Our board is a pathetic, sniveling, spineless organization

Meh. If he gets the job done, I'm not fussed. GT's like a kid in a candy shop today, isn't he?

Megsie wrote:why?

are you a bumbling 'no body' jealous of a corporates salary ??

seems like an old fashioned " i can't get that much why should you"

syndrome. There are haves & have nots i'm guessing your the latter.
Wrong

I'm a retired millionaire so eat $h*t

Re: Our board is a pathetic, sniveling, spineless organizati

Linton Street Saint wrote:I really don't need to say anymore apart from the fact that Nettlefold is a bumbling idiot and Westaway has the passion and presence of a cabbage. Practically thanked Lyon for leaving us in a heap and then some.

We are in for a long long haul folks ......

AGREE 100%

Someone with a clue!

In short supply around here!

jonesy wrote:GT said on MMM tonight before the game that he believed Nettlefold was on 700k a year.

If this is correct then that is an absolute disgrace

The way he handled himself on FC with all that " spirit of the contract " nonsense was imbecilic at best

was all PR spin for the flogs

they must have known Lyon was gone

no other reason to go on

unless of course it was just poor judgement

because this board have that by the bucketload

one thing about Westaway though must be said

I do not agree with people who think he should say more and not stay silent most of the time

every time you hear him speak, you really wish he hadn't

Westaway keeping silent and not saying anything is actually a really good thing

A lame duck president if ever there was one!

lefty

Look...

Board offer Lyon a 4 year unconditional contract.

He didn't want it.
If you don't want to be there, then leave.

Theres nothing the board can do if a person doesn't have it in his heart to stay and be loyal to the club and fans.

We're better off having someone who wants to be at the club, not just for the coin

Yes they should have demonstrated anger, frustration and outlined their plans for revenge on Lyon, Fremantle, the AFL and the entire community. I don't know what they were thinking acting in a responsible and forward thinking manner....how unprofessional.

hungry for a premiership

Agree that they did well by not attacking Lyon and thanking him for his service to the club, but oh my god, Nettlefold just took it waaaay too far. He basically grovelled to Lyon heaping praise on him and calling him a brilliant coach etc, etc, this just hours after he totally dogged the club.

Absolutely can't stand Nettlefold. The two times I've heard him speak in the last week I've thought, "this man is a weasal like a politician who never gives a straight answer and stutters like clown, keeps repeating the same thing over and over again, not the sort of person you'd want toi be around or work with.

Westaway, on the other hand, I quite like what he said at the presser. Thank goodness for his words, they relaxed me a bit and gave me confidence the club is heading in the right direction.

Nettlefold makes me nervous.

"Too big, too strong, too whatever."

I also think our board and nettlefold handled this well and maturely.
We could not and should not have had thrown 6 or 7 mill to lyon. That would have been grossly irresponsiblem and once he was gone we had nothing to gain from carrying on or fighting it. I think we handled a tough situation well calmly and with dignity. so well played saints. Once we have a new coach in place we should bring out the fighting words. We could do the haka when we play freo. And we should publicly bag lyon. But let's wait until we get a new coach first.

Was quite UNDERWHELMED with Nettlefolds performance on FC last monday,he sounded just like a cornered politician!On the other hand his body language told me the lying TURD was probably gone. EVERY CLOUD HAS A SILVER LINING.

Megsie

your reply indicates to me you're a long way off being a corporate or
retiree with those chosen words..........in fact you seem a sad person
really.

I'd like to question the board for some different reasons. We played a crap brand of football, we have not developed youth, and finished 7th. Our coach's performance was pretty average. He's been out-coached in big games, like last week vs Longmire and in last years GF replay.

With Lyon as coach, our prospects in 2012 were not good. The board should have been considering replacing Lyon with a coach who can develop a group for another assult at the flag. It was never going to be Lyon.

Con Gorozidis wrote:I also think our board and nettlefold handled this well and maturely.
We could not and should not have had thrown 6 or 7 mill to lyon.

oh dear

the site is full of sleepers

the point is this matter should have been settled in October 2010

anyway it matters not now, the club is cactus so long as these incompetent clowns are running the joint

AND when it all goes pear shaped

I expect MANY, MANY APOLOGIES will be forthcoming you sheep

clisaint

I dunno, I think this thread is a little harsh. There's quite a bit of good banter here.

Toy Saint wrote:I'd like to question the board for some different reasons. We played a crap brand of football, we have not developed youth, and finished 7th. Our coach's performance was pretty average. He's been out-coached in big games, like last week vs Longmire and in last years GF replay.

With Lyon as coach, our prospects in 2012 were not good. The board should have been considering replacing Lyon with a coach who can develop a group for another assult at the flag. It was never going to be Lyon.

Good point!

The board have stuffed up monumentally once again

no forward planning

it was obvious Lyon should have been replaced last year

by delaying this they have managed to shoot themselves in the foot once again

The board must resign for the good of the club

Wait a minute barks, in one thread the board should be sacked for not securing Lyon, and on this thread they should be sacked for not sacking a year ago.
Each to their own, but as I keep asking, who would you replace them with?

Toy Saint wrote:I'd like to question the board for some different reasons. We played a crap brand of football, we have not developed youth, and finished 7th. Our coach's performance was pretty average. He's been out-coached in big games, like last week vs Longmire and in last years GF replay.

Good point!

The board have stuffed up monumentally once again

no forward planning

it was obvious Lyon should have been replaced last year

by delaying this they have managed to shoot themselves in the foot once again

The board must resign for the good of the club
Are you feeling ok?

3rd generation saint wrote:Wait a minute barks, in one thread the board should be sacked for not securing Lyon, and on this thread they should be sacked for not sacking a year ago.

ANYONE with a clue!

SainterK wrote: Are you feeling ok?

thanks for asking however.... I think R U OK day was yesterday

3rd generation saint wrote:Wait a minute barks, in one thread the board should be sacked for not securing Lyon, and on this thread they should be sacked for not sacking a year ago.

ANYONE with a clue!

grant thomas... :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: 8-)

I saw a quote recently saying that Geelong allowed itself to be engulfed by bitterness but quickly started moving forward for a greater good.

We started straight away.

ANYONE with a clue!

grant thomas... :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: 8-)

So long as he was not coaching

I would vote for him over Westaway any day

for starters Thomas hates the Seaford move

reckon he would make a much better president

but unfortunately while Demetriou is CEO of the AFL it would not be a good idea

Hey Barks who pays to move us away from Seaford, how do we raise the couple of million dollars to do so.
Great, we might leave Seaford, but the club would be financially crippled for over a decade.
As I said on previous threads, are Essendon going to bitch about moving out to the airport.
Sure their we're plenty of people saying the same thing back in 1964 when we moved to Moorabbin.
Boo hoo, the players haven't found a place to buy a nice coffee, they're suppose to be professional players, they will overcome.
Our next generation of players will but nice properties in around the Frankston area, so within 5 years travelling will not be a problem.
Plus the reason we left Moorabbin was because the local council wanted to tie us up in red tape for years to make themselves look important because they didn't want us to move our poker machines a few 100 metres down Linton St to the corner of South Road.

3rd generation saint wrote:Hey Barks who pays to move us away from Seaford, how do we raise the couple of million dollars to do so.
Great, we might leave Seaford, but the club would be financially crippled for over a decade.

Time for Eric Bana to step in as president and pull out some pocket change!

He could buy the entire suburb ( St kilda ) and then still shout a round of drinks!

i think eric might be a tad busy

SainterK wrote: Are you feeling ok?

thanks for asking however.... I think R U OK day was yesterday
incorrect it was Thursday :shock: