Player numbers

Whoever the marketing genius that decided to put a rainbow pattern on our players' numbers should be shot, as it was nearly impossibly to read them.

PS - to that same marketing genius - smoke doesn't work in an enclosed stadium!

Re: Player numbers

Enrico_Misso wrote: Sun 10 Jun 2018 2:25amPS - to that same marketing genius - smoke doesn't work in an enclosed stadium!
I wanted to smoke a joint after that first quarter. Perhaps it would have helped me to see the numbers on the players' backs more clearly.

numbers look awful but it could be worse - we could have had our three stripes changed to a rainbow front.

I wish the f****** club would get its head out of its collective arse and concentrate on the actual football.

It’s so Australian doing that with the numbers and the smoke under a closed roof.

We are the lucky country, but rarely the clever country.

Our convict genes pervade for centuries it seems, the good ‘uns stayed in Britain.

saintspremiers wrote: Sun 10 Jun 2018 1:03pm It’s so Australian doing that with the numbers and the smoke under a closed roof.

Our convict genes pervade for centuries it seems, the good ‘uns stayed in Britain.
Are you serious, for real? I hope that's a joke mate as it is the most insulting post I have ever read on this forum.

Looked terrible,lets just get back to normal jumpers each week,and concentrate on the footy

chico2001

Nah saynta, I got accused of having the worst post on this forum.....was called a "racist pig" so I hold the forum title for most insulting post. Dont underrate me.

chico2001 wrote: Sun 10 Jun 2018 1:09pm Nah saynta, I got accused of having the worst post on this forum.....was called a "racist pig" so I hold the forum title for most insulting post. Dont underrate me.
Wel, some nobody WA guy in lycra called me a homophobic racist Kunt and bigred called me a flog for sticking up for myself.

Insults flow freely here.

Difficult forum at times mate.

Don't recall the thread where you were called a racist pig though.

Funny isn't it how racists are the first to tag others with that label.

bergsone wrote: Sun 10 Jun 2018 1:09pm Looked terrible,lets just get back to normal jumpers each week,and concentrate on the footy
We've played s*** football in jumpers with normal numbers all year.

derby Street

saynta wrote: Sun 10 Jun 2018 1:05pm
saintspremiers wrote: Sun 10 Jun 2018 1:03pm It’s so Australian doing that with the numbers and the smoke under a closed roof.

Are you serious, for real? I hope that's a joke mate as it is the most insulting post I have ever read on this forum.
Saynta I think you need to rethink that comment :) lol

kosifantutti wrote: Sun 10 Jun 2018 2:32pm
bergsone wrote: Sun 10 Jun 2018 1:09pm Looked terrible,lets just get back to normal jumpers each week,and concentrate on the footy
But at least you can make out the numbers,on the normal jumpers,helps you make out who is playing shithouse

Some brutal truth in this statement. Of course, most true blue dinky-di galahs would deny it, but they know deep down that it is all part of the Aussie charm and quirk.

8bloggs

Maybe obscuring the numbers with the colours was a pre-emptive ploy as they knew before hand how badly they would play.

Touché KFT

Saintly66

Sainternist wrote: Sun 10 Jun 2018 4:33pm

Some brutal truth in this statement. Of course, most true blue dinky-di galahs would deny it, but they know deep down that it is all part of the Aussie charm and quirk.
When it comes down to our doctors and medical advancements we’re one of the very best countries in the world.
When it comes to common sense stuff and (just an example) the fact that people in this country love getting gouged price wise and only kick up a fuss when it’s too late probably shows why the other places in the world think we’re backwards lol.

bergsone wrote: Sun 10 Jun 2018 3:42pm
But at least you can make out the numbers,on the normal jumpers,helps you make out who is playing shithouse
I think the players helped out in that regard on Saturday by all playing equally as badly.

i reckon over the last generation england has more than replaced the bad uns that came here with much worse.

Maybe some of you old timers should get your prescriptions checked, was a non issue for me.

The smoke inside was a bit silly though.

Well said. It’s what makes ours a great country - we have a bit of spunk about us.

Anyone who has travelled around Europe can easily notice the higher quality of people generally - smarter, more refined etc. Only issue is that doesn’t often translate to personality!

saintspremiers wrote: Sun 10 Jun 2018 11:38pm

Well said. It’s what makes ours a great country - we have a bit of spunk about us.

Anyone who has travelled around Europe can easily notice the higher quality of people generally - smarter, more refined etc. Only issue is that doesn’t often translate to personality!
Australia is still one of the best joints on Earth and full of mostly good people. A very minor few miss out, but its probably due to their own laziness more than anything and it being a generational issue. Sure, there are heaps of ferals here too, but they are a minority also and just don't want to play the game for some reason.

At least the Euro's aren't killing eachother much anymore. A couple of WW's and the holocaust probably played a part in that. And yes, they are more cultured but they have had centuries of practice at it compared to Aus.

Australia is close to being one of the biggest success stories in the history of mankind.

Player numbers (extract from coaches notes)
1. Get ball

2. use ball
(fine print)
2a by foot (see 2c)
2b by hand (see 2c)
2c bugger, user error, loop back to 1

3. score goals (redundancy feature in case 2c affected by random chance)

Its often the fine print that causes problems.

Didn't love the rainbow numbers on Sandy's jumper either...

From the feedback on the VFL thread it's cost Billings, Wright and Freeman some positive feedback from me ;)