2011 FIXture ? !!

ChicagoSaint

God knows how it's all going to work with the Bye, but as far as compensation goes I reckon we'll get home games against Geelong, Collingwood, Carlton, Hawthorn and Essendon.

ChicagoSaint wrote:So, playing Geelong (Away) at the G in Round 1.
Any thoughts on who we may get for Round 2 at Etihad Eastern?
Would love for it to be Essendon on the Saturday Night (our home game). We'll have to wait another 24 hours !!

ChicagoSaint wrote:God knows how it's all going to work with the Bye, but as far as compensation goes I reckon we'll get home games against Geelong, Collingwood, Carlton, Hawthorn and Essendon.
Our Sponsorship & Marketing Departments will be praying that you are correct !!

ChicagoSaint

ChicagoSaint wrote:So, playing Geelong (Away) at the G in Round 1.
Any thoughts on who we may get for Round 2 at Etihad Eastern?
Would love for it to be Essendon on the Saturday Night (our home game). We'll have to wait another 24 hours !!
Very likely IMHO You could be right about that.

Here is my speculation:
They would like the fact that we had a draw with Hawthorn so I expect that we'll get them earlier than previously, and twice.

Essendon have had the wood on us but what does that mean? Does it mean that we may only meet them the once? Not likely, we'll get them twice for sure and certain, and once early.

They would be loath to give us Freo twice IMHO. We have dominated them in recent years and they need the emergence of Freo for viability.

Dogs. Dogs don't want us twice and nor do the AFL. I reckon we may only get them the once in 2011. May only get Sydney the once aswell. Likewise they'd be looking to protect WCE, GCS and BL in keeping them safe from too much harm. They are, or are close to some of your one-shot specials IMHO with the inclusion of Freo and notably NMFC.

Carlton is a supposed blockbuster against the Saints. Pencil it in that we'll get the Blues twice and possibly one very early.

Which brings us to Melbourne, Adelaide, Port Adelaide and Richmond.

Assuming we play Geelong, Collingwood, Hawthorn, Essendon and Carlton twice (once at home) and with Bye. that leaves us playing Melbourne, Adelaide, Port Adelaide and Richmond just the once.

I still haven't ironed-out the creases but I'm getting there.

Like you Eastern, I have a fixation with the Fixture :lol:

Playing Essendon twice (both at Etihad) also helps the AFL and their contractual obligations with Etihad Stadium !!

ChicagoSaint

Eastern wrote:Playing Essendon twice (both at Etihad) also helps the AFL and their contractual obligations with Etihad Stadium !!
good point that :wink:

yeah we'll see a split, a division along lines of youth and development playing each other and a seperated league for the big guns of which we have become one.

saintsrus

Leaked.................
Cant guarantee accuracy but what else is there to talk about ;)

