McCartin

Rocket

McCartin

What’s the latest?

Seems to have dropped out of current conversations around injured Saints. Didn’t hear him mentioned over weekend. I think the silence is telling us all that it’s close to the end ? Very sad.

If he isn’t gone he isn’t far away.

twirlyhair

Re: McCartin

The latest I heard (last week) is that he not training and still showing symptoms. I just can't see how he could continue. So very sad for him. He is a top bloke who doesn't deserve this.

Bruce G McAbee

I believed that he was one concussion away from being retired.
I can't see how in any good conscious play him again.
Just hope there is no long term damage.

Think of me long enough to make a memory.

Strictly my opinion but I think it would be best for all parties if he retired.

For Paddy 100%. He’s just getting too many concussions and it’s hard to imagine that that changes st this point.

For the club, I just don’t think that he’s the right type of player structurally. He just doesn’t have the flexibility you want.
One certainly couldn’t play a second ruck with Paddyvalso in the team. Really it’s btw him and Bruce and Bruce is better.

Not sure Paddy would be in the best 22 ATM.

The forwards push a long way up then have to work hard to get back and not sure Paddy has the run in him.

Disagree.

Easily in our best 22 - both Bruce and Membrey had very little impact because we needed that 2nd KPP forward.

That said we had a couple of "small forwards" off the pace as well.

Marshall pushing forward late confirmed to me how much McCartin and the structure he gives us is being missed.

Hopefully he is soon pushing to resume his AFL career.

Medical matters are a separate issue - as we see with Roberton who remains on our List, Carlisle's surgery, Hannebury, Jack, King and Bytel.

Dmac has also had a few.

No way he can play again, can’t see any situation where it could happen.

The risks of further damage from concussions, and corked arses, is too high.

tony74 wrote: Mon 15 Apr 2019 6:38pm Dmac has also had a few.
Not good mate.

True that.

I don't think the club can afford the insurance premiums to allow him to play again.

The legal vultures are queuing up to sue the AFL and all the clubs out of existence.
The AFL has simply not done enough to stop concussion prone players from continuing.
Unfortunately those executive failures responsible will have retired with multi millions in their bank accounts come the day of reckoning.

I reckon he is done.
I also reckon one or more people at the club know he is done - but they are trying to delay the process of officially making an announcement because of the potential to bring the group down .
The club is on a high at the moment - and lets be honest its a very fragile confidence - and probably one big loss away from it all being wiped away. The more wins we can get on the board early in the season, the more resilient our group will become.
So we continue to put Paddy through testing.
If our season falls in a heap, and/or our finals chances are gone, his retirement will be announced.

Zed wrote: Mon 15 Apr 2019 9:07pm I reckon he is done.
I also reckon one or more people at the club know he is done - but they are trying to delay the process of officially making an announcement because of the potential to bring the group down .
The club is on a high at the moment - and lets be honest its a very fragile confidence - and probably one big loss away from it all being wiped away. The more wins we can get on the board early in the season, the more resilient our group will become.
So we continue to put Paddy through testing.
If our season falls in a heap, and/or our finals chances are gone, his retirement will be announced.
I suspect Zed has it on the money. If such an innocuous hit (in the arse according to some) leads to such a long time recovering then no responsible club could possibly send him out again, UNLESS he and his family indemnify all concerned by accepting any risk/consequence to follow. Whether this is legally possible is no doubt why he is still to either play or retire.

the invisible and the non existent look very much alike

Mc Cartin remains on our List - as does Roberton

The lad’s ambitions including a career in AFL football are what they are - and as this stage we could assume he still wishes an AFL career

No doubt he is working with the Club and specialist services to achieve his ambitions

There are no guarantees in life

Look at Phillip Hughes - and Neil Sachse and Robert Rose

Look at those racked with mobility issues due to injury

Look at jockeys - protected by only a helmet and there are fatalities, still

The legal issue is resolved by waivers - not arbitrary

Individuals accept risk

If we did not accept risk we would never leave our homes

Whilst Mc Cartin remains on our List we trust that he can achieve what is obviously his ambition

guitars4

Wish both of them all the best in whatever they do after football .

No chance for Paddy now.

GilsAuPair

Rozee is an absolute freak so I am guessing the club knew Paddy was a huge risk so went for King as back-up key fwd.
If Paddy was a sure thing we probably would have gone for Rozee.
Just my opinion.

To the top wrote: Mon 15 Apr 2019 9:17pm Mc Cartin remains on our List - as does Roberton

The lad’s ambitions including a career in AFL football are what they are ...................

The legal issue is resolved by waivers - not arbitrary

Individuals accept risk

If we did not accept risk we would never leave our homes

Whilst Mc Cartin remains on our List we trust that he can achieve what is obviously his ambition
Why are we repeatedly told you cannot waive your fundamental rights? An employer has a "duty of care", are you convinced that an employee by simply signing a waiver can indemnify the employer?
I am sure that legal opinions either way are currently being sought.
Paddy will lose- he cannot play again.
The club is exposed enough for a Slater and Gordon compo payment. Take the hit and say goodbye!

the invisible and the non existent look very much alike

I'm more than prepared to let the Medical staff take as long as it needs to, in order to (A) get this young man on the road to full health (diabetes notwithstanding) (B) If humanly possible, get him back out on the paddock..... but priority A remains my choice.

Very disappointing for Paddy and for St Kilda, but it's hard not to criticize our recruiters.

When Bart Cummings went to the yearling sales he selected the healthiest young horses with the best confirmation and scope. We've deliberately selected an overweight diabetic as 1st choice in all of the country. Then this year we've picked up a banged-up older player for a big price, a giant lanky kid with a crook knee, and another with chronic back problems. Not something Bart would do.

A waiver won't protect an employer from negligent behaviour.

Would the Saints be negligent if they played Paddy again and he got another knock,that contributed to long term damage? That is the question.

Viscount Jeremiah

I have the feeling he really doesn't want to give it away but is going to be forced that way. It's quite sad

Viscount Jeremiah

Toy Saint wrote: Tue 16 Apr 2019 8:52pm Very disappointing for Paddy and for St Kilda, but it's hard not to criticize our recruiters.

When Bart Cummings went to the yearling sales he selected the healthiest young horses with the best confirmation and scope. We've deliberately selected an overweight diabetic as 1st choice in all of the country. Then this year we've picked up a banged-up older player for a big price, a giant lanky kid with a crook knee, and another with chronic back problems. Not something Bart would do.
His diabetes have not been the problem though.

He may not have had a body ready for AFL but few key forwards do when they start. He was looking in great shape this pre-season

twirlyhair

Toy Saint wrote: Tue 16 Apr 2019 8:52pm Very disappointing for Paddy and for St Kilda, but it's hard not to criticize our recruiters.

Yeah King is going to be s***. It's as clear as day. 🙄

Whatever happens, let's hope Paddy is looked after by the AFL and Saints if he retires. Tony Brown, from all accounts, does a fantastic job looking after the players on the welfare side.