Are we that bad or just a good team out of luck?

backit

Are we that bad or just a good team out of luck?

I think we are bad and going to struggle this year, the failure to bring on players is something we always talk about it but the ones we have had for 2-4 years running around at Sandy don't look like taking the next step like what Collingwood did with theirs.

Please feel to agree or disagree.

10th

Bookmark it

jonesy wrote:10th

Bookmark it
We will be still top 4

wasaintsfan

against geelong was understandable but against richmond???? thats just not on.. we seem to have lost our winning ways....

the draw then big loss in the gf seems to be really messing with the players....

the confidence is down big time

somethings gotta change... thought this would be the game to get their heads right.. but no... could almost write off next week after this performance.... may see ourselves 1 win 2 losses and a draw after round 5... very worrying signs....

Ralphy wrote:

Bookmark it
We will be still top 4
Well, I'd agree there's no way we won't make the finals...but we can not kick. So what's the point. I saw better in the 80's.

Good stuff: Armo, Big Mac, Clarke all very good.

Bad stuff: Gilbert obviously doesn't want to play. Dempster worse than bad.

Now we can't attack or defend...I prefer defense to this.

Hope not...

Bookmark it
I think the window is rattling. Lenny now gone and no one ready to take his place and a lot of players well underdone (out of form).

Dont know if we are top 4 material thats for sure.

We're a good team close to our expirey date, it's just that no one has told Lyon.

SydneySainter wrote:We're a good team close to our expirey date, it's just that no one has told Lyon.
yep...appears that way...and he is to set in his ways to change....

Well Archer may get another go and you'd have to say Cripps is a monty for next round given Hayes.

And if Stanley does something other than be tall this weekend he may get a go.

I reckon the usuals will be leapfrogged this time.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

the bye can't come quick enough, players don't know what they want to do currently. The boss needs to put his foot down! So close to gone it's no funny

Solar wrote:the bye can't come quick enough, players don't know what they want to do currently. The boss needs to put his foot down! So close to gone it's no funny
I disagree I think RL, the control freak, may need to take a step back and have a listen to his Assistant Coaches as well as his players.

I'm sure they are telling him a change is needed to his out dated game plan!!!

PS: Watching the 4th now...we were unlucky, apart from the wayward kicking.

Middo

degruch wrote:
Ralphy wrote:

Bookmark it
We will be still top 4
Well, I'd agree there's no way we won't make the finals...but we can not kick. So what's the point. I saw better in the 80's.

Mate if you think Clarke was good tonight you need to have a serious look at how you look at footy .. was average at the best !!

Jack Newnes happy to be a Saint !!!! PS and to hit a target !!!

Middo wrote:
degruch wrote:
Ralphy wrote:

Bookmark it
We will be still top 4

Mate if you think Clarke was good tonight you need to have a serious look at how you look at footy .. was average at the best !!
Sorry...quite good.

degruch wrote:PS: Watching the 4th now...we were unlucky, apart from the wayward kicking.
Gram planted directly on top of a struggling Richmond player...not holding the ball because "You didn't tackle".

Must go down in the book as the DUMBEST thing said by an umpire since "It's his natural arch"!?!

saintslegendLH

Middo wrote:
degruch wrote:
Ralphy wrote:

Bookmark it
We will be still top 4

Good stuff armo, big mac, milne, fisher

Bad: gilbo ,clarke (ok at times, didnt get enough of the ball), dempster and peake..... lots of bad stuff, not enough of the ball for the likes of ray, baker, dal..

If anyone thought Raph was in our worst players tonight, they need to seriously start watching football properly

Gram, Baker, Dempster, Gamble, Montagna, Gilbert..theres 6 off the top of my head Id be pointing the finger at way before Raph

lefty

degruch wrote:
degruch wrote:PS: Watching the 4th now...we were unlucky, apart from the wayward kicking.
Gram planted directly on top of a struggling Richmond player...not holding the ball because "You didn't tackle".

Must go down in the book as the DUMBEST thing said by an umpire since "It's his natural arch"!?!
Yea that was a joke.

How many goals did Richmond get from free kicks?

We got dicked a few times for holding the ball, yet exactly down the other end in our forward, and nothing.

Umpiring was pretty s*** both ways, I just think Richmond got the frees in the forward line where we didn't.

lefty wrote:
degruch wrote:

Yea that was a joke.

How many goals did Richmond get from free kicks?

We got dicked a few times for holding the ball, yet exactly down the other end in our forward, and nothing.

Umpiring was pretty s*** both ways, I just think Richmond got the frees in the forward line where we didn't.
That one would have been very handy at least...and probably the only good thing Gram did all night! Woeful decision of biblical proportions.

to answer your question in the heading, we are that bad.

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

I don't think Raph had a good game tonight, just being honest.

Biggest thing I noticed in the Tiggers, when Roo went to take a mark, there was always a guy ready for the spill that hit the ground running.

It seemed preplanned to me, anyone notice that?

Milne was good, but he played a leading forward deep, and we didn't appear to have anyone 45-50m out from goal around where Roo did most of his work?

What's the answer there?

It's like they know they sniff around him they are almost guaranteed a rebound. :(
Last edited by SainterK on Sat 02 Apr 2011 12:02am, edited 1 time in total.

That rule was f***ing stupid in future if we ever have that umpire again and we get pinged our players should just say his just sitting on me not tackling me.

noob wrote:That rule was f***ing stupid in future if we ever have that umpire again and we get pinged our players should just say his just sitting on me not tackling me.
It's not even a rule! I'd like to know what he thought Gram was doing with the arm that wasn't in the air for half an hour...giving the Tigers player a hug??? Unbelieveable.