How much of that $2.5B will come our way

What about each club gets $100m and the AFL keeps $700m for administration and development

Re: How much of that $2.5B will come our way

Toy Saint wrote:What about each club gets $100m and the AFL keeps $700m for administration and development

No because clubs would just waste it. Anyway the AFL probably will give us close to that much in the 6 years anyway. Actually probably more but it will be given yearly. Seems a good figure though. One game on 10 and 3.5 games on average on 7. All on Foxtel.

I suppose only a trickle will reach grass roots footy.............if past history is any guide.

I have no doubt more will have to be allocated to promote the game at primary school level just to maintain interest level....the days of just expecting kids to play Australian rules are gone.

Toy Saint wrote:What about each club gets $100m and the AFL keeps $700m for administration and development

No because clubs would just waste it. Anyway the AFL probably will give us close to that much in the 6 years anyway. Actually probably more but it will be given yearly. Seems a good figure though. One game on 10 and 3.5 games on average on 7. All on Foxtel.
So you're suggesting the AFL will probably give us $18m each year for 6 years?

Anybody got a copy of last years Annual Report showing P&L for the year, I doubt the AFL gives us anything like that (but sometimes I'm wrong)

How much do you think the Sydney teams will get?

Statsman

One good suggestion on the radio this evening was an early buy out of Etihad Stadium so that tenants like the Saints can get a better deal and in turn run more profitably without needing handouts.

"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates." - Earvin 'Magic' Johnson

Statsman wrote:One good suggestion on the radio this evening was an early buy out of Etihad Stadium so that tenants like the Saints can get a better deal and in turn run more profitably without needing handouts.

I think the AFL would be looking into it but if the handouts are less than the buy out figure they wont do it unless its bloody close.

I'm sure the Saints will at least get a couple of dim sims and a pack of chips with that windfall... just saying AFL normally don't look after us..

falka

Reckon they should have taken less money for fewer games. In the long run, each game is worth more (stakes are higher as each win / loss is crucial in say 18 rd season. PLay everyone once.
Just a thought.

Using some of the coin to buy out Etihad should be pretty high on the list. That would help us greatly.

All of it apparently

Statsman wrote:One good suggestion on the radio this evening was an early buy out of Etihad Stadium so that tenants like the Saints can get a better deal and in turn run more profitably without needing handouts.

I think the AFL would be looking into it but if the handouts are less than the buy out figure they wont do it unless its bloody close.
Also factor in the annoyance factor goes away when the AFL control Etihad. Lots of time and energy is wasted arguing with the idiots that own and run the stadium. Piss them off ASAP even if the deal is not as sweet as hoped for. The benefits are more than just financial.

Will the grand final be shown in HD????

Why don't they let Fox Footy transmits 7 broadcast of the grand final (even including 7's ads)? At least you would get a good picture.

Jacks Back wrote:Will the grand final be shown in HD????

Why don't they let Fox Footy transmits 7 broadcast of the grand final (even including 7's ads)? At least you would get a good picture.
Good question. Appears they finally will and it may start next year even!

http://m.afl.com.au/news/2015-08-18/afl ... ew-tv-deal

Grass roots footy needs looking after,country and suburbs

That's where the future comes from

chook23 wrote:I suppose only a trickle will reach grass roots footy.............if past history is any guide.

I have no doubt more will have to be allocated to promote the game at primary school level just to maintain interest level....the days of just expecting kids to play Australian rules are gone.
Forget drug scandals and booing THIS is the games issue right here
Its dying folks at junior levels - the connection (and societies demographics) are changing and that guarantee of locked in club fans is going with it
Soccer is the new football and the AFL better get busy at grass roots levels and be seriously inventive (re branding NAB Auskick in different colors aint gonna do it) to do it
So much under Dimwits previous reign was taken for granted and i think Gill has one massive job - he's trying to re connect with fans but it'll take more than a kick on the G after the game to do it.
I seriously hope they look to twighlight footy on sat more - trash this sunday arvo shyte at 5pm
we all know TV's the big bucks - but empty stadiums on TV dont look good

Should cost $10 a month IMO.

