What happens when the bombers put us to the sword?

I’m thinking this week presents a 50+ Point loss once again

How does Richo keep surviving these maulings? What will be the spin from the club?

When will this chemist warehouse dude take control??!!

Re: What happens when the bombers put us to the sword?

MC Gusto wrote: Mon 06 Aug 2018 10:28am I’m thinking this week presents a 50+ Point loss once again

How does Richo keep surviving these maulings? What will be the spin from the club?

Nothing will happen, just the same s**t will be peddled by the club - "we're not going to scapegoat Richo, we need to put the mechanisms in place to allow him to succeed because coincidently they weren't already there, the players just need to start lifting, look at Buckley and Hardwick, we're a destination club, we'll net a big fish at season's end, blah blah."

If Bombers put us to sword sadly we are being told it doesn’t matter
Lethlean “review” scope clearly excludes Richardson - that’s now very clear so there will be no change
The playing group will cop it (rightfully so) even though the coach told us all this is a top 4 bound list.....go figure
Joke

at the start of the season all Saint supporters would have been looking forward to this game...now most dread it... a sign of how backwards we have gone ?

The club is run from the top by a bunch of gutless marshmallows who wont accept that they have driven this club up sh*t creek.

spert wrote: Mon 06 Aug 2018 10:39am The club is run from the top by a bunch of gutless marshmallows who wont accept that they have driven this club up sh*t creek.
The big end of town who run these million dollar operations rarely do. They pocket their big salaries, burn millions of dollars of club/company, run the organisation into the ground, then run while they can to next executive role they get handed.

Apparently because we're not technically a "business" it doesn't really matter. It's a license to burn AFL cash.

SydneySainter wrote: Mon 06 Aug 2018 10:33am
MC Gusto wrote: Mon 06 Aug 2018 10:28am I’m thinking this week presents a 50+ Point loss once again

Nothing will happen, just the same s**t will be peddled by the club - "we're not going to scapegoat Richo, we need to put the mechanisms in place to allow him to succeed because coincidently they weren't already there, the players just need to start lifting, look at Buckley and Hardwick, we're a destination club, we'll net a big fish at season's end, blah blah."
Unfortunately, this is exactly what will happen. Along with cardboard blah blah blah from Richardson about an opportunity to come back strongly.

They will give us a right touch up.
I fkn hate Essendon.

**** you St.Kilda.

"Yeah g'day saints fans, look another really disappointing effort tonight, there's no doubt about it… I thought we applied ourselves well early on, were really strong in the contest… but just couldn't take our chances when we had them and you can't afford to do that against quality sides like the bombers. The players really let the fans down on a friday night and they know that, but they're not dropping their heads.

Our inability to shut down their run and drive off half back really hurt us at times, I thought Saad and McKenna were nearly best on ground today and Goddard was a real general.

But look we'll learn from that, and work really hard on the track and hopefully can get the job done next week, we're really looking forward to the challenge that Hawthorn presents.

Some pleasing things were Mav coming back in and being really strong around the contest, I thought Browny was terrific despite giving up 5 goals - his work rate was a real positive.

We also got the chance to implement a few new tactics that we think will hold us in good stead going forward, Gears was enormous as loose man, 25 kicks is a real bonus for him, we tried Blake in a back pocket and Armo was really aggressive at full forward. Lonie and Sinclair were well beaten in the ruck, but Bellchambers is a terrific competitor, so they'll learn from that.

We feel like the 97 point final margin doesn't accurately reflect the pressure we put on them at times, but 5 goals from 65 inside 50 entries is never going to win you games of footy."
Last edited by dragit on Mon 06 Aug 2018 12:38pm, edited 1 time in total.

dragit wrote: Mon 06 Aug 2018 11:57am "Yeah g'day saints fan, look another really disappointing effort tonight, there's no doubt about it… I thought we applied ourselves well early on, were really strong in the contest… but just couldn't take our chances when we had them and you can't afford to do that against quality sides like the bombers. The players really let the fans down on a friday night and they know that, but they're not dropping their heads.

Our inability to shut down their run and drive off half back really hurt us at times, I thought Saad and McKenna were nearly best on ground today and Goddard was a real general.

But look we'll learn from that, and work really hard on the track and hopefully can get the job done next week, we're really looking forward to the challenge that Hawthorn presents.

Some pleasing things were Mav coming back in and being really strong around the contest, I thought Browny was terrific despite giving up 5 goals - his work rate was a real positive.

We also got the chance to implement a few new tactics that we think will hold us in good stead going forward, Gears was enormous as loose man, 25 kicks is a real bonus for him, we tried Blake in a back pocket and Armo was really aggressive at full forward. Lonie and Sinclair were well beaten in the ruck, but Bellchambers is a terrific competitor, so they'll learn from that.

We feel like the 97 point final margin doesn't accurately reflect the pressure we put on them at times, but 5 goals from 65 inside 50 entries is never going to win you games of footy."
LOL. Good one Dragit.

dragit wrote: Mon 06 Aug 2018 11:57am "Yeah g'day saints fan, look another really disappointing effort tonight, there's no doubt about it… I thought we applied ourselves well early on, were really strong in the contest… but just couldn't take our chances when we had them and you can't afford to do that against quality sides like the bombers. The players really let the fans down on a friday night and they know that, but they're not dropping their heads.

Classic !
Sadly very accurate ...and could be written now a week out...

bozza1980

It really isn't that difficult to understand is it?

