Channel 7 The Final Draw on now

lintonstreet

Channel 7 The Final Draw on now

Am watching now and reminded of when the filth booed Rooey at the GF Parade.
I was there and it disgusted me then and still disgusts me now.
Interesting to hear Lenny was also not impressed!

Re: Channel 7 The Final Draw on now

lintonstreet wrote:Am watching now and reminded of when the filth booed Rooey at the GF Parade.
I'm watching Skyfall.

I'm watching the sky fall....a second time..

moto gp for me
Night everyone ... up at 4

How unbelievable were Hayes/Goddard?
Only 1 honest Pie on that whole show - Pendkebury when he said
"That game goes another 10 minutes.... they probably lift the cup"

They were toast, we were threatening to go forward again
Quick kudos to Gramm - left his man, took the risk and didn't stuff it to stop them in their tracks

Teflon wrote:How unbelievable were Hayes/Goddard?
The two of them were unbelievable, especially the second half. It's one of the reasons I
could never boo Goddard once he left. Couldn't have done any more on that day than he did.
His goal to put us in front should have sealed it. I like to stop watching at that point and try to
believe the game ended there.

lintonstreet

Quick kudos to Gramm - left his man, took the risk and didn't stuff it to stop them in their tracks

Agree entirely.

Any more reasons for my deap seated dislike for Nick Maxwell came to the fore again. His is a head you just couldn't resist kicking should the opportunity arise. Johnson a smarmy Maxwell imitator.

Got the impression Nettlefold is still in denial that it was a bad idea to gift the players the night off. Malthouse showed his smarts at the function that evening.

BJ will always be a Saint at heart, no doubts after listening to him. Welcome back when your playing days are done BJ.

Thought Milney was terrific. Have to agree with Monty - had Milney been able to get his hands on that bloody recalcitrant bouncing ball could you imagine the gobbing-off he would have dished out on the Filth's cheer squad? Those arseholes are reason enough to keep barracking for the Saints. Our day will come.

All in all, very good doco.

There was a lot of emphasis on the difference in facilities. I always thought it had to make at least a few points difference.

lintonstreet

Trev from the Bush wrote:

Agree entirely.

Any more reasons for my deap seated dislike for Nick Maxwell came to the fore again. His is a head you just couldn't resist kicking should the opportunity arise. Johnson a smarmy Maxwell imitator.

Got the impression Nettlefold is still in denial that it was a bad idea to gift the players the night off. Malthouse showed his smarts at the function that evening.

BJ will always be a Saint at heart, no doubts after listening to him. Welcome back when your playing days are done BJ.

Thought Milney was terrific. Have to agree with Monty - had Milney been able to get his hands on that bloody recalcitrant bouncing ball could you imagine the gobbing-off he would have dished out on the Filth's cheer squad? Those arseholes are reason enough to keep barracking for the Saints. Our day will come.

All in all, very good doco.

Have never and will never watch a replay of or doco about the game, but what I remember most is BJ's mark and goal, Lenny's desperate kick, that bloody bounce for Milne, and that epic break and gamble by Gram.

ctqs

Teflon wrote: Any more reasons for my deap seated dislike for Nick Maxwell came to the fore again. His is a head you just couldn't resist kicking should the opportunity arise. Johnson a smarmy Maxwell imitator.
Someone at the Saints told me that during the last quarter of the replay, when the game was all but over, there was a number of Filth players running around sledging our boys about how crap we were and how we'd lost another one, till Maxwell ran over to those doing it and told them to shut up, show respect to the opposition, and just play the game out.

I must say hearing that did change my opinion of him.

Still waiting for closure ... if you get my drift.
lintonstreet

ctqs wrote:
Teflon wrote: Any more reasons for my deap seated dislike for Nick Maxwell came to the fore again. His is a head you just couldn't resist kicking should the opportunity arise. Johnson a smarmy Maxwell imitator.
Someone at the Saints told me that during the last quarter of the replay, when the game was all but over, there was a number of Filth players running around sledging our boys about how crap we were and how we'd lost another one, till Maxwell ran over to those doing it and told them to shut up, show respect to the opposition, and just play the game out.

I must say hearing that did change my opinion of him.
Nice to hear.
Disgraceful to sledge after the game all but over.
Cant wait to beat them next year.

Theyre just A SCUM club lets face it
Magyuire looked like a stuck Irish pig on the show all red and bloated attempting to portray the magpies as the 'battlers overcoming a curse that had come back...'

utter flog.

lintonstreet wrote:
Nice to hear.
Disgraceful to sledge after the game all but over.
Cant wait to beat them next year.
one of the best docos on footy history I have ever watched and for the sooky lalahs you missed something special
The raw emotion laid bare of the players - there was no snide arrogance shown by any of the collingwood people so you have to respect that
Goddard still irks me as the figjam of the century dissing Lenny Hayes receiving the Norm Smith "I dont give a s*** - Norm Smith medal what does that mean - I thought I probably played alright"

I still dont think that a extra time would have swung it our way - it would have come down to luck and thats no way to win a GF
What I did realise was the burden of losing another one was lifted off the pies - and next week it showed.
We as RL observed on the sunday training after the game were cooked.

lintonstreet wrote:Am watching now and reminded of when the filth booed Rooey at the GF Parade.
This is why no one likes them, they really are the lowest of the low...it was no surprise to me, that's what they are. I remember the Vic Park days vividly.......scum.

Am still deeply affected losing to them and could never watch that.

The Fireman wrote:

then as i said you missed out on hearing the Saints players thoughts and feelings direct from their mouths of that moment in footy history

lefty

Would of liked them to get Ball's thoughts after the siren went. They missed that in the doco...

He royally screwed us going to them... really wanted to see what he felt.

The vibe I saw after the game was not of celebration, but more-so was torn.

To me, it felt like a win in his mind, but not satisfying for the heart.

Deep down he knew he had some responsibility for the outcome of that game and shouldn't have left.

Also glad they highlighted the f'wits disrespect when Roo tried to speak.

asaint

Will they replay the doco?

grand final eve i think 7.30 7mate

No one has mentioned this..

http://www.mso.com.au/whats-on/2016-sea ... -symphony/

'The draw - a symphony', on last week, anyone go see it?

sunsaint wrote:
The Fireman wrote:

then as i said you missed out on hearing the Saints players thoughts and feelings direct from their mouths of that moment in footy history
Believe me when I tell you that I don't get the feeling of having missed out.

markp wrote:No one has mentioned this..

http://www.mso.com.au/whats-on/2016-sea ... -symphony/

'The draw - a symphony', on last week, anyone go see it?
I started a post on it about a month ago: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=91586&p=1634270&hil ... y#p1634270

Sawf

The Fireman wrote:
sunsaint wrote:
The Fireman wrote:

Believe me when I tell you that I don't get the feeling of having missed out.
Living overseas, I didn't realise that this documentary was on, but coincidentally watched the last 2 minutes on YouTube yesterday for the very first time since being at the ground that day - and I don't remember too much about it then, as my heart was about to jump out of my chest...

Anyway, those 2 minutes were more than enough to bring back that horrible empty feeling which I don't think I'll be able to shake until we actually win one, so The Fireman, I completely understand where you're coming from!

On a side note, that free kick to Heath Shaw with 1:26 to go was soft as...

asaint wrote:Will they replay the doco?
You can watch a stream of it on youtube or here: https://au.tv.yahoo.com/plus7/the-final ... p-special/