MCG vs Etihad as a home base.

Righto.

I'm done with Etihad and their arrogance with everything.

Must say I'm increasingly more impressed with the G for footy than ever before. They ARE the people's ground - more innovative with resteraunts and bars within the ground than Etihad ever will be, are genuinely cheaper than Etihad for the basic foods (Etihad only wins out on Sunday's with $3 pies vs. $4 pies).

I didn't think the food prices issues would be that significant but it is noticeable.

And even though it was cold today at the G you just harden up and rug up and get to see footy played in the elements. Feels more real and not sterile like Etihad, even though today's game was VFL standard.

So there you go. I'm an MCG convert at last.

Anyone else changing their attitude to which ground is better??

Re: MCG vs Etihad as a home base.

Both are great.

Bring back VFL park!

i'd prefer to be at G if it ment more money for the club...

i'm still trying to defrost from today's game to have an opinion !

You can buy pies for $3 or $4 at those grounds?
Bugger me, I can't even get one that's been sitting in a deli oven burning all day for that.

the AFL will own Etihad see how it goes then.

TWO big issues.

We play much better at Docklands, our home ground, but the AFL will never give us a home final. To be successfull in finals, we must learn to play the MCG.

We lose a heap of money at Docklands, it's a bloody disgrace. The AFL are virtually corrupt for allowing us to get so badly screwed.

We played a home final in 2011, so the AFL will give us a home final if the circumstances are right.

Toy Saint wrote:TWO big issues.

We play much better at Docklands, our home ground, but the AFL will never give us a home final. To be successfull in finals, we must learn to play the MCG.

We lose a heap of money at Docklands, it's a bloody disgrace. The AFL are virtually corrupt for allowing us to get so badly screwed.
This. Finals are at the MCG, at least the more important ones. Would be happy to have the MCG as home, with games against interstate low-drawing teams at docklands.

Enjoyed the day at the G but it got a bit cold. Can they build a roof?

resaintlee

Getting off the train from Bendigo, over the bridge and up to level 2 to the warmth and comfort of our seats under a closed roof. People hold doors open for us as we enter the rooms to buy food at now reasonable prices, this has to be better than watching the 'hockey at the Garden'.

The G yesterday was just wet, cold and unwelcoming, and adds additional travel time. Left home at 11.45am, returned at 9.45pm.

IanRush

whiskers3614 wrote:Bring back VFL park!
x2 and some of the suburban grounds

USELESS FACT: The WADA case against Essendon (in Sydney as well) is exactly 10 years to the day that Australia qualified for the 2006 FIFA World Cup.
saintjake

plugger66 wrote:Both are great.
Insightful

saintjake wrote:
Insightful

What is your age? Im guessing 9. Did you read the question? I like both. Why mention other words? I suppose you will just be gutless again and call me the C word. Pathetic.

saintjake

saintjake wrote:
Insightful

What is your age? Im guessing 9. Did you read the question? I like both. Why mention other words? I suppose you will just be gutless again and call me the C word. Pathetic.

No need for the hostility, I was merely pointing out how insightful you were.

saintjake wrote:

No need for the hostility, I was merely pointing out how insightful you were.

And I was pointing out how old I think you are and the fact you were gutless when you called me the C word. Maybe get back to talking footy. It may help your development.

The Fireman wrote:the AFL will own Etihad see how it goes then.
Spot on
This is so St Kilda.... think Tassie.... club does the hard yards to pay Etihad off for the league then makes a blundering stupid decision to leave just before AFL own it and they have a really good chance to argue for a cracking deal!!!!

G is for big boys - we ain't
Milk Etihad for what we can

Spot on
This is so St Kilda.... think Tassie.... club does the hard yards to pay Etihad off for the league then makes a blundering stupid decision to leave just before AFL own it and they have a really good chance to argue for a cracking deal!!!!

Depends how long it takes for the AFL to negotiate a deal to buy out the remaining 10 years left.

Every year that passes reduces the buyout figure, or they simply wait until 2025 and get it for $1.

How long to we wait? How long is a piece of string??!

we have done the hard yards with docklands (rather call it that) so maybe the AFL will recognize that and give us a sweet deal. The Docklands I reckon is the best stadium in the land for so many reasons.
The G has history that wont change but if I was given the option I would rather watch a game at docklands unless of course it's us going for the flag...I'll suffer the G :).

Spot on

Depends how long it takes for the AFL to negotiate a deal to buy out the remaining 10 years left.

Every year that passes reduces the buyout figure, or they simply wait until 2025 and get it for $1.

How long to we wait? How long is a piece of string??!
My hope is the string is in Mclauchlans(?) time..... he's a Saints man who at least understands the struggle I think
Reality is what choice do we have??
G ain't gonna come bending over frontwards for a team that struggles to get 30k to a game....
The strategy ought to be push for an early sale (apparently consortium who own it are warming to this with each passing year....). Then front of queue for a very good deal

The Fireman wrote:we have done the hard yards with docklands (rather call it that) so maybe the AFL will recognize that and give us a sweet deal. The Docklands I reckon is the best stadium in the land for so many reasons.
The G has history that wont change but if I was given the option I would rather watch a game at docklands unless of course it's us going for the flag...I'll suffer the G :).
I agree
Love Docklands - craps on G who while it has history is still an outdated concrete slab that's had a nice paint job to go with a bunch of tossers pretending to be elitist in green seats
Viewing the game alone Docklands kills G

The MCG is a shithole.

Hate it. No parking, hard to get to, freezing bloody cold, players a million miles away.

Bulldoz it and put a park there instead.

Can't believe we are comparing the two! Guess that's what forums are for!!

The G has it in spades!!

If I had the choice of dream home grounds it would be between the G and a boutique stadium like Moorabbin or similar...Etihad would not even rate a mention let alone be considered!!

And bunk - travel to the g too hard? Hope that's in jest - multiple trains at two stations (Richmond and jolimont) trams and car access beats the crap out of docklands which is truly a clusterfack to get to

Locals322

Redevloped Punt Road or Junction oval with 25 jammed in FTW.