maybe 3 Assistants needed..but who

If Harv and King move on......+ Berbakov already gone

Also with a number of clubs (new coaches in place earlier) have been appointing those from the pool....

who do you think is in the mix to replace?

Laidley in the frame for senior assistant position

Watters may have some WA connections in mind - there was a rumour about Tony Micale ...

If Ling was looking for some sort of position IMO he would be a good get for a recently retired player

Maybe Maxy back as a part time defense coach or in a development role?

Double post

X Gotch out..........gone to Port Adelaide

Pelchen said yesterday that even given the assistants still there there would be an increase in staff in that area-
Sexton and I assume Hudson still there-

Max Hudghton as defensive skills coach, please.

Lyon was a big fan of Kingsley. I wonder if he'll be kept or moved on.

Assuming Harvey and King depart.....
Kingsley stays.

Looks like Watters may have Laidley as senior asst.

They might consider Peter German, Ashley Prescott, Nathan Bassett and someone just out of the game, say Brad Miller if he retires
Last edited by MCG-Unit on Sat 22 Oct 2011 3:00pm, edited 1 time in total.

Hold your ground :shock:

If Harv goes, Ling as midfield coach.

MCG-Unit wrote:Assuming Harvey and King depart.....
Kingsley stays.

They might consider Peter German, Ashley Prescott and someone just out of the game, say Brad Miller if he retires
German's at W B

HitTheBoundary wrote:If Harv goes, Ling as midfield coach.
I hated Ling when he played but I wouldnt mind at all if he was an assistant coach for us.

Lingy would be great, but he lives in Torquay. It's doubtful if he could be convinced to move across the bay.

... for those about to Post, forget suggesting that he use the Portsea ferry. :wink: :wink:

saint6

Stillwaiting wrote:
I hated Ling when he played but I wouldnt mind at all if he was an assistant coach for us.
Sorry he lost me in that "you just cost us the game" sook when he played on after the umpire had awarded a free kick to jimmy gwilt. Should have had a 50 m penalty awarded against him at the time too. And besides do we really want the hottest coach in the afl to have the ugliest assistant?

StNoodles

saint6 wrote:
Stillwaiting wrote:
Sorry he lost me in that "you just cost us the game" sook when he played on after the umpire had awarded a free kick to jimmy gwilt. Should have had a 50 m penalty awarded against him at the time too. And besides do we really want the hottest coach in the afl to have the ugliest assistant?
That was Mooney I believe

saint6

StNoodles wrote:
saint6 wrote:
Stillwaiting wrote:
silly me - ling just ran off with the ball and kicked a goal after the whistle was blown - gave me a heart attack at the time. Still should have been a 50 though

saint6 wrote:
StNoodles wrote:
saint6 wrote:
Stillwaiting wrote:
silly me - ling just ran off with the ball and kicked a goal after the whistle was blown - gave me a heart attack at the time. Still should have been a 50 though
Dont get me wrong, I dislike him greatly, only marginally less than The Mooncow, but I think he could offer a bit tot eh coaching staff.

Kingsley stays.

They might consider Peter German, Ashley Prescott and someone just out of the game, say Brad Miller if he retires
German's at W B
How many asst coaches have changed clubs already this year - and every season ?

Hold your ground :shock:

MCG-Unit wrote:
Kingsley stays.

German's at W B
How many asst coaches have changed clubs already this year - and every season ?
shuffling deckchairs-- and shows how much interest there is and how many more positions that afl and media are tracking assistant coaches- would have been a time when you didn't even know clubs had them....

and more today- missed most of them when read on on SEN before but Shaun Rhen has moved..

was Port they were talking about- Gotch gone there along with Rehn and Josh carr and

BTW
Port have also increased their medical and conditioning resources, appointing the club's first full-time physiotherapist and full-time assistant head fitness coach.
Saints are in a fine position when compared to others- we may not have double departments like Eagles and Crows- but we have more than others...
http://www.sportal.com.au/afl-news-disp ... aff-143489

We may continue to raid Hawthorn :)

saintnick12

Stillwaiting wrote:
I think Ling would be great, but he has said he wants a year out of footy before possibly considering footy the following year. He was said to be planning to spend next year doing media and his business interests.

We are not the only club with assistance coaching positions to be filled. I think Scott would have had a few names in mind during his interview process too...it will be interesting to see how it pans out.

"At the end of the day, a coach and a fitness adviser doesn't make a good football team, they're not the only ones who got us to two Grand Finals." Lenny Hayes. 27/9/2011.
St Lenny

Please, not Cam Moony, he is a sook and he there is a few of them at Geelong. THough one that left seems to have got over himself.

I personally would like us to get well experienced assistants.

We should try and hang onto Kingy. He has done a good job this season, and I expect he will have more players to work on next season.

Tony Michale was asked by Scotty but he intends to stay as the coach of East Perth .. I reckon we might get another WA boy to sit next to Scotty ... Must say I'm loving the WA vibe to the saints ;)