St. Kilda
RD DATE OPPONENT VENUE HOME/AWAY LOCAL TIME NETWORK
1 Friday, March 25 Geelong Cats MCG Away 7:40pm SEVEN
2 Friday, April 1 Richmond MCG Home 7:40pm SEVEN
3 Sunday, April 10 Essendon Etihad Stadium Home 4:40pm FOX
4 Bye
5 Thursday, April 21 Brisbane Lions Gabba Away 7:40pm SEVEN
6 Saturday, April 30 Adelaide Crows AAMI Stadium Away 7:10pm TEN
7 Monday, May 9 Carlton Etihad Stadium Home 7:20pm TEN
8 Sunday, May 15 Hawthorn MCG Away 1:10pm FOX
9 Saturday, May 21 Melbourne Etihad Stadium Home 2:10pm TEN
10 Saturday, May 28 Fremantle Patersons Stadium Away 1:10pm TEN
11 Saturday, June 4 Collingwood MCG Away 7:10pm TEN
12 Friday, June 10 Western Bulldogs Etihad Stadium Home 7:40pm SEVEN
13 Saturday, June 18 Geelong Cats MCG Home 7:10pm TEN
14 Bye
15 Sunday, July 3 North Melbourne Etihad Stadium Away 4:40pm FOX
16 Sunday, July 10 Port Adelaide AAMI Stadium Away 2:40pm SEVEN
17 Saturday, July 16 West Coast Eagles Etihad Stadium Home 7:10pm FOX
18 Friday, July 22 Adelaide Crows Etihad Stadium Home 7:40pm SEVEN
19 Saturday, July 30 Gold Coast Suns Gold Coast Stadium Away 7:10pm FOX
20 Friday, August 5 Fremantle Etihad Stadium Home 7:40pm SEVEN
21 Friday, August 12 Collingwood Etihad Stadium Home 7:40pm SEVEN
22 Sunday, August 21 Sydney Swans ANZ Stadium Away 1:10pm FOX
23 Saturday, August 27 North Melbourne Etihad Stadium Home 7:10pm TEN
24 TBC Carlton MCG Away TBC TBC
St. Kilda
Matches by timeslot
TIMESLOT TOTAL MATCHES HOME MATCHES AWAY MATCHES
Saturday afternoon 2 1 1
Sunday afternoon 1 0 1
Sunday early 2 0 2
Monday afternoon 0 0 0
Tuesday afternoon 0 0 0
DAY 5 1 4
Thursday night 1 0 1
Friday night 6 5 1
Saturday twilight 0 0 0
Saturday night 6 3 3
Sunday twilight 2 1 1
Monday night 1 1 0
NIGHT 16 10 6
Round 24 1 0 1
TOTAL 22 11 11
Matches by venue
VENUE TOTAL MATCHES HOME MATCHES AWAY MATCHES
Etihad Stadium 10 9 1
MCG 6 2 4
Skilled Stadium 0 0 0
Matches in Victoria 16 11 5
AAMI Stadium 2 0 2
ANZ Stadium 1 0 1
Aurora Stadium 0 0 0
Cazaly's Stadium 0 0 0
Gabba 1 0 1
Gold Coast Stadium 1 0 1
Manuka Oval 0 0 0
Patersons Stadium 1 0 1
SCG 0 0 0
TIO Stadium 0 0 0
Matches outside Victoria 6 0 6
Matches by network
NETWORK TOTAL MATCHES HOME MATCHES AWAY MATCHES
SEVEN 8 5 3
TEN 7 4 3
FOX 6 2 4
Round 24 1 0 1

Before Im 85

Fixture has now been published on the 3AW website:

http://www.3aw.com.au/blogs/3aw-footbal ... 1757e.html

Summary of what it means for the Saints:
  • We have 8 x six-day breaks (down from 10 in 2010, but still one of the highest in the league).
  • We have 6 Friday night games (7 if you include Easter Thursday).
  • We have 6 games at the MCG, including the last game of the season against the Blues.
  • We play against the top-4 teams from 2010 a total of five times. We have 2 matches against Collingwood, 2 matches against Geelong and 1 against the Bulldogs.
  • We have byes in Round 4 and Round 14.
  • We only have 1 Saturday night game at Etihad Stadium, giving us only 1 change to continue our record that has lasted since 2003! This is the lowest number we have had since we began playing at the ground.

f****** monday night game bulltish.

HSVKing

bigred wrote:f****** monday night game bulltish.
Eh... Geelong and Hawthorn play Tuesday afternoon.

They walk amongst us...

We have six games at the G - that's an important change - and it looks like we only go to Perth once which is a bonus.

For me personally,the roster is more disastrous than this year which is saying something. Might get to about 7-8 games. I like the return to a Sydney on a sunday in August,sunday arvo games up there suit our boys trip nicely...

Someone want to do a breakdown of the human trashes rigging? On first glance it looks even more laughable than normal. They certainly won't be getting jet lag

Looks nastier than last year:
* Interstate trips - 2* Adelaide, Sydney, Bris, GC, Freo
* Back to back interstate - Bris/ adel
* Play Collingwood and Geelong twice
* 2 crapy twlight games and a monday night game
* I make it 7, not 8 6 day breaks - Round 24 floating so unknown?

More games at the G a plus.

ChicagoSaint

Friday Night Footy Baby!

I think the amount of interstate games is a good thing. St.Kilda have always had a horrible travelling record up until the last 5-6 years when we seem to have been playing more games interstate than ever.

