Dean Polo

He is similar to eddy and mini on ability......behind mini perhaps..

But can play afl midfield footy......not sure either of the other two could....

Mini....too small
Eddy.....not up to it as a mid

Polo can, aswell as play back....he has both covered for size and strength

Enrico_Misso wrote:His out on the full fumble is a worthy contender for funniest home video.
Must admit, I pissed myself laughing at that. As funny as some of Raph of The Blakes **** ups when they are in the clear :D :D
It reminded me of that golfer who was in contention in a Major.
Then when surveying his putt, he tripped on the green and dropped his putter. He frantically tried to grab it as he fell face first, but only succeeded in knocking it into his ball which incurred a two stroke penalty. :D

Dr Spaceman wrote:Image

Gold! Hilarious!

And there ar a few cracking posts in this thread!

Well done!

BigMart wrote:Always....key word MM.....different thread, we are discussing POLO here...

Last nigjts coverage made a point of illustrating St Kilda fwd structure, to show why we were more efficient with our entries...and the centre square and wings set up is generally easy to see as the cameras is on them at every bounce....

So from your evasive answer to my simple question (a not unusual occurence I might add), I take it that you didn't attend last night and are basing your 'incisive expert comments' on all things on what you gleaned from the television coverage?

InkerSaint

Something else to be pointed out about Polo is that he has played 13 games for 9 wins this year, that would be about the best ratio on the list.

Coincidence, or contributor?

Maybe the team plays better with him in it, now where have I heard that before... :wink:

thequarry

Love his attack on the footy and he uses the ball very well with his hands, particularly through heavy traffic. His disposal by foot obviously needs some improvement though and I'm not sure exactly how much of that he would have left in him, but I couldn't fault his endeavour last night.

As BigMart suggested, similar in ability to Mini and Eddy but able to play through the midfield. The lack of versatility in players like Mini and Eddy had the game passing them by.

So

You cannot make informed comment

Unless your at the game......ffs

I wasnt listening to the game on wireless......i watched it on ch10 with real colour pictures....commentary....real life interviews....and even action replays..what an age we live in...

I even had the computer on, to get stats....it was extrordinary.....somethings get missed live also....

Are we going to make it a rule

If you dont see live action, you cannot make informed comment......

Cant always get there....family commitments...and football commitments make it tough...

Btw what was your take on the dale thomas incident??

I heard on the radio that Richmond thought he was no good with hand balling - that seems to be one of his strengths with us? It will be interesting to see how he goes in finals, he was highly rated as a junior and should be ready to explode come finals. The good thing about doing it the hard way is that you don't take it for granted.

Great game - puts in and by hand seems ok to me.

Took some good grabs also.

I have him above Mini/Eddy as I reckon he gets more of it and into the game more often.

avid

Thought he was one of out top 4 or 5 last night.
Courageous grabs, great saves, constant attack.
(Forgave a few of the gaffs.)

BigMart wrote:So

You cannot make informed comment

Unless your at the game......ffs

I wasnt listening to the game on wireless......i watched it on ch10 with real colour pictures....commentary....real life interviews....and even action replays..what an age we live in...

I even had the computer on, to get stats....it was extrordinary.....somethings get missed live also....

Are we going to make it a rule

If you dont see live action, you cannot make informed comment......

Cant always get there....family commitments...and football commitments make it tough...

Btw what was your take on the dale thomas incident??
Oh, did I hurt your feelings didums?

Please don't presume to talk for me when you use the term 'we'.
Or do you use it in the 'royal' sense?

You can comment on anything you like, just as I can.
What I won't do is speak in an 'authoritative tone' about something I can only possibly have seen part of.

As for Dale Thomas incident, I assume you're talking about his 'hit' on Ibbotson rather than Lower's 'hit' on him?

Given that I wasn't there the only thing I know of either incident is what was shown in the replays I've seen on tv.
From those he would appear to have a case to answer.
But given I didn't see it live, nor do I know if I've seen all the camera angles, how can I possibly make a definitive determination on it?

Afterall, I'm not blessed with your 'special ability' to know everything even if you didn't see it transpire.

Got the last bit right

So seeing it live at full speed from 50-100 meters away would give you a better idea...

Seriously
You are dumb

Playing better now than at time in his career. I must admit that I like blokes who go the extra bit to improve. It's the hallmark of a Ross Lyon team. Hopefully, that extra bit of confidence, that has been added over the last five or six weeks, will produce more consistent skills. It does have an effect, as we saw for most of 2009.

Zac Attack

Let's all try and at least maybe think realistically here....

He is an almost below average player playing in a team that has been pretty solid in the last half year. There is a reason (and probably multiple) as to why he was delisted by Richmond at age 24/25...

I've read a few posts saying it is ok for him to make a few mistakes (and glaring-almost un-afl standard ones) as long as he tries hard and we win. This is nonsense and we cannot afford to carry players like that with that rationale.

