Goddard. We interested?

Was a great player for us and the Bombers. He's still shopping around for another club

Re: Goddard. We interested?

No, he f***ed off now he can f*** off.

saynta wrote: Thu 25 Oct 2018 3:45pm No, he f***ed off now he can f*** off.
Understand the sentiment. Not for us, not now. Collingwood is his best chance, possibly GC.

He can replace Lade in a couple of years, if Lenny will have him 😉

As assistant coach maybe.
Would just take up the spot for Coffield or D Mac to develop.

Gee whiz. He left during the reign of Scott Watters, who according to most on here was the
bastard son of Inspector Clouseau and the AntiChrist.

Cut him some slack. For a team in desperate need of a shake-up he might be just what
the doctor ordered. And he'd cost nothing. Plus his association with the Saints means
we'd get more value-for-money out of him than other clubs.

We should be. Would be very healing to all involved and our coach when he left was even more clueless than the current model.

This is an intersting one. His postion doesn't match a list need so it makes it tough. Also I'm guessing there would be questions marks over his leadership style so for a club that is in the process of trying to get improvement in that area maybe only proven performers need apply.

He was a Saints man, lost his way after the GF losses, does he still have a sweet spot for the club? If he does maybe that accounts for something and I'm a firm believer a key attribute of successful clubs is encouraging past clubmen to continue to participate.

Crossy66

His onfield leadership and direction is Just what we need very smart footballer and will harden them up. 1 year would do it maybe play 12 - 15 games

fugazi wrote: Thu 25 Oct 2018 4:20pm As assistant coach maybe.
Would just take up the spot for Coffield or D Mac to develop.
Toally agree in a coaching or development role only!

Suns will pick him up and whack him at full forward to replace Lynch. A forty to fifty goal spearhead I reckon, even at this stage. What he lacks in pace (let's be honest, he never was quick) he makes up for in footy smarts. Always been a very clever player.

Also, wouldn't put it past Carlton to go there. They always coveted him
Last edited by bigcarl on Thu 25 Oct 2018 10:18pm, edited 1 time in total.

f*** he would do his block so bad playing under Richo.

All he would be doing is point at blokes all day.

I love BJ, he was heroic in the '09 & '10 GFs, but we're not in need of half backs. Sure he'd bring leadership, but that's why we've brought Hannebery in.

Should have been made captain after 2010 GF

We are now a Goddard free zone.

chico2001

Gee, that's nice....club star for many years and your dogging him.....well done

From the psychology side of it I’d say yes because he does love the Saints and we have a “soul vacuum” at present, and even though he’s cranky, I think he would be accepted and even respected. Plus he gives us a bit of continuity that might help outside the club. For on field day don’t have any idea. Carey said he was just a linkman but still figured he had value. But who would be missing out on valuable game time? Or would any game time with BJ on the field be a bonus that offset the lost minutes over the course of a year. Has he said he eve wants to coach?

bigred wrote: Thu 25 Oct 2018 9:46pm f*** he would do his block so bad playing under Richo.

All he would be doing is point at blokes all day.
ROFL

shyte , let’s get him so I can see this is action.

It would be full on WWE in the dressing rooms at half time.

I doubt Richo would survive, but would make compulsory TV viewing if shown live.

No

resaintlee

I would love to see him at FF for the Suns. He could express his leadership right through the team and have them all 'roaring to have a go'.

Aussie Jonestown

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

ST KILDA concedes it didn't know the full extent of prized recruit Dan Hannebery's struggles with his body when it traded for him.
Saintly66

Bowey Boy wrote: Thu 25 Oct 2018 7:53pm We should be. Would be very healing to all involved and our coach when he left was even more clueless than the current model.
“If it wasn’t for Watters he’d still be there” straight from his old mans mouth.
Now I’m expecting to get shot down by people because I’m not a god professing figure like the “ITKs” on here ;)

Watters was a fair dinkum flog.

I don’t shy ☺️ away from that.

Let's clear this up
Senior players revolted against Watters
BJG chose to leave those players

List clogger - NO

Yes we should be. Why not? If we are supposedly lacking in on field leadership, have him as well as Hannebery, especially if BJ doesn't cost us anything in terms of draft picks. If one of them gets injured (which is highly likely) then the other guy fills in. I think he will always feel more passion for the Saints rather than the Bummers and as others have mentioned he may be good as an assistant down the track

Also, wrong decision to get rid of him 5 years ago but obviously salary cap issues meant club's hands were tied.

On a side note...I heard Roo talk about the circumstances leading up to the decision to trade Dal and BJ and Roo reckons the club should have asked ALL the guys on big coin to take pay cuts. Roo said last year or earlier this year on Foxfooty that the club didn't approach the players with a proposal to renogotiate contracts and hence BJ departed and the club decided to do a full rebuild.

I was thinking that it was a cop out from him (as the captain of the club) because if he was genuinely interested in keeping BJ then why didn't Roo find a solution, take the initiative by personally taking a hefty pay cut and encourage the core group to stay together by following his lead?!!

It's difficult for the sycopahants to ever see things objectively or from a different perspective but lessons need to be learned from the hero worship and adulation of individuals be they coaches/players that has held back team success in the last 50 years

chico2001 wrote: Fri 26 Oct 2018 9:05pm
Gee, that's nice....club star for many years and your dogging him.....well done
Don't mention it. :wink: