Poor old jimmy gwilt

Last week on paddy ryder

This week clarke

Someone should tell ross gwilt is only 6'2 and giving up 6 inches to those guys

Gwilt is a hbf playing key back....fisher is a key back playing hbf

If we lose this we will have Simpkin anyway.

Gwilt is a good player....vital...

He is in the wrong role...

We should be using his footskills out of defense....for some reason he takes the best fwd....not sure the reasons....he aint big, he is better offensively than allmother backs and we would not have to park goddard across hb

BigMart wrote:Gwilt is a good player....vital...

He is in the wrong role...

We should be using his footskills out of defense....for some reason he takes the best fwd....not sure the reasons....he aint big, he is better offensively than allmother backs and we would not have to park goddard across hb
100% correct

gringo wrote:If we lose this we will have Simpkin anyway.
he's also not that tall, is he?

Simpkin is 6'3"

Again....what is ross trying to do....

Jimmy cannot compete with guys 4 inches taller...few can

Why cant gilbert or sam fisher play key back....is there any good reason

goddardisgod

I think Jimmy needs to partner Armo in Inside midfield. Strong Mark, damaging left food, hard at it (unlike some "glares at Photo of Gram"), and I reckon a quick kick from his boot will put pressure on opposition forwards. Also willing to take the game on, which is why Milne and Schneids played so much midfield tonight.

Bring in Walsh!

BigMart wrote:Why cant gilbert or sam fisher play key back....is there any good reason
Baffling isn't it...

BigMart wrote:Why cant gilbert or sam fisher play key back....is there any good reason
With Sam Fisher, because he is the one player who can get us moving forward from the backline. With Sam Gilbert, see another thread.

Soft option putting sam our best back on their worse fwd......gwilt, gilbert, dawson for that matter would rack them up being the 'drop off'

Sam should play chb

Zac full back

Blake back pocket

Gwilt off half back in the role vacated by raph......use gilbert elsewhere....

Blake....not sure why he was dropped????

Maybe because he was playing chf/ruck instead of the role which has seen top ten b&f results in gf years

BigMart wrote:Blake....not sure why he was dropped????...
Skills dropped off. Hope he can refind them. But he (or his type) was the missing link

perfectionist wrote:
With Sam Fisher, because he is the one player who can get us moving forward from the backline. With Sam Gilbert, see another thread.
This could be the answer to two problems. Switch Gilbo and Jimmy's roles. I like it :D

Re: Poor old jimmy gwilt

BigMart wrote:Last week on paddy ryder

This week clarke

Someone should tell ross gwilt is only 6'2 and giving up 6 inches to those guys

Gwilt is a hbf playing key back....fisher is a key back playing hbf
I think you have identified our major problem. Other teams have metric heights but ours are still in feet an inches.

Furtius Quo Rdelious
Bardon Saint

Miss Gwilt's run of the half back line and especially his penetrating kicks. He's playing in the wrong position. Who would he take against the Pies? Another mismatch there too. Although Blake does not offer more that consistent spoiling and a critical free against per game, he is important to our structure.

sainter#4

Bardon Saint wrote:Miss Gwilt's run of the half back line and especially his penetrating kicks. He's playing in the wrong position. Who would he take against the Pies? Another mismatch there too. Although Blake does not offer more that consistent spoiling and a critical free against per game, he is important to our structure.

agreed mate, blake needs to come back into the team.

his role on the best forwards is vital, as we have all seen how good gwilty has become when he is able to attack.

also its bloody frustrating watching him up against the resting ruckman.give the kid a chance to compete evenly would be a good change.

Clarke would have beaten anyone who was on him - he's not just tall he moves well too.
Imagine if we had him as the second tall !

Gwilt at least had the body strength to compete against him.

Loved Gwilt's long accurate kicking, that released teammates 50 metres away.

Intersting point sainters#4 about bringing back Blake for the taller forwards. . I also felt sorry for Guilty - always been one of my favorites since his "out-of-the-blue" recruitment. :lol:

One on one clarke wouldve have beaten anyone....turn it up....

He had 3 goals from ;3 games at full forward until last night...

He would not beat a good full back as easily as he towelled up gwilt one on one....scarlett would flog him...

He's done well on taller opponents many times. Pods at the G last year (BOG) and towelled Dawes in the drawn GF. Took Fev when he was a fledgling and did OK. Has taken Goodes and been competitive.
He, like most defenders, relies on some pressure being applied as the pill comes forward. When that pressure is applied Jimmy can use his strength (coming from the Mal Michael like physique). Going by our tackle numbers and opponents inside 50 counts this year, that pressure is well down. We've been getting sliced apart through the middle badly all year - that makes any deep defender's job tough.
One of the things I like about Jimmy is he sticks to his task. Even when struggling he still works to get off and supply some rebound, particularly via his superior foot skills.
I reckon the internal assessment will be he's done AWACBE, given the lack of pressure on the opposition ball carriers, and has been good at giving us some quality rebound.

I think it is time for 195cm Tommy Walsh to bolster our defence.

I think that you are right - I have changed my mind - Walsh (the future), for Blake :!:

BigMart wrote:One on one clarke wouldve have beaten anyone....turn it up....

He had 3 goals from ;3 games at full forward until last night...

He would not beat a good full back as easily as he towelled up gwilt one on one....scarlett would flog him...
I'm judging on last night's performance .. and comparing our second tall forward non-options to Clark, who was a good option.
Scarlett wouldn't have towelled him last night, if he outbodied Gwilt he would've outbodied Scarlett too.

And Blake is only 1- 2cms taller than Gwilt ..Blake is good value but Gwilt has a much better kick and provides more run.
Last edited by samoht on Fri 22 Apr 2011 11:59am, edited 1 time in total.

Options are Blake, Walsh or Simpkin.

I agree about the use of Jimmy however i think it's his composure under pressure and ability to hit targets that make him valuable in the last line.