Kosi on Open Mike

didzee

Kosi on Open Mike

From twitter, Fox Footy

Justin Koschitzke was the footballer’s footballer and on Monday night is Mike Sheahan’s guest on #OpenMike 9.30pm @FOXFOOTY @stkildafc

Trevor1Barker

Proud player sponsor 2022

Re: Kosi on Open Mike

thanks for the heads up...much appreciated....

Yeah thanks didzee.

People can argue about the big fella's ability and career, and they will and they do, however I reckon that regardless of how you view that he was just a genuinely decent, affiable bloke. And of course one of ours.

Will be watching :)

Thanks didzee. I'm off to buy a new cassette.

To me , Kos could have been a great , he just had no luck .

His first season was great ! rising star .

His next 6 seasons , he had no luck , if he could get injured tying his boot laces he would . played 77 games out of a possible 135 ! but when you see replays from this time you can see what a great player he was .

His next 5 years his body held up . 98 games out of a possible 116 .
but as he was getting older the game was getting faster .
And if he was playing forward it became eaasier for players to run off him , however in his last couple of years he still played some great games .
In his final year he could only manage 5 games , but his last was one of the more enjoyable games i have ever seen .
He got to finish with so many of his great mates actually playing .

Not many people have played 200 games for the saints
So he'll always be a favourite son !
I look forward to seeing the interview.

stkildathunda

I've posted this elsewhere but given he's coming up on Open Mike it's well worth posting here aswell and it just goes to show the kind of bloke he is.
He isn't at the club anymore but this just goes to show what type of person this bloke is. Much maligned onfield throughout his career but one thing has never been questioned and that is his love and generosity into giving back to the game and club. I speak of Justin Koschitkze..

Kosi gives up his time every so often and heads down to Sandringham's training and helps out with the young kids down there. He's been working with Elliot LeGrice closely and numerous other players. The knowledge and advice he is teaching these guys is invaluable as they strive to be the best footballers they can be and hopefully get a crack at AFL at some stage.

Plugger87

Miss the big man

Plugger87 wrote:Miss the big man
Are you P66's son?

A great club... Perhaps one of the very best

Sorry

Great clubman

Great clubman...one of my favorite players and he was a big reason we had a good 2009 and 2010...

His rising star form was absolutely scintillating.

thequarry

I remember those four weeks in 2005 when Riewoldt went down. 17 goals, 41 marks, 11 Brownlow votes (I think?). It was like we had another Riewoldt, but funnily enough from the game Roo returned in against the Dees at the MCG (where the whole streak began) he didn't quite have the same output. So typically St Kilda that he wasn't able to get the chance to impact the finals series that year.

Moorabbin Man

I will never forget those 4 or 5 games in 2005, absolutely sensational, in fact they were Lockettesque for sheer dominance. At the time he should have got the Captaincy. What happened after that, who knows, was it the skull injury? I personally think he was played out of position under Lyon, as I believe he was primarily a ruckman. Although Lyon was a fine coach, I believe GT got the best out of Kosi and had him in a more suitable role. I will never forget that night in Perth just before the 2005 finals, when Kosi did his hamstring. It cost us a flag. Loved the big fella.

I also think it is a mark of the man that he has been given employment after his playing days ceased. Credit to the club too for looking after their own.

Cairnsman wrote:I also think it is a mark of the man that he has been given employment after his playing days ceased. Credit to the club too for looking after their own.
+100. Can't wait to watch it!

Bump

Don't forget

Thanks for the reminder!

thequarry

Bump (again!)

Tonight at 9.30.

mcadam05

Wow what a pile of $$%^ the Questions were all over the place , there was no timeline , just came across really poor.

How real is the guy.

Love him.

Glad he's not lost to footy.

I believe the bit when he was his harshest critic, way harsh on himself.

Hope he gets a gig on mainstream media.

PADDLEPOP1001

Love the Kos!

PADDLEPOP1000

mcadam05 wrote:Wow what a pile of $$%^ the Questions were all over the place , there was no timeline , just came across really poor.
same old questions really-- BUt Kos was very insightful on THAT collision..

Thanks Kosi

He still really feels the pain of not winning the grand final after putting in for 9 years with his mate Roo (as we all do).

Kos was on SEN this morning
https://soundcloud.com/#sen1116/justin- ... ning-glory

and video from last night is up on Fox sports website-- I can't seem to extract a direct link- if anyone else can
http://www.foxsports.com.au/video?vc=208

http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/shows > bottom of page visual link to Open Mike 5/5/14

Video
>>>>AFL
>>>>>> Magazine Shows
>>>>>>>> Open Mike