The Flux Report: Rodger homeward bound round.

AeonFlux

The Flux Report: Rodger homeward bound round.

The week’s analysis committee.
- Same as last week, except for James.
- And we have yet another Catherine. There are apparently quite a few of them. But as long as she/they keep bringing the takeaway, then all’s good. Vegan this week.
- Simon is still missing. Still troll hunting in Norway. Someone needs to tell him he’s too late. Everyone’s favourite Whispering Norwegian is back in Oz. :D
- Lazar’s presence was missed. (See Catherine.)
- We hoped that Logan could join us too, but seems it’s that time of the month again, and he's a bit agitated.
- Izzy F was another late withdrawal. The word is that he’s camping out.

Stuff to like:
- Great win back at The Linton Lodger Stadium! :D
- The undermanned defence held up again. And how good is Callum Wilkie!!! :shock: Again!!!
- The midfield really put in. (Seb’ re-found his ‘concentration’.)
- The Marshall! Played against his best opponents so far, and played his best game. It’s like having.................................you know..........................an extra player out there.
Loved it when he stuffed things up slightly, allowing his opponent to grab him, as we were coming forward early in the second. Solution. Just threw the tackler off, and continued with the transition play. We’ve been seeing this for a while now. Marshall is now growing in confidence. We’ll see him pull more and more tricks out of the hat. (Like ‘that’ pick up, and then the Gary Wilson style over the shoulder handball to Lonie to goal from.)
- Billings! If there was no such thing as a Bont', we'd all be singing his praises, big time. He's closing the gap though. Big time. Reckon those who called him soft might have to have a rethink too.
- Paddy didn’t get concussed (we think............................?)
- Lonie! Stuck a tackle! :shock: More than once! :shock: :shock: :shock: Has really improved since late last year. Now, if Linton Lodger can just also sort out Little Jack Lonie’s kicking on goal....................................................we have ourselves a ‘player’. (Which would probably then mean that Izzy wants him to repent.)
- MacKenzie looked better.
- BAcres was better!!!!!! !!!!!
- Sinclair looked a lot better. Seemed far more urgent and determined.
- Clark, H. - see Sinclair. Clarke, F.F.S. may have to wait another week.
- Paton looked comfortable.
- Orange Roughy, Cigar, that bloke who used to play for us, Nash, Henderson......... yet, we didn’t see too many forward 50 marks from these blokes.............. Brown. When will the love be felt???

Stuff to love:
Probably the best thing though, is that after falling 26 points behind early in the third, we didn't fold like a house of cards, as has been the norm. :D

Stuff to still biatch about:
Now, if we could just do something about our delivery inside 50! And get marking forwards to bloody spread! And get a third marking forward in there! (Hint, Battle is wasted in defence. Second hint, Battle can actually kick straight on goal.) Otherwise it’ll be more of this when we going into our forward 50........................................

Even Whispering Teds is becoming a tad frustrated by the bomb.
whisperingteds wrote: Mon 15 Apr 2019 7:57pmNo, you're completely wrong!
Only Alan orders his troops to bomb it long to the hot spot. He apparently invented it! No other club or their players do it! :roll: :roll: :roll:
Scollop wrote: Mon 15 Apr 2019 8:05pmRevelation: Richo works out after being head coach at St Kilda for a full five years that fitness is important
The_Dud wrote: Mon 15 Apr 2019 8:10pmWould be nice to have a coach who could devise a gameplan of moving the ball out of D50, down the ground and into F50 that didn’t mostly consist of ‘bomb and hope’. OR at least pick a team that bombing long works well with, and not rely on the likes of Lonie and Long continually flying against 2 defenders.

I’m pretty sure you pay the coach to come up with more than “oh well, they’ve been doing that for 25 years”. Believe it or not there is a way to move the ball intelligently into the forward 50.
The above ass sessments are from Lazar's thought-provoking 'Time To Get Up' thread.
(Nice sentiment, though orange probably isn’t your best colour Lazar. :wink: )

Opposition player to bag:
Sure, he’s a pretty decent player, but he’d have to be the greatest ever, to even partially begin to justify that ridiculous 1920’s pornstar wannabe moustache. James Wobble. That must have been one hell of a bet that you lost there mate.
Image :roll:

Don’t forget:
Callum Wilkie can also play forward and on the ball.

Don’t forget 2:
Once this bloke gets his fitness up to AFL level, pencil in another absolute steal.

