Nakia Cockatoo

Not sure if anyone saw the curtain raiser before the GF on Saturday, I watched the last half and was super impressed with nacho Cockatoo, he is a good size for a 17 yo and is absolutely explosive off the mark. He kicked a fabulous goal in the last quarter. Could be a great later pick smokey.

Another stand out was Mav Weller's brother, looks quicker than his brother and is a beautiful user.

Re: Nakia Cockatoo

Anyone with the name Nakia Cockatoo is worth picking for the name alone.

Both have been mentioned on other forums.

Mav's brother is tipped to go high, possibly first round.

Cockatoo (is it Cockatoo-Rainbow or am I thinking of another colourfully named potential recruit?) is likely to go in the later rounds.

st.byron wrote:Anyone with the name Nakia Cockatoo is worth picking for the name alone.

He will go to the Hawks or the Eagles.

st.byron wrote:Anyone with the name Nakia Cockatoo is worth picking for the name alone.

Why do you say that? its an open draft he will go to whomever selects him.

BringBackMadDog wrote:

it was a hilarious joke about him going to a club with a bird as its mascot/emblem.

Could have also said the Magpies or Swans.

Side splitting......

BringBackMadDog wrote:

it was a hilarious joke about him going to a club with a bird as its mascot/emblem.

Side splitting......

Thanks. I thought so as well.

I think he is referring to Cockatoo, Hawks and Eagles. He has forgotten Magpies and Crows.
At any rate, if we do a dealnwith GWS, perhaps they coulld throw him in as their N.T. kid. Some are rating him as better than Garlett.

borderbarry wrote: Some are rating him as better than Garlett.
At what GBH or B&E :wink:

BringBackMadDog wrote:

Side splitting......
So why do the Crows miss out? Still paying the price for the Draft tampering or doesn't the Cockie like the way Sanderson was dumped?

Nakia Cokatoo - we have to get him on name alone. And he is no longer a smokey after Saturday. Hes a known known now.

Is he Aboriginal?

saintspremiers wrote:Is he Aboriginal?
Cockatoo:
The family has a mainly Australasian distribution, ranging from the Philippines and the eastern Indonesian islands of Wallacea to New Guinea, the Solomon Islands and Australia. The name cockatoo originated from the Indonesian (Malay) name for these birds, kaka(k)tua (either from kaka "parrot" + tuwah or "older sibling" from kakak "older sibling" + tua "old").

So the answer is maybe NOT.
Cockatoos are not necessarily aboriginal.

I played footy against Rob and Rodney Cockatoo in Cairns years ago. Great players and good blokes. Che Cockatoo-Collins was from up there originally so I'm guess sing that Nakia is from the same clan

A mate who works at NT Footy told me a month or so ago to keep an eye out for Nakia.

Apparently he was injured for a fair bit of this season & my mate reckons he's be pushing top 20 if he'd had a full year.

Animal Enclosure wrote:A mate who works at NT Footy told me a month or so ago to keep an eye out for Nakia.

Apparently he was injured for a fair bit of this season & my mate reckons he's be pushing top 20 if he'd had a full year.
Yep, he had a foot injury that kept him out for most of the season so Saturdays effort was pretty special considering how much game time he missed.

In regards to his heritage, his father is a cousin of Che Cockatoo-Collins father.

Great ..... so we get the dud brother again !

Also Nakia cockatoo sounds like a telephone that never shuts up !

Is he testing at the Draft combine?

With a name like that hes going to be a star! He may bring Dennis out of retirement.

mr six o'clock wrote:Great ..... so we get the dud brother again !

So you reckon Mav is a dud?

avid

We need Nakia!!

With Milera going home it will be the first time since before Phil Narkle that we haven't had at least someone on our list with an indigenous heritage.

Pretty sure I'm right.

(that's assuming Nakia has some indigenous heritage -- see posts above)

Bunk_Moreland wrote:Both have been mentioned on other forums.

Cockatoo (is it Cockatoo-Rainbow or am I thinking of another colourfully named potential recruit?) is likely to go in the later rounds.

Knackers Cockatoo is about the only decent NT prospect this year and has dropped off the radar a bit lately. The guy you are thinking of is Dillon Viojo-Rainbow.

Bunk_Moreland wrote:Both have been mentioned on other forums.

Knackers Cockatoo is about the only decent NT prospect this year and has dropped off the radar a bit lately. The guy you are thinking of is Dillon Viojo-Rainbow.
'Knackers'. Brilliant.

We have to have this guy!

mr six o'clock wrote:Great ..... so we get the dud brother again !

So you reckon Mav is a dud?
too early to say
but
as he was on the rookie list and the brother is a potential 1st rounder , one would assume that the brother is a better footballer .
hopefully mav will be a 300 game 5 time premiership winning champion of the st kilda football club .

dirtydog24

Nakia is a top 20 pick and always has been. Just got forgotten as he hadn't played.

This is the kind of player I'd prefer us to invest in, fast outside pace and can kick a goal - not JOR. GWS are way over pricing his value.