The club has decided, rightly or wrongly, that they haven't surrounded Richo with the right people nor given him the proper resources. They have said they will rectify this for next season. They have also gone to the unprecedented step of even taking blame for the mess the team finds itself in, suggesting it is the clubs and not Richo's fault for the current predictament.

I don't understand why anybody would still be speculating about his future. The only way the club could be any clearer is if they said, "whinge all you want - richo's our man".

He is our coach for 2019, regardless of whether the supporter group wants him or not.

Life is very short and there's no time for fussing and fighting my friends.

bozza1980 wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 10:22am It really isn't that difficult to understand is it?

The club has decided, rightly or wrongly, that they haven't surrounded Richo with the right people nor given him the proper resources. They have said they will rectify this for next season. They have also gone to the unprecedented step of even taking blame for the mess the team finds itself in, suggesting it is the clubs and not Richo's fault for the current predictament.

I don't understand why anybody would still be speculating about his future. The only way the club could be any clearer is if they said, "whinge all you want - richo's our man".

He is our coach for 2019, regardless of whether the supporter group wants him or not.
Yeap, that's it in a Nutshell!!!!!

I can give you some of the script for the next game, purely from watching all our games this season:
1. Centre corridor left totally undefended for the entire game (consistency by Richo), all Saints run to one side of the pack, exposing the corridor side enabling Essendon to get the ball from boundary stoppages then move it into the corridor for some easy overlaps and a goal
2. Ball goes into our forward line, ball goes to ground while Bomber defenders easily run out due to zero pressure from half forwards who are all playing from behind and not putting head over ball. Our third best ground level onballer in 201cm Hickey is out, so problems here.
3. Geary gets clear at half back, runs through the corridor, passes ball beautifully by foot to Bomber half back, while Saint forward is streaming to goal
4. Bomber backman has 40 possessions due to no Saint being within 10 metres of him all game
5. Saint midfielder gets possession, sees one teammate surrounded by three Bombers, while two teammates are in the clear calling for the ball, so gives quick handball to the covered player who is not expecting it, and provides turnover.
6. Saint midfield disappears from game for 10 minutes in second and third quarters- Bombers kick easy goals, game over.

Must be easy to coach against us

bozza1980 wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 10:22am It really isn't that difficult to understand is it?

What if there is a membership revolt and our numbers drop 7K in one year?

That’s bloody costly isn’t it?

Most of us have had a gutful. If they do the right thing by everyone and cut Richo lose now we may be able to find a good replacement that can actually sell a future.

Stick with numbnuts for 2019 and we just go nowhere for a year

Our only hope to then arrest a membership spiral is getting a few gun FA’s and some shrewd trading - getting in some known names to steady the ship.

Bring back our trading of the early naughties - we need multiple big impact trades!

I can't see the point of this thread.

We've been crap in heaps of games this year. Why invent a new one to get upset over?

If we win on the other hand....

If we lose we stay on 18 pts

chico2001

Be a tough ask. Note that Essendon is probably where we should be,and they have a top centre half forward out who is proven ( daniher) contested mark and goalkicker. They went out and recruited 3 good players although Stringer is a bit iffy but Smith will win their B&F and Saad is playing well. They have speed to burn and some good key position players. This is what the saints have to do, forget copying Richmond and Collingwood they are powerhouse destination clubs,look at how Essendon did it and get some genuine speedy players with skill and not on 5 year big money contracts. They will probably win 12 games this year but the proviso is....we havent got a Worsfold.

And we'll probably beat Essendon which will be ridiculous

Hope we beat the farking pack of scum cheats

chico2001

haha, that cheating thing is probably over now. They have had a reasonable clean out of whoever was cheating........I think.

A win over them would be the saints best win for the year.

dragit wrote: Mon 06 Aug 2018 11:57am "Yeah g'day saints fans, look another really disappointing effort tonight, there's no doubt about it… I thought we applied ourselves well early on, were really strong in the contest… but just couldn't take our chances when we had them and you can't afford to do that against quality sides like the bombers. The players really let the fans down on a friday night and they know that, but they're not dropping their heads.

Pleasing :lol:

axcellence

The funny thing will be when 2019 rolls around and the emperor will be butt naked!

It will truly be time then.

derby Street

spert wrote: Wed 08 Aug 2018 11:08am I can give you some of the script for the next game, purely from watching all our games this season:
1. Centre corridor left totally undefended for the entire game (consistency by Richo), all Saints run to one side of the pack, exposing the corridor side enabling Essendon to get the ball from boundary stoppages then move it into the corridor for some easy overlaps and a goal
2. Ball goes into our forward line, ball goes to ground while Bomber defenders easily run out due to zero pressure from half forwards who are all playing from behind and not putting head over ball. Our third best ground level onballer in 201cm Hickey is out, so problems here.
3. Geary gets clear at half back, runs through the corridor, passes ball beautifully by foot to Bomber half back, while Saint forward is streaming to goal
4. Bomber backman has 40 possessions due to no Saint being within 10 metres of him all game
5. Saint midfielder gets possession, sees one teammate surrounded by three Bombers, while two teammates are in the clear calling for the ball, so gives quick handball to the covered player who is not expecting it, and provides turnover.
6. Saint midfield disappears from game for 10 minutes in second and third quarters- Bombers kick easy goals, game over.

Must be easy to coach against us
4. That would be Saad doing a Johannsen on us!