Cyril Rioli retires!!!!!

All the best to Cyril and he's family, been a champion of the game and a pleasure to watch!!!!!

The 'Last Post', it's the gift that keeps giving πŸ“―πŸ“―πŸ“―πŸ“―πŸ“―

Re: Cyril Rioli retires!!!!!

stonecold wrote: ↑Wed 04 Jul 2018 11:21am All the best to Cyril and he's family, been a champion of the game and a pleasure to watch!!!!!
Concur completely. I'm waiting for the fools to say that he's overated and wasn't that good. His record speaks for itself. Winner of the rising star award in 08, a Norm Smith medal and 4 flags

Shame. He’s only 28, but it’s blody hard to get Aboriginal footballers to even come to Melbourne in the first place so it’s a top effort.

Moods wrote: ↑Wed 04 Jul 2018 11:49am
stonecold wrote: ↑Wed 04 Jul 2018 11:21am All the best to Cyril and he's family, been a champion of the game and a pleasure to watch!!!!!
Concur completely. I'm waiting for the fools to say that he's overated and wasn't that good. His record speaks for itself. Winner of the rising star award in 08, a Norm Smith medal and 4 flags
I'll say it. His highlights were incredible, but he wasn't a consistent performer, both through injury and form. His best was as good as anyone, but he only delivered it on a monthly basis at best.

His numbers of 15 touches and 1.4 goals are game are a touch misleading, as the quality of ball use was always high, but they are almost identical our own Jade Gresham. Let's hope Gresh can produce the same highlights and on a more regular basis. The flags would be nice too.

And while Cyril was very good in 2008, Rhys Palmer was the 2008 Rising Star.

I hope having a different view doesn't make me a fool.

Big game player though.

Champion player, and ripping bloke as well.

Ducking out early?

Beno88 wrote: ↑Wed 04 Jul 2018 12:32pm
Moods wrote: ↑Wed 04 Jul 2018 11:49am
I'll say it. His highlights were incredible, but he wasn't a consistent performer, both through injury and form. His best was as good as anyone, but he only delivered it on a monthly basis at best.

His numbers of 15 touches and 1.4 goals are game are a touch misleading, as the quality of ball use was always high, but they are almost identical our own Jade Gresham. Let's hope Gresh can produce the same highlights and on a more regular basis. The flags would be nice too.

And while Cyril was very good in 2008, Rhys Palmer was the 2008 Rising Star.

I hope having a different view doesn't make me a fool.
I'm afraid it does :lol:

In all seriousness, how can you say he wasn't a consistent performer? You don't make 3 x AA teams through sporadic performances. The only thing that held him back was injuries. For a small fwd his defensive pressure was incredible. As good as anyone who has played the game. Not just his brilliant tackling buut his ability to pressure and rush his opponents which doesn't get on the stat sheets. And whilst those stats you quoted weren't bad at all. What they don't include is the unbelievable amount of tap ons that created goals, and the amount of goals that came from absolutely nothing. Comparing Jade's stats to Cyril's is very misleading. Whilst I rate Jade very highly, I reckon we would be incredibly happy if Jade turned into the player that Cyril was

ss1986

Adam Schneider had very similar statistics....

15 touches, 4 tackles and a goal a game. 5 Grand Finals and a Premiership medallion.

This horsesh*t about Cyril being one of the best of all time is embarrassing.

ss1986 wrote: ↑Wed 04 Jul 2018 4:50pm Adam Schneider had very similar statistics....

15 touches, 4 tackles and a goal a game. 5 Grand Finals and a Premiership medallion.

What is embarrassing, is your post. To you.

He was a gun. But hugely overrated.

rodgerfox wrote: ↑Wed 04 Jul 2018 5:36pm He was a gun. But hugely overrated.
Guys who perform on the 'big stage' are never overrated!!!!!

Cyril did that, so can not be overrated!!!!!

Isn't that a contradiction. He was a gun, but overrated.????

Liam
4 hours ago

WHAT WAS CYRIL’S BEST MOMENT?

Jon Anderson

IN terms of influencing the game from within his small pocket of the ground, Cyril β€œJunior” Rioli might just be the best there ever was.

If you doubt that, then revisit the third quarter of the 2008 Grand Final when the 19-year-old from the Tiwi Islands took on two of Geelong’s best contested ball players in Max Rooke and Corey Enright.

Appropriately it was on the MCC members’ wing, where the greats from Alex Jesaulenko to Robbie Flower have created their own magic over the journey.