Foxtel can suck an egg.

the afl
f****** it up yet again

nothing new

chook23 wrote:I suppose only a trickle will reach grass roots footy.............if past history is any guide.

Forget drug scandals and booing THIS is the games issue right here
Its dying folks at junior levels - the connection (and societies demographics) are changing and that guarantee of locked in club fans is going with it
Soccer is the new football and the AFL better get busy at grass roots levels and be seriously inventive (re branding NAB Auskick in different colors aint gonna do it) to do it
So much under Dimwits previous reign was taken for granted and i think Gill has one massive job - he's trying to re connect with fans but it'll take more than a kick on the G after the game to do it.
I seriously hope they look to twighlight footy on sat more - trash this sunday arvo shyte at 5pm
we all know TV's the big bucks - but empty stadiums on TV dont look good

But soccer have empty stadiums and soccer give far less per person playing to grass roots level. The reasons soccer is getting more popular is iys safer and schools don't want to be sued because parents are getting softer. And even though you disagree and are wrong, women teachers find it ewasier to teach soccer. Paul Callery said this and 5 female teacher I know said the same. That carries more wait than you saying im wrong for no reason. Crowds don't keep the bottom clubs alive. 2.58 billion for TV rights does. Anyway crowds have stabilized since every game has been live. NRL have dripped 10% since most games were live. Seems we are still pretty popular but I do agree we need to get more money into schools even if it is the most of any comp and by a long way.

matrix wrote:the afl
f****** it up yet again

nothing new
2.58 bill is a F*** up?

Spare me.

Dont like Rupe and his pay TV, get AFL paypass.

$80 a year for every game and can watch any replay of any game up until Dec 31st.

Great value

f****** it up yet again

nothing new
2.58 bill is a F*** up?

Spare me.

$80 a year for every game and can watch any replay of any game up until Dec 31st.

Great value
On your phone PC or tablet but doesn't work on your TV in HD

f****** it up yet again

nothing new
2.58 bill is a F*** up?

Spare me.

Great value
I'd pay twice as much if I could watch it on my TV. I won't pay for Foxtel because the price isn't in proportion with the value I'd get from it (which is only watching footy).

f****** it up yet again

nothing new

What does that even mean?

IanRush

prwilkinson wrote:Using some of the coin to buy out Etihad should be pretty high on the list. That would help us greatly.
Can I ask how? Etihad is now a 12 month stadium, if the AFL buy it outright, it will only be used 6 months of the year. A-League and major concerts will be charged a fortune to use the stadium if AFL owned, not a good situation for Victoria economically if that happens.

My hunch is that Rupert has organised a defacto takeover of the AFL with this deal, watch out for more New Limited Execs influencing decisions at AFL HQ.

USELESS FACT: The WADA case against Essendon (in Sydney as well) is exactly 10 years to the day that Australia qualified for the 2006 FIFA World Cup.

Just wondering if they spoke to anyone else eg. Google or Apple for instance.

I would've preferred the same money but via online content

IanRush wrote:
prwilkinson wrote:Using some of the coin to buy out Etihad should be pretty high on the list. That would help us greatly.
Can I ask how? Etihad is now a 12 month stadium, if the AFL buy it outright, it will only be used 6 months of the year. A-League and major concerts will be charged a fortune to use the stadium if AFL owned, not a good situation for Victoria economically if that happens.

My hunch is that Rupert has organised a defacto takeover of the AFL with this deal, watch out for more New Limited Execs influencing decisions at AFL HQ.

Where do you come up with this stuff. Why would the soccer or concerts be charged a fortune? It would be no difference to the previous owners I would think. The AFL will need it used all year and I doubt they would run it anyway. A company that specialises in this sort of thing would surely run it. My hunch is im shocked you can get out of bed everyday with some of the crap you come with. Rupert? Seriously. Stop living in some fantasy conspiracy world for the sake of the children.