Going to the game alone.

Calais

Going to the game alone.

I took off work for Sunday and I'm trying to decide whether or not to go to the game.. Alone.

None of my tiger following mates are free to join me but I really want to see Lenny's last game in Melb.

Has anyone gone to a game alone before? What's it like? I got a feeling if i do go people will be looking/talking about me and I'd feel super awkward lol.

Thoughts?

Re: Going to the game alone.

Who cares what other people think? Especially strangers in a crowd that you don't know?

Almost every week. Love it

I've been to many games by myself. Never bothered me, then again I am probably a bit odd. If it is a concern you can always latch on to someone at the game. There will be plenty of fellow Saints fans more than happy to share your company. You won't have any trouble finding people in the standing areas.

paulski

Go to plenty of game alone. My love of the Saints outweighs any feelings of being a scottie!

Go and support Lenny and enjoy! Cheers.

sMarty_saints

I am a girl and I have gone to a game alone (only once though) it was the Freo home game. I could have sit with friends up in Level 3, but decided to sit on Level 1 so I could be near the action and it was the best (probably because we won), so it made it even more worthwhile and I was sitting near where they come in and out, so it was even better. Just do it who cares what other people think.

I go sometimes by myself, not a problem.

Heaps of times. Standing room is the key but

sMarty_saints wrote:I am a girl and I have gone to a game alone (only once though) it was the Freo home game. I could have sit with friends up in Level 3, but decided to sit on Level 1 so I could be near the action and it was the best (probably because we won), so it made it even more worthwhile and I was sitting near where they come in and out, so it was even better. Just do it who cares what other people think.
You should sit alone at every game! Obviously you were our lucky charm against Freo.

sMarty_saints

Of course!!!....I went to the next 3 games with friends, Suns, Bulldogs, Swans and we lost all those games....unfortunately cannot go to the Tigers or Adelaide game.

Sorry guys...no more wins for the Saints this year :-(
(please prove me wrong Saints!!!)

No probs going solo. Just don't tell yourself off or get into an argument with yourself.

sainta

I'm a girl and also often go to the games alone. Back in the day I used to go sit in the Moorabbin Wing so at least I was surround by other Saints fans. You could find where they are all congregating this weekend and join them :)

saintspremiers wrote:No probs going solo. Just don't tell yourself off or get into an argument with yourself.
Or get thrown out for getting into a brawl with yourself.

jonesy wrote:Heaps of times. Standing room is the key but
Spot on. I probably go to one game a year on my lonesome and the standing area at the 'g is the place to do it.

Usually end up in a shout and have a great day.

Calais wrote:I took off work for Sunday and I'm trying to decide whether or not to go to the game.. Alone.

None of my tiger following mates are free to join me but I really want to see Lenny's last game in Melb.

Has anyone gone to a game alone before? What's it like? I got a feeling if i do go people will be looking/talking about me and I'd feel super awkward lol.

Thoughts?

Don't go. All of us normal people with friends will point and laugh at you. You will feel intimidated and your self worth will crumble. Added to that the Saints will get flogged and your self esteem will take a further hit.

This may well lead to psychological problems and regular trips to the psychologist at either a great cost to you or a drain on the public.

For the sake of Australia I would therefore say DONTGO.

I've gone to footy matches on my own without the Saints even playing lol!! what is so awkward about it? that a complete stranger whose opinion doesn't even matter might "judge" you?

paulski

Yep, I find standing is better when you're on your own. And don't forget, you can play with your phone - wow, I sound like a real loser!
Where would we be without mobile phones, I remember rocking up at pubs before your mates pre-phones, and feeling like a right wanker, just doing laps of the pub. Now I just get my phone out to pass time.

Sure have. A fair bit on my own a few years ago.
Once drove to the G from sa watched a final and got back in the car and drove home again.

Not recommended.

Find out where the pre game drinks are and you'll be able to catch up with posters like eastern and the jiggster...plus a few others

Some of the best fun I have is on my own.

Alone is fine, headphones are an option and more chips for you!

Alone can be good- concentrate on the game without someone distracting with chat,

but if you want to make a comment someone around will respond

Wtf I go to all my games alone. Shout and scream and rant and rave and nobody gives a rats. Do you think people will stare at you and then you'll feel lonely and stupid. It should be just you and the footy. No one else matters during those two hours.

PakenhamSaint

I go alone often.
I find myself just sitting there and watching the game.

I go with many people. End up alone.

Cairnsman wrote:Some of the best fun I have is on my own.
I bet that happens on most nights