Zac Attack

Let's all try and at least maybe think realistically here....

He is an almost below average player playing in a team that has been pretty solid in the last half year. There is a reason (and probably multiple) as to why he was delisted by Richmond at age 24/25...

I've read a few posts saying it is ok for him to make a few mistakes (and glaring-almost un-afl standard ones) as long as he tries hard and we win. This is nonsense and we cannot afford to carry players like that with that rationale.

Zac Attack wrote: I've read a few posts saying it is ok for him to make a few mistakes (and glaring-almost un-afl standard ones) as long as he tries hard and we win. This is nonsense and we cannot afford to carry players like that with that rationale.
we've got plenty of other players that fall into that category though... why start with him

Gram
Jones (I know I'm on my own on this one)
Gilbert
Gamble

To name a few players that have really serious flaws in their games yet are still regarded (on here at least) as great players worthy of a spot in our team. Many regard Jones for example as one of the elite taggers of the AFL capable of playing in any team (which I personally find staggering) and Gilbert as untouchable.

The really skeptical person would add Ray to this list too

nice to see BM post about football and be stalked mercilessly by people whose intent is just to bag his posts and contribute nothing to the actual thread

your well balanced people

Zac Attack

skeptic wrote:
Zac Attack wrote: I've read a few posts saying it is ok for him to make a few mistakes (and glaring-almost un-afl standard ones) as long as he tries hard and we win. This is nonsense and we cannot afford to carry players like that with that rationale.
we've got plenty of other players that fall into that category though... why start with him

Gram
Gilbert
Gamble

To name a few players that have really serious flaws in their games yet are still regarded (on here at least) as great players worthy of a spot in our team. Many regard Jones for example as one of the elite taggers of the AFL capable of playing in any team (which I personally find staggering) and Gilbert as untouchable.

Gilbert is worth a first round draft pick in a normal draft so that answers that question.

Jones is a really good tagger more often than not. His kicking looks worse than what it probably is due to his style.

Gram is shithouse.

Gamble is ok

Cleared things up old chum sunshine?

So Gamble is okay but Gram is shithouse :roll:

Zac Attack wrote:
skeptic wrote:

Gram
Gilbert
Gamble

Gilbert is worth a first round draft pick in a normal draft so that answers that question.

Jones is a really good tagger more often than not. His kicking looks worse than what it probably is due to his style.

Gram is shithouse.

Gamble is ok

Gilbert isn't worth a firts round pick or not this year at least IMO.

Zac Attack wrote:Let's all try and at least maybe think realistically here....

Your kidding aren't you? Has been a great contributer without lenny and you want to pay him out.

Zac Attack wrote: Gilbert is worth a first round draft pick in a normal draft so that answers that question.

Gram is shithouse.

Gamble is ok

not really sure I follow you here

My point was that we have a number of players with very clear defincies in the team... y pick on Polo

Gilbert... poor disposal has been largely ineffective this year and seemingly worked out by the opposition - not good enough to play forward or mid - can only play in the easiest position on the ground and has barely done it well.
I wouldn't trade a 1st rd pick for him.

Jones at his best is an effective tagger that wins some ball and uses it ok
At his worst is an ineffective tagger who the opposition let win heaps of the ball coz he turns it over - some ppl here consider him close to elite... i find that staggering

Gamble - does a few things in a team that's beating mediocre opposition and ppl turn a blind eye to the fact that he's not that good and doesn't work hard enough.
I'll call it now... if he's in the team come finals time - the positive sentiment towards him will change if we crash out

skeptic wrote:

I'll call it now... if he's in the team come finals time - the positive sentiment towards him will change if we crash out
Bit harsh....shouldn't he be judged on what he does, rather than just on what the team does?

Polo has just turn 25 in early August. So he is now in his prime years.

Was this just an Indian Summer....or is it a genuine long term maturing of him as a player.

After having starting his in a dysfunctional Richmond I am prepared to give him the benefit of the doubt. Moreso, as with football being more strategic and role oriented than every before, it actually takes a while to master a teams gameplan and expectations. He is in his first year and seems to have really picked u on when and where to be to play his role.

In 2012. Who knows. It is "pleasing" that attempting to pushing into our into 2001 Team will be Hayes, Gwilt, Cripps, Siposs and Ledger. And maybe the talls of Walsh and Stanley.

Now for players to get in...others will be squeezed out....though of course not all of those wishing to push in will do so, or at least do so in 2012.

Polo, Raph, Armo and Geary would seem to be the most vulnerable.

However in the here and now, Polo is going ok..and if we say compare him to Eddy in 2010...he is an upgrade IMO.

So in terms of looking at our "bottom 6"...he is an upgrade.

jack

I know a family member of Dean Polo. Dean's comment to my friend was that he thought he worked hard at the Tigers, but training at the Saints is at a totally different level. Could be the reason why he has improved so much.

when you judge someone,
You don't define them,
You define yourself.