Full story: https://bit.ly/2NnIh3y

stonecold wrote: ↑Wed 04 Jul 2018 5:49pm
Guys who perform on the 'big stage' are never overrated!!!!!

Cyril did that, so can not be overrated!!!!!

I actually think his GF performances were very overrated also.

I think he was the perfect fit in that team, because they had every other base covered in terms of talent, toughness and experience - so getting 10-15 touches most weeks was the icing on top of their cake. In isolation though, his performances were good-really good. Not great though.

He had freakish ability, but at a different club I reckon he'd have been thought of as somewhat of an underachiever when comparing his ability to his output.

Moods wrote: ↑Wed 04 Jul 2018 6:01pm
I rate him as a gun.

But I don't rate him as one of the greats of the game. Others do.
A quick glimpse at the news and he's being described as the best player of the modern era, and compared to Picasso!

Therefore, I.think he's being overrated.

rodgerfox wrote: ↑Wed 04 Jul 2018 6:11pm
I rate him as a gun.

But I don't rate him as one of the greats of the game. Others do.
A quick glimpse at the news and he's being described as the best player of the modern era, and compared to Picasso!

Therefore, I.think he's being overrated.
He was f****** good all the same. I was really pissed when we overlooked him for that ungainly, at the time, McEvoy. Really pissed.

More pissed actually when the dorks ended up with both of them.

sort of agree with rogerfox. great player and any team would love him, but not up there with your harvey, judd, voss, types who deserve the accolade of champion.

ss1986 wrote: ↑Wed 04 Jul 2018 4:50pm Adam Schneider had very similar statistics....

Whitefellas don't count. You should know that.

<warning for racist commentary>

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08

That can happen if you use the wrong ammunition.

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08

Perfect example of possies being overrated in some cases, not every one needs to touch the ball heaps to have an impact on the game!!!!!

Well done Cyril, true champion of the game!!!!!

ace wrote: ↑Wed 04 Jul 2018 6:48pm

Remind me please how many All Australians did Schneider achieve? How many finals or big games did Adam play where he was among our best players? How many acts of brilliance have we witnessed from Adam? How many times did Adam change the momentum of play and the outcome of a game? I can remember thinking Adam cost us a few games, but I don't remember Cyril costing his team too many

The basis for racism imo is that people from one culture think that they are superior to people from a different culture. Problem with that theory if you want to apply it for football ability between 'whitefella' versus aboriginal or indigenous blood players, is that there are a greater number of whitefella players but most of them don't hold a candle to most of the indigenous fellas when it cames to playing aussie rules. Adam Schneider was GOP as apposee to Cyril who was a star

So try as hard as you want to apply your general racism attitude to AFL and whites versus indigenous players and it doesn't work. That's why the number of indigenous players is growing. They only make up a small percentage of the population but they make a significant percentage of the total number of players getting onto a senior list in AFL. Facts. Anyhow, thought you might want to know why your racism doesn't work when it comes to footy, but you should know that

Scollop wrote: ↑Wed 04 Jul 2018 7:13pm

Remind me please how many All Australians did Schneider achieve? How many finals or big games did Adam play where he was among our best players? How many acts of brilliance have we witnessed from Adam? How many times did Adam change the momentum of play and the outcome of a game? I can remember thinking Adam cost us a few games, but I don't remember Cyril costing his team too many

The basis for racism imo is that people from one culture think that they are superior to people from a different culture. Problem with that theory if you want to apply it for football ability between 'whitefella' versus aboriginal or indigenous blood players, is that there are a greater number of whitefella players but most of them don't hold a candle to most of the indigenous fellas when it cames to playing aussie rules. Adam Schneider was GOP as apposee to Cyril who was a star

So try as hard as you want to apply your general racism attitude to AFL and whites versus indigenous players and it doesn't work. That's why the number of indigenous players is growing. They only make up a small percentage of the population but they make a significant percentage of the total number of players getting onto a senior list in AFL. Facts. Anyhow, thought you might want to know why your racism doesn't work when it comes to footy, but you should know that
2% of the populalation but 9% of the AFL.
I love watching our indigenous players display their skills. All of them.

And Cyril was one of the best.

Scollop wrote: ↑Wed 04 Jul 2018 7:13pm

How many clutch goals did Adam miss in big games?????

Cyril didn't miss many!!!!!

4 premiership medals, overrated? As we know at St Kilda the MCG on grand final day is the best place to hide overrated players.