We won all of our interstate games in 2009 and won 4 of 6 last year.

No reason why we shouldn't beat Brisbane, Adelaide, Port Adelaide and the Gold Coast on the road next year.

Fremantle and Sydney will be tough though.

It's also great for the interstate fans to get to see the Saints at least once a year, sometimes twice.

16 night games!!

InkerSaint

older saint wrote:Looks nastier than last year:
* Interstate trips - 2* Adelaide, Sydney, Bris, GC, Freo
* Back to back interstate - Bris/ adel
* Play Collingwood and Geelong twice
* 2 crapy twlight games and a monday night game
* I make it 7, not 8 6 day breaks - Round 24 floating so unknown?

More games at the G a plus.
Same number of interstate trips, fewer six-day breaks, more MCG time... looks better to my eyes.
suss wrote:We have six games at the G - that's an important change - and it looks like we only go to Perth once which is a bonus.
Hah. The week before the GF rematch...

"... You want to pose a threat to the opposition in as many ways as you can, both defensively and offensively. We've got a responsibility to explore all those possibilities - and we will."
snowdelisaint

Tom_Sainter wrote:All i want is more games at the MCG, as that's where we need to win in september...
Me too - it's a far superior place to watch a game

6 games there is a big win for mine. 2 of those are home games.
Final round at the G versus Carlton - great.

zebraman

Import the Saints fixture (or whole fixture) into your calendar (incl. iCal) using this link - http://bit.ly/9cRJxk

I'm very happy with the draw.

Friday night lights? Awesome. It's a massive slot for the club to win; the national exposure is huge.

We also get a terrific opportunity to build our rivalry with Geelong with both matches at the MCG. Fantastic.

And six matches at the MCG? About bloody time. Awesome preparation for September.

Only one Saturday night game at Etihad is a blow, but I'd trade it for the big-time exposure of a Friday night.

From club-building exercise - truly increasing our scope to become a power - this is a great draw.

You can't do that when you're playing sleepy fixtures on a Sunday, like it or lump it.

OneEyedSainter77

evertonfc wrote:I'm very happy with the draw.

Friday night lights? Awesome. It's a massive slot for the club to win; the national exposure is huge.

We also get a terrific opportunity to build our rivalry with Geelong with both matches at the MCG. Fantastic.

And six matches at the MCG? About bloody time. Awesome preparation for September.

Only one Saturday night game at Etihad is a blow, but I'd trade it for the big-time exposure of a Friday night.

From club-building exercise - truly increasing our scope to become a power - this is a great draw.

You can't do that when you're playing sleepy fixtures on a Sunday, like it or lump it.
Completely agree. In terms or Free to air and exposure on Friday nights, this is a terrific draw. We don't need to worry about travel because we're not the basketcase we used to be when we go interstate anymore...

Stoked with six MCg games including TWO at home - big games against Carlton, Hawthorn and Collingwood as well.

Love the teams we're playing twice too.

I can't wait for season 2011, certainly going to be a blockbuster and exciting one!!!

karnaby

round 24 against carlton is the only time all season that we will have to play a team that has had a bye the week before.

For WA Sainters the only times our matches clash with either of the 2 wa teams are rounds 8,9,19 & 23. I would expect that all other matches should be available on either fta or fox. That's a good thing.

It's a shame ignorance isn't painful
Nattens

[quote="karnaby"]round 24 against carlton is the only time all season that we will have to play a team that has had a bye the week before.[quote]

We play Brisbane in Round 5 after we have both had a bye.

I'm happy with our draw, but I don't like Collingwood's one little bit.

To me it gives them an unfair advantage, a walk up start to play finals every year for eternity.

The AFL has to fix this if the competition is to regain any integrity and pretentions to providing a level playing field.

It's special rules for special clubs.

But I'm sure P66 can provide an explanation as to why they deserve this extra special pampering.

It should be a draw ... As in drawn out of a hat.

Instead we have a FIXture where money decides which clubs will be successful.

ChicagoSaint

importantly though we play them in Rd 21 at empty head