of you looked at the positives just went a negative outlook from the outset. Neither of you could actually say "good news".

My view is that it's great news to see 4 Promising Young players - of whom I think will be very good players for the club - re-sign for another 2 years.

If the marketing department wants to call them guns, I'm fine with that.

It all starts with an opportunity and the support from the coaches to build confidence and a belief that they can ALL be guns if they work hard and get the best out of themselves.

I reckon we could see a potential future captain out of this lot and definitely some leadership qualities in these boys. These blokes can play a big part in the future on field success at the Saints.

St Loxton

Yeah thats awesome news

Pack a few kilo's on em, can only get better.

ROLS-LEE

Good work saints.

southernsaint

The thing i found interesting was the young leadership group that these kids are a part of as well as tom curren. The club must think tom has a future with us as well.