Matthew Lloyd on StKilda

howlinwolf

Matthew Lloyd on StKilda

A bigger load of shyte I have never read !
How about your 10 drug cheating players are banned for life and we'll see how many E'dope win in the next five years.
Give it a rest. You are a flog Matthew.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/e ... pg41p.html

Robert Harvey's last home game. 24 Aug 2008
StKilda 13.17 def Adelaide 6.11
howlinwolf

Re: Matthew Lloyd on StKilda

To think this fool thinks "Enough is Enough" is a good headline !

I would think the general footballing public would have thought that headline may have been about his beloved drug cheating club.
Most peeps have had enough of the pathetic posturing they have employed.

I guess a club that comes up with a motto "Whatever It Takes" whilst in the midst of the greatest drug scandal in Australian sporting history is " In a good place" to be judging other clubs.

felix

Lloyd just stating the bleeding obvious ..the blow torch is coming ...we are not winning games ..nick carries us ...nothing shocking here.

howlinwolf

The shocking part is the duplicity !

We are not handed ANZAC Day clashes at the MCG because our drug taking players are like fallen ANZACS.

We are not handed Friday night games like last night that are a joke.

We are experiencing the typical roller coaster ride of a minnow club in a compromised competition.

The privileged big four don't have to ride that roller coaster. If they happen to be struggling they do "Whatever It Takes" as they are the important clubs and don't need to suffer the ignominy of the bottom of the ladder.

howlinwolf wrote:The shocking part is the duplicity !

We are not handed ANZAC Day clashes at the MCG because our drug taking players are like fallen ANZACS.

We are experiencing the typical roller coaster ride of a minnow club in a compromised competition.

The privileged big four don't have to ride that roller coaster. If they happen to be struggling they do "Whatever It Takes" as they are the important clubs and don't need to suffer the ignominy of the bottom of the ladder.
Absolutely.

Don't worry about lloyd though. This is the bloke that took Dal's head off with his elbow, and told the tribunal that it was due to him trying to play like Robert Harvey.

what is so offence or even incorrect about what he wrote?

Have we won 14/55?

did we get flogged by WC, Adel, GWS, Bull or not?

felix wrote:Lloyd just stating the bleeding obvious ..the blow torch is coming ...we are not winning games ..nick carries us ...nothing shocking here.
I agree. Whilst I don't care for Lloyd particularly, he has raised some important things, e.g. the reliance on Rooey. He at least put a positive spin on it saying the youngsters have a good opportunity to step up and prove they can take on some responsibility without him. He also was honest in giving a personal account from his playing days of Essendon becoming too reliant on Hird. I thought it was a fair comparison.

Lloyd also raised the importance of needing to win against some quality opposition this year. We're simply not up to snuff this year. Those crushing defeats against the Crows and WCE weren't encouraging in the least. Getting blown out of the water by quarter time is just unacceptable for any team. We don't want repeat performances like those.
Last edited by Sainternist on Sat 11 Jun 2016 8:48pm, edited 1 time in total.

I don't have a problem with the article, it seems pretty fair to me.

howlinwolf

BigMart wrote:what is so offence or even incorrect about what he wrote?

Have we won 14/55?

did we get flogged by WC, Adel, GWS, Bull or not?

What is wrong about it ?
Really ?

It is a grandstanding headlline to make a wage for himself.
It is obvious to nearly anybody the reasons we are up and down.

Memberships compared to the big four ?
Cash compared to the big four ?
AFL concessions like the big four ? ANZAC Day every year.
"
If it were us that had this drug cheating saga it would not have gone on for three years. We would have been bent over promptly and then said "thanks may I have another ?".

It's no coincidence the minnow clubs have the same roller coaster ride as we are having.

This is nothing unusual in a minnow club rebuild. But a great chance for a fool to criticize from an ivory tower.

I'll take my club any day over his.

howlinwolf

SydneySainter wrote:I don't have a problem with the article, it seems pretty fair to me.

If that is the case you'd be better off following one of the big four.

Then you can fairly ask "why is this happening to us ?"

You'll kill yourself with frustration following a club like ours when this is what is bound to happen given the system.

howlinwolf wrote:
SydneySainter wrote:I don't have a problem with the article, it seems pretty fair to me.

If that is the case you'd be better off following one of the big four.

Then you can fairly ask "why is this happening to us ?"

You'll kill yourself with frustration following a club like ours when this is what is bound to happen given the system.
Playing the victim card and constantly blaming the "system" gets us no where and only papers over the internal problems our club has.

The Dogs and Kangas are bound by the exact same limitations but obviously the footy gods have blessed them with a fairer hand?

I think it's a fair article. Fair questions I reckon. Four totally uncompetitive performances this year.

howlinwolf wrote:

<snip>.
how could you possibly think that they are gifted friday night games and that somehow "showcases" the Essendon Football club
getting belted by 100 points does not help a club

Velvet is right...

There's some truth in it unfortunately, but comparing us to teams who've been ordinary for 10+ years is unhelpful.

Maybe he just hates Carlton so much he is trying to fire us up for tomorrow?
Sunday's match against Carlton is a great opportunity for the Saints to win a game without their skipper. It will take the group out of their comfort zone and give the coaching staff a look to the future without their No.1 player.

As much as I hate to admit it, he's largely right.

Con Gorozidis wrote:Maybe he just hates Carlton so much he is trying to fire us up for tomorrow?
Sunday's match against Carlton is a great opportunity for the Saints to win a game without their skipper. It will take the group out of their comfort zone and give the coaching staff a look to the future without their No.1 player.
All Essendope fans and ex players would hate Carlscum as much or even more than us.

I'm sure if Richo thinks getting Lloyd into our rooms pre match for a pep talk would help then Lloyd would oblige. In fact I'd be happy for this to happen just for a different perspective and show the boys the heartfelt distaste Carlton leaves in the AFL family

Nothing offensive in that article, everything Lloyd said is exactly right. Its way past the time for Richo to show he can coach when under pressure and the whole club to stand as one!

good read

Con Gorozidis wrote:Maybe he just hates Carlton so much he is trying to fire us up for tomorrow?
All Essendope fans and ex players would hate Carlscum as much or even more than us.

I'm sure if Richo thinks getting Lloyd into our rooms pre match for a pep talk would help then Lloyd would oblige. In fact I'd be happy for this to happen just for a different perspective and show the boys the heartfelt distaste Carlton leaves in the AFL family
His dad played for Carlton. He may not love them but I doubt he hates them.

Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk

His dad played for Carlton. He may not love them but I doubt he hates them.

Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk
Good point. Lloyd probably hates the Hawks the most and then North 2nd. Bombers really hate North. I dont why. It is just how it is.

The Bombers have a superiority complex over the Saints. They dont hate us. They just consider us rabble. Same with the Blooz.

We have only won a dismal 24% of our games v the Blooz. We owe them plenty.

http://afltables.com/afl/teams/stkilda/overall_wl.html

Sadly if we get beaten badly tomorrow, Velvet will look like an expert!!

C'mon Sainters

howlinwolf wrote:A bigger load of shyte I have never read !
l
Perhaps read the article again.

Sadly most of it is the reality.

SainterK wrote:Velvet is right...
Yep. I laughed at the incongruous use of the word 'ferocious' in an article written by the Vevety One lol