King on Carlisle

https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/ ... ac4cac3ef3

'JAKE CARLISLE WILL BE A BUST #YOUJUSTWATCH'

JAKE Carlisle had a torrid start to his time at St Kilda, leading some pundits to write him off.

But the former Bomber, who has dealt with injury, a missed training session on his second day at the club, an infamous Las Vegas video and a 12-month suspension following the supplements saga has won over his St Kilda teammates.

And he told aflplayers.com.au he used a Tweet from football personality David King as motivation.

King Tweeted in 2015 'Jake Carlisle will be a bust. #youwatch'

Carlisle sees that Tweet in his locker every day after printing it off and laminating it.

“I put it up there to inspire me to play better,” Carlisle said.

“I’m not going to bite back, I’m just going to play good footy and lead this backline.”

Carlisle, currently out with a punctured lung, opened up on his career and said he wouldn't change a thing.

“People often ask if I regret anything that has happened, but I never regret anything because it makes me better for it," he said.

"I’ve learnt a lot from my mistakes."

King is a know all know nothing knob, AFAIC. :twisted:

Re: King on Carlisle

Bloody great piece. Carlisle has been a very good pickup and he will get better.

King is a bogan wanker full of BS. Good half back flanker though.

saynta wrote: Tue 10 Jul 2018 5:33pm “...lead this backline.”
Interesting choice of words, I would have thought the captain would lead the backline.

Unless he was talking about leading them in terms of being the best player down back.

the dome

Carlisle

Sometimes our recruiters spot the goods.
The more I see of Carlisle the more comfortable I feel with him in the back line.
I know another Saints supporter who wishes we had a 2nd. Carlisle so we could play him up front.
So there you go he is appreciated no doubt since making the move to Moorabbin.
Whatever you're doing Jake keep doing it.

Remember Kings quote on the trade:
Saints paid overs for Carslile #6.
Couldn't comprehend Carslile & Gresham for the pick.

One of our best trades in the past 25 years, Carslile & Gresham for #6 8-)

Not often I agree with JB or comment on his posts, but he is 100% spot on here.

saynta wrote: Tue 10 Jul 2018 7:26pm Not often I agree with JB or comment on his posts, but he is 100% spot on here.
Haha, I had better edit it :wink:

Might have to thank David King in serving to help motivate Jake to play better for us.

Joffa Burns wrote: Tue 10 Jul 2018 7:23pm Remember Kings quote on the trade:

Although we got a couple of good gifts from The Swannies, Dempster and Schneider, for the bargain basement price of Pick 28.

StPeter

I was sceptical when we first picked him up and what followed in the next 12 months or so but now I think it is one of the best trades we have done.

I now believe he is the most valuable player we have on our list.

As bad as this year has been, could you imagine how we’d be going if we had Francis instead of Gresh and Carlisle??

King is a drop kick and a fool.

http://m.saints.com.au/news/2018-07-10/ ... _104962378

Interesting and inspiring stuff. Good read.

StPeter wrote: Tue 10 Jul 2018 10:23pm I was sceptical when we first picked him up and what followed in the next 12 months or so but now I think it is one of the best trades we have done.

I now believe he is the most valuable player we have on our list.

King got it wrong. So what? He’s paid for his opinion. Gets it wrong enough they’ll sack him. In the meantime he’s motivated one of our key players.

Sometimes I reckon bad press is a godsend. These players are prone to thinking the world revolves around them.

Moods wrote: Wed 11 Jul 2018 12:10am King got it wrong. So what? He’s paid for his opinion. Gets it wrong enough they’ll sack him. In the meantime he’s motivated one of our key players.

Sometimes I reckon bad press is a godsend. These players are prone to thinking the world revolves around them.
yep

Football 'personality'! :D

saintbob wrote: Tue 10 Jul 2018 10:22pm

Although we got a couple of good gifts from The Swannies, Dempster and Schneider, for the bargain basement price of Pick 28.
yep bobby, that was a great trade and shinner was a pretty good set of steak knives.

Carslile was worth pick 5 on his own.

Gresh was worth pick 5 on his own.

SaintPav wrote: Thu 12 Jul 2018 6:44pm Carslile was worth pick 5 on his own.

Gresh was worth pick 5 on his own.
Just being pedantic, but it was eventually pick #6 - who Essendon used on Aaron Francis.

King is the king of monumentally stupid calls. Every year he makes a fool of himself and people enjoy watching at fool at work.
If he wasn't such an idiot I’d think it was deliberate.

King needs to be called out more often on his moronic Shyte opinions
He’s a cabbage