Newnes....what is his role exactly?

I find Newnesy a funny one. He seems to play a pretty unaccountable role running the channel from half back to half forward. But in that role where he has a lot of freedom, I think he' should be more creative and play making than he is.

Almost 24 played 87 games so he's coming into that stage of needing to be someone who can really impact games. Averaging 22 possies which is good but I don't know how many of those are really damaging. He's not playing a direct lock down role so needs to be more of a play maker for us. I just don't know if he has the vision and creativity to really use the footy in a penetrating way.

I get the feeling that even Newnes doesn't quite know what his role exactly is - he seems to be play somewhere between a midfielder, a half back and a winger. Robeton seemed to thrive once he had a more defined role that just being a 'floater'.

Maybe its time to play to his strength and see what he can do as an out and out midfielder. I think he finishes in the top 3 of the preseason endurance tests so lets use that big tank and let him chase the ball around. We need another midfielder who can get a stack of the ball and I think Newnesy has the fitness to run flat out for 4 quarters, something only Steven seems able to do at the moment.

He strikes me as someone who could become a goal scoring midfielder as he has an eye for goal when he pushes forward and we need our mids to start hitting the scoreboard.

Re: Newnes....what is his role exactly?

I think he's a perfect example of our chronic lack of talent.

87 games!!

He's Ok. At best, he's handy. At worst, he'd not get a game anywhere other than Brisbane.

But for us, due to his effort he's one of the first picked every week.

We have quite a few young guys who have a dip. Not heaps, but a few. And now that they're approaching that 50-100 milestone, they're able to maintain that effort for longer. Which is why we're winning more games.

But of those guys, none are highly skilled. None are even really well skilled!

We can't rely on our solid structure and system to get us to the top. We need the same solid structure and system, but we need players who give 100% for 4 quarters AND are highly skilled also.

Roo and Jack are the only 2.

Sam Fisher is close.

The rest are battlers.

Note that Roo and his pathetic goal kicking nearly has him excluded from that group too.

Johnny, please give us a break!

Footballer, I think.
Definitely not a trainer, coach or admin staff.

One of my favourite players but was poor last night. Flat footed and on the rare occasion he did get the ball he kicked a mongrel straight in the air.

Johnny Member wrote:I think he's a perfect example of our chronic lack of talent.

87 games!!

He's Ok. At best, he's handy. At worst, he'd not get a game anywhere other than Brisbane.

We have quite a few young guys who have a dip. Not heaps, but a few. And now that they're approaching that 50-100 milestone, they're able to maintain that effort for longer. Which is why we're winning more games.

We can't rely on our solid structure and system to get us to the top. We need the same solid structure and system, but we need players who give 100% for 4 quarters AND are highly skilled also.

Sam Fisher is close.

The rest are battlers.
So we need another 20 good skilled players. Cool

Prolly the same role as his teammate Newness

Johnny Member wrote:I think he's a perfect example of our chronic lack of talent.

87 games!!

Sam Fisher is close.

The rest are battlers.
So we need another 20 good skilled players. Cool
Considering that Hawthorn have about 10 elite skilled players, and another 7 or 8 that are good - then yeah, we realistically need a list of skillful players that can also compete for 4 quarters.

We'll be trying to beat teams like GWS and the Gold Coast who are overflowing with highly skilled players in every position.

Wing

Good player

BigMart wrote:Wing

Good player

saintbob wrote:

Good player

+2

CQ SAINT wrote:
saintbob wrote:

Good player

+2
+3 potential skipper

freely wrote:
CQ SAINT wrote:
saintbob wrote:

Good player

+2
+3 potential skipper
This

freely wrote:
CQ SAINT wrote:
saintbob wrote:

Good player

+2
+3 potential skipper
He needs to become more than a 'good' player. 'Good' players will help us from 18th to 14th, and from 14th to possibly 7th or 8th - but that will be it.

Hopefully, next year as he approaches that 100 game mark he steps it up.

We need our 'good' players to become very good, and/or recruit very good players to the club.

We've seen lists such as Carlton's and Richmond's with 'good' players rise up the ladder and go back down just as quickly.

How do you rate Liam Shiels, Grant Birchall, Paul Puopolo, Ben McEvoy, Tim O'Brien, Ryan Schoenmakers

Nick Maxwell, Chris Dawes, Tyson Goldsack, Jarrid Blair, Brent McCaffer

Max Rooke, Shannon Byrnes, Cam Mooney, Mark Blake

All B Grade players at best

All Premiership player

To me Newnes is a typical AFL footballer... Not a gun, but not a GOP

The point has been missed.

Currently, Newnes is one of our best. If a 'good' player is one of your top 6 - you're not going anywhere.

And that's where we're at. It's not going to be good enough.

How I see him ranked in time ... Eventually

Steven
Free Agent/Trade we need a ripper
McCartin
Billings
Carlisle
Gresham
Ross
Hickey
Armitage
Acres
Newnes
Dunstan (surprised)
Weller
Membrey
McKenzie (big fan)
Bruce
Roberton
Goddard... Hard to assess ATM
White
Sinclair .... Could be much higher
Lonie
Webster
Templeton
Coughlin
Minchington
O Kearney
Rice
Pierce

Plenty of spare mids there... Good

Need a few more obviously.... But the fact you could throw a blanket over 10-18 and another 19-28 is good imo

Played on Ziebell & cut him out of the game.

A very good player and a big chance to be the next skipper.

87 games!!

Sam Fisher is close.

The rest are battlers.
Sorry but a garbage post

magnifisaint wrote:

87 games!!

Sam Fisher is close.

The rest are battlers.
Sorry but a garbage post
Who else do we have that gives 100% effort and intensity for 4 quarters, and is also highly skilled?

Just my view but I see Newnes eventually becoming Geary's replacement in the team, but a better skilled version.

Roo and Jack are the only 2

Billings has shown skill at times, not often enough though.
Gresham for a first year player has shown plenty of skill. He just needs experience and stamina.

borderbarry wrote:Roo and Jack are the only 2

Billings has shown skill at times, not often enough though.
Gresham for a first year player has shown plenty of skill. He just needs experience and stamina.

I agree .

So the next question is, do we have any young guys on the list that will fit that category in the future?

Billings, hopefully. McCartin, Gresham, Hickey, Bruce?

I can see others on our list getting better at effort over 4 quarters, but I can't really see any others that could/will be highly skilful also in time.

And therein lies the issue with the list. We just don't have the talent. I think we're currently looking at a bit of a false economy. We appear to be on the rise as a group, but I see clear limitations in talent that will restrict how far we can actually go.

We're going to have to find that talent externally.

The Recruit

87 games!!

Sam Fisher is close.

The rest are battlers.
This post is some of the worst drivel I have ever read. Simply no idea about football and what skill sets are needed to make up a football team. Utter garbage.