Get up time:
<the definite article deleted by mods> choaching. Four rounds in. Four very tight hard fought games. 3-1 our way. This is beyond all expectations. (Other than Whispering Ted’s.)

Flipping the coin to look at the other side. We’re still bombing long to contests that aren’t skewed to our advantage. We’re still kicking very poorly on goal. We could just as easily be an unlucky 1-3, not our way.

But put simply, four rounds in, it should be 4-zip, each a 5-6 goal win...................our way.
That’s a realistic assessment of <the definite article deleted by mods> choaching to date!!!!!!!!! !!!!!

So maybe if Grubby Allan could do his job a bit better and keep <the definite article deleted by mods> Cho out of coaches’ box???????

Grubby taking <the definite article deleted by mods> Cho to the museum whilst the adults ran training last week was a good start.

(Grubby and <the definite article deleted by mods> Cho? Still not sure which is which? :? )

So what has changed? Here’s what Rooey said after speaking with twirly
twirlyhair wrote: Mon 15 Apr 2019 10:37am According to Roo

"They have completely overhauled their game plan in the off-season. They were number one last year in play-on from a mark and they’re number 18 this year.

“They were number 18 last year in the corridor, long kicks down the line, this year they’re number one.

“What they’ve done is they’ve simplified their game plan, they’ve identified that they don’t have great kicks coming out of the back half, particularly without Dylan Roberton and Jake Carlisle

"They have just simplified it. We’re not going to take huge risks coming out of the backline because if we do and we turn it over, which we did a lot last year, we’re going to get exposed."

“They’re defensively playing really strong footy and they’re a good contest team so they’re playing to their strengths and getting results.”
Sounds pretty fair too. Our undermanned defence has been the consistent positive each week. Not the mids. Not the forwards. Ratten...........? Lade........?

Looks more like, someone is finally listening to.............................Henry Playfair. :idea: :idea: :idea:
Linton Lodger wrote: Mon 15 Apr 2019 3:34pmNo one's mentioning Playfair. He's in charge of defence and our defence has been awesome.
(And it’s a good bet Billy S’s input has been welcomed too.)

Finals?:
CARNTHESAINTS wrote: Sun 14 Apr 2019 8:52pm hey boys i'm new to the thread and I know its early but I want to talk about our finals run.

Round 5 melbourne - winnable
round 6 adelaide at home - I reckon we should win since the kangas bet them quite easily.
round 7 gws over there - wont win
round 8 west coast at home- will most likely lose
round 9 collingwoood- probably lose could win
round 10 crapton- win
round 11 port in china- winnable
round 12 bye
round 13 gold coast over there- definitely winnable
round 14 brissy at home- should win since at home
round 15 richmond - probs lose
round 16 norf at tassie winnable
round 17 geelong in geelong - lose
round 18 doggies- winnable
round 19 melbourne winnable
round 20 addelaid over there - probs lose
round 21 dockers at home - should win
round 22 carlton- should win
round 23 sydney over there - probs lose

out of all those games there are 11 winnable games and if we win most of them including maybe a upset we could end up with 12- 15 wins which means should make finals. I know it's early.
Objectively, lets call it Win: 7, Robbed by the scumpires: 7, Almost robbed by the scumpires (Draw): 4.
So splitting the draws, that’s Win: 9, robbed by the scumpires: 9.
We’re currently Win: 3, robbed by the scumpires: 1, so tallying up, that’s leave us end of the year at Win: 12, robbed: 10.
Last season aside, 12 wins generally gets you in. But an expected non-stellar percentage could be a hindrance. (We create the opportunities, but we simply don’t kick straight enough to finish with a large percentage.)
Conclusion: Whispering Teds could be right. Finals are a chance. (Not so sure though re Paddy for the Coleman, Teds. :lol: )

INS/OUTS:
Louey or Lazar to help the Marshall next week against Gone and Prudence!!!!!!!! !!!!!
Or at the very least, bring in Joyce, so Battle can go back forward (not an oxymoron). Then we do lots of bizarre second ruck rotations, sacrificing taps for the net result of an extra on-baller and an extra marking forward.
Gears’ in for the concussed MacKenzie.
Hind for Kent. No wait up. Next week we play Kents old mob the Melbourne Bitter tankards. Can’t drop him from that!!!!!! !!! Besides, The Axe Handle’s mate wants Kent in. (Sorry Teds.)

Badger’s something:
Still don’t know what the means, but suspect it relates to the poor bugger who has to make way for Louey or Lazar.
Hind. (Sorry Teds.)

