Dunstan

felix

Dunstan

Was visibly upset after the game.i wonder if it was just because we lost or something else. Any ideas .

Re: Dunstan

he took the snap that could have put us in front, maybe he feels he should have made it or he was berated for taking it if there was a better option (there wasnt any replays so hard to tell) so might feel guilty.

Probably just "doin' a Maxie".

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

He was running riot in that last quarter like a man possessed. Not sure what was going on but he was everywhere and his work in close was unbelievable.

The Recruit

Absolute star.
As I have said before will captain the saints one day.

Winmar

I'm not sold on him yet. However, I look forward to looking back on this comment down the track and realising how wrong I was!

Said my bit on here in another thread

For 3 qtrs he was a passenger

Possibly given a rocket at 3qtr time and pushed himself hard and was spent

Maybe feels a bit responsible?

Star?
He must get fitter, trimmer and better before he even becomes B Grade
He was OK for a first year
Stagnated second year
And is the same this year

He does OK but his lack of leg speed and kicking worries me.

He will hopefully improve

Was he crying? That does seems a bit weird over a h&a game. You don't know what is going on in peoples personal life though.

Dunny is always right in the hottest part of the kitchen making it really hard for the oppo to get clean take away. I reckon Richo loves his work there because that means he doesnt have to over-stack the midfield but can leave players ready on the spread for a counter attack. And he seems to be the main one of our youngsters that is driving his teammates to go to a new level. He's not happy with honorable losses.

Still better than Geary.

BigMart wrote:Said my bit on here in another thread

Star?
Stagnated second year

You're looking ridiculous now. The coach praised him today. And said he turned the tide against Collingwood in the 3rd qtr. Not bad for a 40 game player. He battles in the fiercest part of the kitchen against the biggest bodied brutal mids in the business and holds his own. He is a very driven player.

Star?
Stagnated second year

Crikey. What rubbish. "Has to improve to even be B grade'. Haven't seen you post one positive thing about today's effort Mart. Dunstan is crap, our good players are too old.....was there anything positive at all about today's effort?

satchmo wrote:Still better than Geary.
Satch!

satchmo wrote:Still better than Geary.
Satch!
:P

Dr Spaceman wrote:Probably just "doin' a Maxie".

What year was that? Does any one know?

Also, does anyone know why I the Tapatalk bit has come up in the quote?

Jacks Back wrote:
Dr Spaceman wrote:Probably just "doin' a Maxie".

What year was that? Does any one know?

Also, does anyone know why I the Tapatalk bit has come up in the quote?
Probably Pelchen.

My guess: round 1, 2001 against the dogs. Blight's first game as coach?

It was Tim Watson's last season around round 5 I think... 2000

Okay thanks for that.

elizabethr

Armo

nothing to say

Personally, I reckon Luke Dunstan is the most underrated and most over criticised player on our list. He's a third(?) year player, starting 18, in a (to this point at least) lower grade midfield with expectations that he should be the beast that carries it.

Add to that that he is more inside grunt ala a Lenny Hayes then an outside jet with elite disposal type and he can hide less behind his highlight reel unlike others.

His best though is amazing and I reckon his ceiling is much higher than a player like Sebastian Ross who most seem to think has overtaken Luke and in fairness is a lot more consistent.

I really the kid though
Last edited by skeptic on Mon 09 May 2016 12:09am, edited 1 time in total.

Star?
Stagnated second year

I note in the 'where the bloody well r ya' thread, you had other duties today, BM. Which is entirely reasonable.

Personally, I find watching games in 2 dimensions limits my ability to work out WinTF is actually happening - the 3rd dimension, depth, gives a whole different perspective.

To sum up, Dunstan is going OK, and he ain't the problem. We had a number of similarly sized players today who were monstered by the competitions oldest, but hard, list.

And, given what I saw today, from a bunch of hard, experienced players, on a list that has FA injury concerns, and has mastered all who have been dished up in 7 rounds, and we stuck in to the point where we had them stuffed, is they are NO chance to win games deep into September.

And, when they don't, you watch them fall off a very steep cliff.

skeptic wrote:Personally, I reckon Luke Dunstan is the most underrated and most over criticised player on our list. He's a third(?) year player, starting 18, in a (to this point at least) lower grade midfield with expectations that he should be the beast that carries it.

Add to that that he is more inside grunt ala a Lenny Hayes then an outside jet with elite disposal type and he can hide less behind his highlight reel unlike others.

His best though is amazing and I reckon his is much higher than a player like Sebastian Ross who most seem to think has overtaken Luke and in fairness is a lot more consistent.

I really the kid though
I'm with ya, Skeppers. Good quick hands in tight, good balance, strong through the core, decisive, doesn't fumble, better disposal than most in similar roles.

I'm bullish.

The Recruit wrote:Absolute star.
As I have said before will captain the saints one day.

Shouldn't like seeing a bloke cry and maybe it's just that he's exhausted but I'd like to think that - like Maxi - it's because he cares as much as we do.

Seriously

We were flogged around the footy for three quarters. He was one of 4 mids getting a bath. Problem is, he has been underwhelming in his output since the end of his first year.

This year he's played 6 games
He's had one solid game
3 very average games
2 poor games which had one very good quarter

Probably 4-6 good quarters out of 24.

Seriously
Again
He had 8 kicks on Sunday.

BigMart wrote:Seriously

We were flogged around the footy for three quarters. He was one of 4 mids getting a bath. Problem is, he has been underwhelming in his output since the end of his first year.

This year he's played 6 games
He's had one solid game
3 very average games
2 poor games which had one very good quarter

Probably 4-6 good quarters out of 24.

Seriously
Again
He had 8 kicks on Sunday.
Reminds me of what some were saying about Armitage before he built the body and got the elite fitness 2 years ago to exit the inside traffic battle (where quick hands and a strong body are essential) and get out into space and kick.

Luke will be every bit as good as Armo is now ... in 2 to 3 years.