Thoughts, Johnny?

Thoughts, Saintsationalists?

ReMembering:
Image Image Image Image

----- Rodger ------- Nymeria ------- BakesFan ----------- Aaron
HarryM wrote: Nope never heard of them :roll:

Re: The Flux Report: Rodger homeward bound round.

Good stuff. Loved it

From what I saw of Marsh against Box Hill he might need more than just superior fitness, although that is always the best starting point for confidence - leading to improvement in skills and decision making

Entertaining read.

I wish I understood what a lot of it meant.

Catherine, Norway, Louey, James etc?

I think that maybe Dave McNamara should put his long term mission of returning the Saints to the Junction on hold and engage in a short term mission to bring Plugger back to Moorabbin.

Fly the big fella down from NSW once a week to do some goalkicking with the boys and give them a stern look when they miss. The fact that he's working with Buddy in Sydney is an outrage (and probably why Buddy has learned to take an overhead mark occasionally).

Start the campaign Dave.

s***, that Callum Wilkie can play. Maybe we should try and sign him up. :wink: :wink: :D :D :) :) :) 8-)

barneyboyz

Linton Lodger wrote: Wed 17 Apr 2019 11:53am I think that maybe Dave McNamara should put his long term mission of returning the Saints to the Junction on hold and engage in a short term mission to bring Plugger back to Moorabbin.

Fly the big fella down from NSW once a week to do some goalkicking with the boys and give them a stern look when they miss. The fact that he's working with Buddy in Sydney is an outrage (and probably why Buddy has learned to take an overhead mark occasionally).

Start the campaign Dave.
One definitely has to wonder what Plugger could offer Buddy? Never in any of his millions of goals did Plugger ever walk off a straight line when kicking a goal. They even had to change the rules to suit Buddy ffs. Having said that, he could do a lot of work with the rest of them :)

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink:
AeonFlux

Joffa Burns wrote: Tue 16 Apr 2019 8:05am Entertaining read.

Thank you for your feedback Joffa. :)

- Louey, is Louey Pierce. (Who btw can also play key forward or key back. :idea: )
- Norway refers to the fact that Whispering Norwegian Ted is actually, Norwegian. Not an ancient Greek philosopher. (Refers to the both Simon's real world occupation, and the movie 'Troll Hunter'. This is why Simon is currently 'looking' for Teds in Norway. :wink: )
- Catherine(s). She/they has/have been identified by takeaway as comprising a significant demographic of the Saintsational community.
- James is just a bloke with anger management issues. Though this is somewhat understandable given the cruel hand life has dealt him. No longer a 'rich-lister', but still a South Australian. :mrgreen:

From another thread, one of our own is being cagey about his true identity. Still going through the tapes, but so far have this.
stonecold wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 8:00pm I've played the game, been involved at the level and still play, what about you?????
'We' know who you are. No need to be so modest Lazar. :D

PS: Am feeling a bit bored. Have your Saudi mates currently got any 'contract work' they want executed? :wink:

ReMembering:
Image Image Image Image

----- Rodger ------- Nymeria ------- BakesFan ----------- Aaron
HarryM wrote: Nope never heard of them :roll:

AeonFlux wrote: Wed 17 Apr 2019 11:19pm
Joffa Burns wrote: Tue 16 Apr 2019 8:05am Entertaining read.

Thank you for your feedback Joffa. :)

- Louey, is Louey Pierce. (Who btw can also play key forward or key back. :idea: )
- Norway refers to the fact that Whispering Norwegian Ted is actually, Norwegian. Not an ancient Greek philosopher. (Refers to the both Simon's real world occupation, and the movie 'Troll Hunter'. This is why Simon is currently 'looking' for Teds in Norway. :wink: )
- Catherine(s). She/they has/have been identified by takeaway as comprising a significant demographic of the Saintsational community.
- James is just a bloke with anger management issues. Though this is somewhat understandable given the cruel hand life has dealt him. No longer a 'rich-lister', but still a South Australian. :mrgreen:

From another thread, one of our own is being cagey about his true identity. Still going through the tapes, but so far have this.
stonecold wrote: Sun 05 Aug 2018 8:00pm I've played the game, been involved at the level and still play, what about you?????
'We' know who you are. No need to be so modest Lazar. :D

PS: Am feeling a bit bored. Have your Saudi mates currently got any 'contract work' they want executed? :wink:
Ask Bluthy!!!!!